### WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

> PENALTY ASSESSMENT: DG-240868 PENALTY AMOUNT: \$1,000 Investigation # 8960 UBI: 600-267-176 Phone: (509) 209-8969

Paul Vietzke Vietzke Excavating Company 2011 South Craig Road Airway Heights, WA 99001 accounting@vietzke.biz

## YOU MUST RESPOND WITHIN 15 DAYS OF THIS NOTICE

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that Vietzke Excavating Company (Vietzke Excavating or Company) violated Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 19.122.055(1)(a) by failing to notify the one-number locate service and causing damage to an underground gas facility.

RCW 19.122.055(1)(a) states, in part, that excavators who fail to notify a one-number locator service and cause damage to an underground gas facility are subject to a civil penalty of not more than \$10,000 for each violation.

Commission staff (Staff) conducted an investigation that included reviewing damage reports, investigation reports, the One Call Center database, and communications with the Company. The documents reviewed identified a natural gas event that involved Vietzke Excavating damaging a natural gas facility while excavating without a valid locate ticket.

The Commission reviewed findings and recommendations made by Staff and hereby notifies you that it is assessing a \$1,000 penalty (Penalty Assessment) against you on the following grounds:

### 1. Alleged Violation:

On August 7, 2024, Vietzke Excavating was excavating at 910 East Stanley Drive, Medical Lake, Washington. While excavating, Vietzke Excavating workers struck and damaged an underground Avista Corporation (Avista) natural gas facility. The Damage Information Reporting Tool (DIRT) report submitted by Avista on September 5, 2024, indicated that Vietzke Excavating was excavating without a valid request to locate underground utilities.

### 2. Analysis:

The alleged violation concerns RCW 19.122.055(1)(a), which states, in part, that an excavator must contact the one-number locate center before beginning excavation. On October 17, 2024, Avista emailed the ELM report, WUTC Data Request document, and photographs of the damage to Staff. The ELM report documented that Vietzke Excavating

#### PENALTY ASSESSMENT DG-240868

was digging without a valid locate ticket when it struck a ½" gas line on the northwest corner of the property at 910 Stanley Drive, Medical Lake, WA. The WUTC Data Request document confirmed the information in the ELM report that Vietzke Excavating had severed a ½" gas service line on August 7, 2024, at 910 East Stanley Drive, Medical Lake, WA and did not have any locates.

Staff searched the Washington One Call System database and found no locate requests for 910 East Stanley Drive, Medical Lake, WA.

Staff sent an initial email request for information to Vietzke Excavating on October 17, 2024. Staff sent a second email to Vietzke Excavating on November 1, 2024, requesting information regarding the damaged gas line. Vietzke Excavating has yet to respond to either email. On November 4, 2024, Staff called the Vietzke Excavating phone number, but the phone line was answered and immediately disconnected. On November 13, 2024, Staff called the phone number 13, 2024, Staff called the phone number listed on the website for Vietzke Excavating. Staff confirmed the email on file with the employee and left a message requesting a return call. To date, Staff has not received any response from Vietzke Excavating.

The Commission considered the following factors in determining the appropriate penalty amount for the violation:

#### 1. How serious or harmful the violation is to the public.

This incident could have been significantly more harmful to Vietzke Excavating workers, utility technicians, nearby homeowners, and the public, and it could have resulted in severe injury and/or loss of property.

#### 2. Whether the violation is intentional.

The violation appears to be due to negligence rather than a lack of knowledge of Washington State's Dig Law. Over the past 12 months, Vietzke Excavating has submitted 70 requests to the One Call Center for locates. This demonstrates Vietzke Excavating's knowledge of requirements and its responsibility to contact the one-number locate service before beginning excavation.

#### 3. Whether the company self-reported the violation.

Vietzke Excavating did not self-report the violation. The Commission became aware of the violation when Avista filed a DIRT report.

#### 4. The likelihood of recurrence.

The likelihood of recurrence depends on the Company's actions going forward and its willingness to notify the one-number locate service every time before beginning excavation.

#### 5. The Company's Warning Letter.

On October 1, 2020, the Commission mailed an Alleged Violation of Washington Dig Law letter to Vietzke Excavating. The letter included detailed information about Washington State's Underground Utility Damage Prevention Act, requirements for submitting utility locate requests before excavating, and the possibility of penalties for each violation. The Commission mailed the letter after receiving a report of damage caused by Vietzke Excavating on July 20, 2020, that occurred because the Company failed to submit a request to locate underground utilities before excavating.

