
Service Date: November 12, 2024 
 

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 
 

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE 
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES 

 
 

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: DG-240829 
PENALTY AMOUNT: $1,000 

 Investigation # 8956 
EMAIL SERVICE 
 UBI:  603-586-690
Gustavo Barajas Phone: (425) 777-6743
Landscape Design Construction LLC 
11823 2nd Drive Southeast 
Everett, WA 98208-4906 
info@landscapedesignconstructionllc.com  
 

 
YOU MUST RESPOND WITHIN 15 DAYS OF THIS NOTICE  

 
The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that Landscape 
Design Construction LLC (Landscape Design or Company) violated Revised Code of Washington 
(RCW) 19.122.055(1)(a) by failing to notify the one-number locate service and causing damage to 
an underground gas facility.  
 
RCW 19.122.055(1)(a) states, in part, that excavators who fail to notify a one-number locator 
service and cause damage to an underground gas facility are subject to a civil penalty of not more 
than $10,000 for each violation. 
 
Commission staff (Staff) conducted an investigation that included reviewing damage reports, 
investigation reports, the One Call Center database, and communications with the Company. The 
documents reviewed identified a natural gas event that involved Landscape Design damaging a 
natural gas facility while excavating without a valid locate ticket. 
 
The Commission reviewed findings and recommendations made by Staff and hereby notifies you 
that it is assessing a $1,000 penalty (Penalty Assessment) against you on the following grounds: 
 
1. Alleged Violation:  

On July 5, 2024, Landscape Design was excavating at 2504 87th Avenue Northeast, Lake 
Stevens, Washington. While excavating, Landscape Design workers struck and damaged 
an underground Puget Sound Energy (PSE) natural gas facility. The Damage Information 
Reporting Tool (DIRT) report submitted by PSE on August 17, 2024, indicated that the 
contractor, later identified as Landscape Design, and homeowner, Roy Arlington, were 
excavating without a valid request to locate underground utilities. However, the 
investigation determined that Landscape Design had damaged the underground utility.  
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2. Analysis:  
The alleged violation concerns RCW 19.122.055(1)(a), which states, in part, that an 
excavator must contact the one-number locate center before beginning excavation. On 
August 17, 2024, PSE submitted a DIRT report indicating that the contractor, Landscape 
Design, and homeowner, Roy Arlington, had damaged an underground gas service line 
without calling for locates. On September 19, 2024, the homeowner was mailed a warning 
letter via USPS regarding the violation of RCW 19.122 for damaging the gas service line at 
2504 87th Avenue NE, Lake Stevens, WA, on July 5, 2024. The homeowner notified Staff 
by phone and followed up with an email on September 25, 2024, explaining that he had 
hired Landscape Design to replace the fence on his property. The homeowner stated that 
Landscaping Design began working, and halfway through the job, they struck and damaged 
a gas line. The homeowner called the emergency PSE number, and the technicians told him 
that an 811 survey (locates) to mark the services on the property would need to be 
completed. The homeowner stated that he told Landscape Design that any further work 
could only be completed once the 811 survey was completed and inquired if there would be 
a fine. The homeowner stated that Landscape Design knew locates were needed and told 
him the Company would pay any fine. The homeowner provided the name and phone 
number of the owner of Landscaping Design. Staff confirmed the name of the owner of 
Landscape design through the Department of Revenue and the Secretary of State’s 
websites. 

  
Staff communicated with PSE via email on October 1, 2024, and PSE responded that the 
agent needed more information than what was provided at the scene in order to bill a 
contractor. PSE stated that it billed the property owner but did not treble charge. PSE 
provided the Gas First Responder (GFR) report documenting a damaged 5/8” gas service 
line. The GFR report noted the homeowner and contractor were digging fence posts 
without locates and identified Landscape Design as the company causing the damage. The 
ELM report confirmed the damage to the 5/8” gas line; there was no notification to 811, 
and it noted that the party responsible for the damage was unknown. In an email on 
October 8, 2024, PSE stated that when there is not enough information provided on the 
scene, or the information is vague, the property owner will be billed. PSE provided a letter 
that was mailed to the homeowner requesting additional information regarding the contact 
information for Landscape Design.  

