Service Date: November 18, 2024

#### WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

## NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: DG-240839 PENALTY AMOUNT: \$1,000 Investigation # 8966

UBI: 603-496-025

Phone: (425) 202-5375

**EMAIL SERVICE** 

Tim Hawkins
Ethnie Hawkins
Brookstone Landscape and Design LLC
407 203<sup>rd</sup> Place Southwest
Lynnwood, WA 98036
tim@brookstonelandscapes.com
ethnie@brookstonelandscapes.com

## YOU MUST RESPOND WITHIN 15 DAYS OF THIS NOTICE

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that Brookstone Landscape and Design LLC (Brookstone Landscape or Company) violated Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 19.122.055(1)(a) by failing to notify the one-number locate service and causing damage to an underground gas facility.

RCW 19.122.055(1)(a) states, in part, that excavators who fail to notify a one-number locator service and cause damage to an underground gas facility are subject to a civil penalty of not more than \$10,000 for each violation.

Commission staff (Staff) conducted an investigation that included reviewing damage reports, investigation reports, the One Call Center database, and communications with the Company. The documents reviewed identified a natural gas event that involved Brookstone Landscape damaging a natural gas facility while excavating without a valid locate ticket.

The Commission reviewed findings and recommendations made by Staff and hereby notifies you that it is assessing a \$1,000 penalty (Penalty Assessment) against you on the following grounds:

## 1. Alleged Violation:

On August 15, 2024, Brookstone Landscape was excavating at 4208 236<sup>th</sup> Street Southwest, Mountlake Terrace, Washington. While excavating, Brookstone Landscape workers struck and damaged an underground Puget Sound Energy (PSE) natural gas facility. The Damage Information Reporting Tool (DIRT) report submitted by PSE on September 26, 2024, indicated that Brookstone Landscape was excavating without a valid request to locate underground utilities.

## 2. Analysis:

The alleged violation concerns RCW 19.122.055(1)(a), which states, in part, that an excavator must contact the one-number locate center before beginning excavation. PSE emailed Staff on October 17, 2024, and confirmed that Brookstone Landscape damaged a gas line on August 15, 2024, at 4208 236th Street Southwest, Mountlake, Terrace, WA. PSE provided the Gas First Responder (GFR) report that noted Brookstone Landscape was using an excavator to re-grade a pond area when it struck and broke a 1 ½" gas service line without calling for locates. The GFR documented that due to the contractors taking out the pond, the service line was 2" - 3" below grade. PSE provided the ELM report, which confirmed the information in the DIRT and GFR reports. The ELM report documented that Brookstone Landscaping was removing a water feature and nicked the gas service without submitting a locate request.

On October 29, 2024, Brookstone Landscaping responded to Staff via email and admitted to causing the damage. Brookstone Landscaping stated that it had an excavator on site to repurpose the rockery around the pond's perimeter into the pond area. Brookstone Landscaping denied it was excavating for the project. Once the water was drained from the pond, the liner that existed at grade was removed so the water could drain properly. Brookstone Landscaping noted that one of the supervisors was relocating the rocks with the excavator to the middle of the pond when it scraped the ground, and the gas line was punctured. Brookstone Landscaping immediately turned off the machine, called 911, and the Company supervisor assessed the situation. Brookstone Landscaping stated it assisted with the repair, which was confirmed in the GFR report. The Company provided pictures showing the damage and repair performed on the gas line.

Staff searched the Washington One Call Center database but did not find a locate request for 4208 236th Street Southwest, Mountlake Terrace, WA.

The Commission considered the following factors in determining the appropriate penalty amount for the violation:

## 1. How serious or harmful the violation is to the public.

This incident could have been significantly more harmful to Brookstone Landscape workers, utility technicians, nearby homeowners, and the public, and it could have resulted in severe injury and/or loss of property.

#### 2. Whether the violation is intentional.

The violation appears to be due to negligence rather than a lack of knowledge of Washington State's Dig Law. Over the past 12 months, Brookstone Landscape has submitted 11 requests to the One Call Center for locates. This demonstrates Brookstone Landscape's knowledge of requirements and its responsibility to contact the one-number locate service before beginning excavation.

## 3. Whether the company self-reported the violation.

Brookstone Landscape did not self-report the violation. The Commission became aware of the violation when PSE filed a DIRT report.

#### 4. The likelihood of recurrence.

The likelihood of recurrence depends on the Company's actions going forward and its willingness to notify the one-number locate service every time before beginning excavation.