The Commission has considered these factors and determined that it should penalize Vietzke Excavating as follows:

- \$1,000 penalty for one violation of RCW 19.122.055(1)(a) with an offer to suspend an \$800 portion of the penalty for one year, and then waive it, subject to the conditions that:
  - Vietzke Excavating supervisors and field crew responsible for excavation complete Dig Safe Training provided through the National Utility Contractors Association (NUCA) within 90 days of this Penalty Assessment;
  - 2) The Company must submit documentation of that attendance to the Commission; and
  - 3) Vietzke Excavating must not commit any further violations of RCW 19.122 within 12 months of the date of this Penalty Assessment.

These facts, if proven at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, are sufficient to support the Penalty Assessment.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violation did not occur, you may deny committing the violation and contest the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. Or, if there is a reason for the violation that you believe should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for a hearing only if material issues of law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. Any request to contest the violation or for mitigation of the penalty must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. *See* RCW 81.04.405.

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation or application for mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of their decision.

# <u>You must act within 15 days after receiving this Penalty Assessment</u> to do one of the following:

- Pay the \$1,000 penalty amount due; or
- Pay \$200 and notify the Commission that you accept the offer to suspend an \$800 portion of the penalty amount subject to the following conditions:
  - Vietzke Excavating management and field crew responsible for excavation must complete NUCA Dig Safe Training (<u>https://utc-9183.quickbase.com/db/bpkt6vndh</u>) within 90 days of service of this Penalty Assessment; and
  - The Company must submit documentation of that attendance to the Commission; and
  - Vietzke Excavating must not incur any additional violations of RCW 19.122 within 12 months of the date of this Penalty Assessment; or

- Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violation; or
- Request mitigation to reduce the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and submit it electronically through the Commission's web portal at <u>https://efiling.utc.wa.gov/Form</u> within FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this Penalty Assessment. If you are unable to use the web portal, you may submit it via email to records@utc.wa.gov. If you are unable to submit the form electronically, you may send a paper copy to the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission, PO Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250.

If you wish to make your payment online, please use this link: Make a Payment Now (wa.gov).<sup>1</sup>

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the Attorney General for collection.

DATED at Lacey, Washington, and effective November 20, 2024.

/s/ James E. Brown II JAMES E. BROWN II Acting Director, Administrative Law Division

 $<sup>\</sup>label{eq:line-payments} $$^1 $ https://www.utc.wa.gov/documents-and-proceedings/online-payments/make-payment-now. $$$ 

#### WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION PENALTY ASSESSMENT DG-240868 Investigation # 8960

**PLEASE NOTE:** You must complete and sign this document and send it to the Commission within 15 days after you receive the Penalty Assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, competent to testify to the matters set forth below, and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under oath, the following statements:

- [ ] 1. **Payment of penalty.** I admit that the violation occurred: [ ] Enclose \$1,000 in payment of the penalty.
  - OR [] Attest that I have paid the penalty in full through the Commission's payment portal.
- [ ] 2. Accept conditions. I admit that the violation occurred and enclose \$200 toward the payment of the penalty. I also accept the Commission's offer to suspend, and ultimately waive, the remaining \$800 penalty amount subject to the following conditions:
  - Vietzke Excavating and field crew responsible for excavation must attend Dig Safe training provided through NUCA within 90 days of service of this Penalty Assessment; and
  - The Company must submit documentation of that attendance to the Commission; and
  - Vietzke Excavating must not commit any further violations of RCW 19.122 within twelve (12) months of the date of this Notice.
- [ ] 3. Contest the violation. I believe that the alleged violation did not occur for the reasons I describe below (if you do not include reasons supporting your contest here, your request will be denied):
  - [ ] a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to an administrative law judge for a decision.
  - OR [] b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide above.
- [ ] 4. **Request mitigation.** I admit the violation, but I believe that the penalty should be reduced for the reasons set out below (**if you do not include reasons supporting your application here, your request will be denied**):
  - [ ] a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to an administrative law judge for a decision.

OR [] b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide above.

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the state of Washington that the foregoing, including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.

Dated: \_\_\_\_\_ [Month/Day/Year], at \_\_\_\_\_ [City, State]

 Name of Respondent (Company) – please print
 Signature of Applicant

RCW 9A.72.020 "Perjury in the first degree."

- (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official proceeding he or she makes a materially false statement which he or she knows to be false under an oath required or authorized by law.
- (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime, and the actor's mistaken belief that his or her statement was not material is not a defense to a prosecution under this section.
- (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.