  
Staff emailed Landscape Design on October 2, 2024, and October 17, 2024, requesting 
information regarding the gas line damage but did not receive a response. 

  
Staff searched the Washington One Call Center database and found no locate request for 
2504 87th Avenue NE, Lake Stevens, WA. 
 

The Commission considered the following factors in determining the appropriate penalty amount 
for the violation: 
 
1. How serious or harmful the violation is to the public. 

This incident could have been significantly more harmful to Landscape Design workers, 
utility technicians, nearby homeowners, and the public, and it could have resulted in severe 
injury and/or loss of property. 
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2. Whether the violation is intentional. 

The violation appears to be due to negligence rather than a lack of knowledge of 
Washington State’s Dig Law. Over the past 12 months, Landscape Design has not 
submitted any requests to the One Call Center for locates. However, on February 25, 2021, 
Landscape Design was sent a warning letter for a violation of RCW 19.122 for failing to 
notify 811 prior to excavating at 14418 28th Drive Southeast, Bothell, WA. The warning 
letter to Landscape Design outlined the requirements that the Company must follow and its 
responsibility to contact the one-number locate service before beginning excavation. 
 

3. Whether the company self-reported the violation. 
Landscape Design did not self-report the violation. The Commission became aware of the 
violation when PSE filed a DIRT report.  

 
4. The likelihood of recurrence. 

The likelihood of recurrence depends on the Company’s actions going forward and its 
willingness to notify the one-number locate service every time before beginning 
excavation.  

 
5.  The Company’s previous Warning Letter.  

On February 25, 2021, the Commission mailed an Alleged Violation of Washington Dig 
Law letter to Landscape Design. The letter included detailed information about Washington 
State’s Underground Utility Damage Prevention Act, requirements for submitting utility 
locate requests before excavating, and the possibility of penalties for each violation. The 
Commission mailed the letter after receiving a report of damage caused by Landscape 
Design on October 2, 2020, that occurred because the Company failed to submit a request 
to locate underground utilities before excavating. 

 
The Commission has considered these factors and determined that it should penalize Landscape 
Design as follows:  

• $1,000 penalty for one violation of RCW 19.122.055(1)(a) with an offer to suspend an 
$800 portion of the penalty for one year, and then waive it, subject to the conditions that: 
1) Landscape Design supervisors and field crew responsible for excavation complete 

Dig Safe Training provided through the National Utility Contractors Association 
(NUCA) within 90 days of this Penalty Assessment; 

2) The Company must submit documentation of that attendance to the Commission; and 
3) Landscape Design must not commit any further violations of RCW 19.122 within 12 

months of the date of this Penalty Assessment.  

These facts, if proven at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, are sufficient to support the 
Penalty Assessment. 

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violation did not occur, you may deny 
committing the violation and contest the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in 
writing. Or, if there is a reason for the violation that you believe should excuse you from the 
penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of the penalty through evidence presented at a 
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hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for a hearing only if material issues of 
law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. Any request to contest 
the violation or for mitigation of the penalty must include a written statement of the reasons 
supporting that request. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. See 
RCW 81.04.405. 

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the 
Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation or application for 
mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The 
administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of their decision. 
 
You must act within 15 days after receiving this Penalty Assessment to do one of the 
following: 

• Pay the $1,000 penalty amount due; or 
• Pay $200 and notify the Commission that you accept the offer to suspend an $800 portion 

of the penalty amount subject to the following conditions: 
o Landscape Design management and field crew responsible for excavation must 

complete NUCA Dig Safe Training (https://utc-9183.quickbase.com/db/bpkt6vndh) 
within 90 days of service of this Penalty Assessment; and 

o The Company must submit documentation of that attendance to the 
Commission; and 

o Landscape Design must not incur any additional violations of RCW 19.122 within 
12 months of the date of this Penalty Assessment; or  

• Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violation; or 
• Request mitigation to reduce the amount of the penalty. 