## 5. The Company's previous Warning Letter.

On February 16, 2024, the Commission mailed an Alleged Violation of Washington Dig Law letter to Brookstone Landscape. The letter included detailed information about Washington State's Underground Utility Damage Prevention Act, requirements for submitting utility locate requests before excavating, and the possibility of penalties for each violation. The Commission mailed the letter after receiving a report of damage caused by Brookstone Landscape on November 22, 2023, that occurred because the Company failed to submit a request to locate underground utilities before excavating.

The Commission has considered these factors and determined that it should penalize Brookstone Landscape and Design LLC as follows:

- \$1,000 penalty for one violation of RCW 19.122.055(1)(a) with an offer to suspend an \$800 portion of the penalty for one year, and then waive it, subject to the conditions that:
  - 1) Brookstone Landscape supervisors and field crew responsible for excavation complete Dig Safe Training provided through the National Utility Contractors Association (NUCA) within 90 days of this Penalty Assessment;
  - 2) The Company must submit documentation of that attendance to the Commission; and
  - 3) Brookstone Landscape must not commit any further violations of RCW 19.122 within 12 months of the date of this Penalty Assessment.

These facts, if proven at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, are sufficient to support the Penalty Assessment.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violation did not occur, you may deny committing the violation and contest the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. Or, if there is a reason for the violation that you believe should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for a hearing only if material issues of law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. Any request to contest the violation or for mitigation of the penalty must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. See RCW 81.04.405.

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation or application for mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of their decision.

# <u>You must act within 15 days after receiving this Penalty Assessment</u> to do one of the following:

- Pay the \$1,000 penalty amount due; or
- Pay \$200 and notify the Commission that you accept the offer to suspend an \$800 portion of the penalty amount subject to the following conditions:
  - Brookstone Landscape management and field crew responsible for excavation must complete NUCA Dig Safe Training (<a href="https://utc-9183.quickbase.com/db/bpkt6vndh">https://utc-9183.quickbase.com/db/bpkt6vndh</a>) within 90 days of service of this Penalty Assessment; and
  - The Company must submit documentation of that attendance to the Commission; and
  - o Brookstone Landscape must not incur any additional violations of RCW 19.122 within 12 months of the date of this Penalty Assessment; or
- Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violation; or
- Request mitigation to reduce the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and submit it electronically through the Commission's web portal at <a href="https://efiling.utc.wa.gov/Form">https://efiling.utc.wa.gov/Form</a> within FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this Penalty Assessment. If you are unable to use the web portal, you may submit it via email to records@utc.wa.gov. If you are unable to submit the form electronically, you may send a paper copy to the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission, PO Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250.

If you wish to make your payment online, please use this link: Make a Payment Now (wa.gov). 1

**If you do not act within 15 days,** the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the Attorney General for collection.

DATED at Lacey, Washington, and effective November 18, 2024.

/s/ James E. Brown II JAMES E. BROWN II Acting Director, Administrative Law Division

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> https://www.utc.wa.gov/documents-and-proceedings/online-payments/make-payment-now.

## WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

PENALTY ASSESSMENT DG-240839 Investigation # 8966

**PLEASE NOTE:** You must complete and sign this document and send it to the Commission within 15 days after you receive the Penalty Assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, competent to testify to the matters set forth below, and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under oath, the following statements:

[ ] 1.	- •		
OR	[ ] Enclose \$1,000 in payment of the penalty. [ ] Attest that I have paid the penalty in full through the Commission's payment portal.		
[ ] 2.			
[ ] 3.	] 3. Contest the violation. I believe that the alleged violation did not occur for the red I describe below (if you do not include reasons supporting your contest here, request will be denied):		
OR [ ] 4.	<ul> <li>[ ] a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to an administrative law judge for a decision.</li> <li>[ ] b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide above.</li> <li>Request mitigation. I admit the violation, but I believe that the penalty should be reduced for the reasons set out below (if you do not include reasons supporting your</li> </ul>		
	application here, your request will be denied):  [ ] a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to an administrative law judge for a decision.		

OR [ ] b)	I ask for a Commission decision ba above.	ased solely on the information I provide
-	enalty of perjury under the laws of the ation I have presented on any attachr	ne state of Washington that the foregoing ments, is true and correct.
Dated:	[Month/Day/Year], at _	[City, State]
Name of Respondent (Company) – please print		Signature of Applicant

RCW 9A.72.020 "Perjury in the first degree."

- (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official proceeding he or she makes a materially false statement which he or she knows to be false under an oath required or authorized by law.
- (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime, and the actor's mistaken belief that his or her statement was not material is not a defense to a prosecution under this section.
- (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.