 
Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and submit it electronically through the 
Commission’s web portal at https://efiling.utc.wa.gov/Form within FIFTEEN (15) days after you 
receive this Penalty Assessment. If you are unable to use the web portal, you may submit it via 
email to records@utc.wa.gov. If you are unable to submit the form electronically, you may send a 
paper copy to the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission, PO Box 47250, Olympia, 
Washington 98504-7250. 

If you wish to make your payment online, please use this link: Make a Payment Now (wa.gov).1  

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the 
Attorney General for collection.  
 
DATED at Lacey, Washington, and effective November 12, 2024. 
 

/s/ James E. Brown II 
       JAMES E. BROWN II 

Acting Director, Administrative Law Division

 
1 https://www.utc.wa.gov/documents-and-proceedings/online-payments/make-payment-now.  

https://utc-9183.quickbase.com/db/bpkt6vndh
https://efiling.utc.wa.gov/Form
https://gcc02.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.utc.wa.gov%2Fdocuments-and-proceedings%2Fonline-payments%2Fmake-payment-now&data=05%7C01%7Cpaige.doyle%40utc.wa.gov%7C9cb022d51a5643d6a62b08db0960304f%7C11d0e217264e400a8ba057dcc127d72d%7C0%7C0%7C638114080949081842%7CUnknown%7CTWFpbGZsb3d8eyJWIjoiMC4wLjAwMDAiLCJQIjoiV2luMzIiLCJBTiI6Ik1haWwiLCJXVCI6Mn0%3D%7C3000%7C%7C%7C&sdata=LCe1LJN4m2K2jG%2FPg4tyJshn%2B1zgimsevw8pedLstG8%3D&reserved=0
https://www.utc.wa.gov/documents-and-proceedings/online-payments/make-payment-now
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WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 
PENALTY ASSESSMENT DG-240829 Investigation #8956 

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document and send it to the Commission 
within 15 days after you receive the Penalty Assessment. Use additional paper if needed. 

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false 
statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, competent to testify to the 
matters set forth below, and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under 
oath, the following statements: 

[   ]  1. Payment of penalty. I admit that the violation occurred:   
[  ] Enclose $1,000 in payment of the penalty. 

     OR [  ] Attest that I have paid the penalty in full through the Commission’s payment 
portal. 

[   ]  2. Accept conditions. I admit that the violation occurred and enclose $200 toward the 
payment of the penalty. I also accept the Commission’s offer to suspend, and 
ultimately waive, the remaining $800 penalty amount subject to the following 
conditions:   

o Landscape Design management and field crew responsible for excavation must 
attend Dig Safe training provided through NUCA within 90 days of service of 
this Penalty Assessment; and 

o The Company must submit documentation of that attendance to the 
Commission; and  

o Landscape Design must not commit any further violations of RCW 19.122 
within twelve (12) months of the date of this Notice. 
  

[   ]  3. Contest the violation. I believe that the alleged violation did not occur for the reasons 
I describe below (if you do not include reasons supporting your contest here, your 
request will be denied): 

[   ]  a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to 
an administrative law judge for a decision. 

     OR [   ]  b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide 
above. 

 
[   ]  4. Request mitigation. I admit the violation, but I believe that the penalty should be 

reduced for the reasons set out below (if you do not include reasons supporting your 
application here, your request will be denied): 

[   ]  a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to 
an administrative law judge for a decision. 
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     OR [   ]  b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide 
above. 

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the state of Washington that the foregoing, 
including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct. 

Dated: __________________ [Month/Day/Year], at ______________________ [City, State] 

 _____________________________________ ___________________________ 
Name of Respondent (Company) – please print Signature of Applicant 

RCW 9A.72.020 “Perjury in the first degree.” 

(1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official proceeding he or she makes
a materially false statement which he or she knows to be false under an oath required or
authorized by law.

(2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime, and the
actor's mistaken belief that his or her statement was not material is not a defense to a
prosecution under this section.

(3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.
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