
Service Date: September 10, 2024 
 

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 
 

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE 
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES 

 
PENALTY ASSESSMENT: DG-240671 

PENALTY AMOUNT: $2,000  
 Investigation # 8935 

EMAIL SERVICE 
 UBI:  603-532-968
Stanislav Repin  Phone: (206) 979-1815
Ruslan Oboznyy 
Elena Kirpichev 
New Image LLC 
3500 W Valley Hwy N, Ste 103 
Auburn, WA 98801 
Billing@newimage.com 
Elena@newimage.com 
 
 

YOU MUST RESPOND WITHIN 15 DAYS OF THIS NOTICE  
 
The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that New Image 
LLC (New Image or Company) violated Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 19.122.055(1)(a) by 
failing to notify the one-number locate service and causing damage to an underground gas facility.  
 
RCW 19.122.055(1)(a) states, in part, that excavators who fail to notify a one-number locator 
service and cause damage to an underground gas facility are subject to a civil penalty of not more 
than $10,000 for each violation. 
 
Commission staff (Staff) conducted an investigation that included reviewing damage reports, 
investigation reports, the One Call Center database, and communications with the Company. The 
documents reviewed identified a natural gas event that involved New Image damaging a natural 
gas facility while excavating without a valid locate ticket. 
 
The Commission reviewed findings and recommendations made by Staff and hereby notifies you 
that it is assessing a $1,000 penalty (Penalty Assessment) against you on the following grounds: 
 
1. First Alleged Violation:  

On April 15, 2024, New Image was excavating at 4720 45th Ave SW, Seattle, Washington. 
While excavating, New Image workers struck and damaged an underground Puget Sound 
Energy (PSE) natural gas facility. The Damage Information Reporting Tool (DIRT) report 
submitted by PSE on May 27, 2024, indicated that New Image was excavating without a 
valid request to locate underground utilities.  

 
First Violation Analysis:  
The alleged violation concerns RCW 19.122.055(1)(a), which states, in part, that an 
excavator must contact the one-number locate center before beginning excavation. On 
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April 15, 2024, PSE responded to an after-hours gas leak. The Gas First Response (GFR) 
report provided by PSE states that at the time of its response to the leak, it found 
construction equipment with a different construction company logo on it. It did not find a 
homeowner or any construction personnel. The ELM report states that the company or 
person responsible for the damage was unknown. On August 6, 2024, Staff emailed PSE 
seeking further clarification as to how it determined New Image was the Excavator that 
caused the damage. PSE explained that the next day, April 16, 2024, there was additional 
damage at the same location and the main contractor identified was New Image. PSE 
reported that New Image refused to provide the name of the contractor who exposed the 
gas service. PSE explained that it filed its claim against New Image because, as the general 
contractor, it is ultimately responsible for the unsafe conditions.  
 

2. Second Alleged Violation: 
On April 16, 2024, New Image was excavating at 4712 45th Ave SW, Seattle, Washington. 
While excavating, New Image workers struck and damaged an underground Puget Sound 
Energy (PSE) natural gas facility. The Damage Information Reporting Tool (DIRT) report 
submitted by PSE on May 27, 2024, indicated that New Image was excavating without a 
valid request to locate underground utilities.  
 
Second Violation Analysis:  
The alleged violation concerns RCW 19.122.055(1)(a), which states, in part, that an 
excavator must contact the one-number locate center before beginning excavation. On 
April 16, 2024, PSE responded to an odor investigation, which was at the same location as 
the incident it responded to on April 15, 2024. The GFR from PSE explains that when it 
arrived on site, it found a 5/8” gas service line broken and blowing. The PSE investigation 
identified New Image as the builder/contractor responsible for building the four new 
homes. The report states that all four 6’-10’ service lines had been exposed and were 
partially above grade. The GFR and the ELM report state there was no valid locate ticket 
for New Image at this location.  
 
Staff reviewed the One Call Center ticket database and did not find a locate request for 
New Image at any address on 45th Ave SW, Seattle, Washington. Staff sent emails to New 
Image on August 7, 2024, and August 28, 2024, and did not receive a response. Staff 
attempted telephone contact and left a voicemail for New Image on August 28, 2024, and it 
has not responded.  
 

The Commission considered the following factors in determining the appropriate penalty amount 
for the violations: 
 
1. How serious or harmful the violations are to the public. 

These incidents could have been significantly more harmful to New Image workers, utility 
technicians, nearby homeowners, and the public, and could have resulted in severe injury 
and/or loss of property. 
 

2. Whether the violations are intentional. 
The violations appear to be due to negligence rather than a lack of knowledge of 
Washington State’s Dig Law. Over the past 12 months, New Image has submitted 9 



PENALTY ASSESSMENT DG-240671                                                                                                 PAGE 3 
 

requests to the One Call Center for locates. This demonstrates New Image’s knowledge of 
requirements and its responsibility to contact the one-number locate service before 
beginning excavation. 
 

3. Whether the company self-reported the violations. 
New Image did not self-report the violations. The Commission became aware of the 
violations when PSE filed a DIRT report.  

 
4. The likelihood of recurrence. 

The likelihood of recurrence depends on the Company’s actions going forward and its 
willingness to notify the one-number locate service every time before beginning 
excavation.  

 
5.  The Company’s previous Warning Letter.   

On September 27, 2023, the Commission mailed an Alleged Violation of Washington Dig 
Law letter to New Image. The letter included detailed information about Washington 
State’s Underground Utility Damage Prevention Act, requirements for submitting utility 
locate requests before excavating, and the possibility of penalties for each violation. The 
Commission mailed the letter after receiving a report of damage caused by New Image on 
June 19, 2023, that occurred because the Company failed to submit a request to locate 
underground utilities before excavating. 

 
The Commission has considered these factors and determined that it should penalize New Image 
as follows:  

First Violation: $1,000 penalty for one violation of RCW 19.122.055(1)(a) that occurred 
on April 15, 2024. 
Second Violation: $1,000 penalty for one violation of RCW 19.122.055(1)(a) that 
occurred on April 16,  2024.  

The total penalty amount is $2,000 for the two violations of RCW 19.122.055(1)(a) with an 
offer to suspend a $1,800 portion of the penalty for one year, and then waive it, subject to 
the conditions that: 
1) Company supervisors and field crew responsible for excavation complete Dig Safe 

Training provided through the National Utility Contractors Association (NUCA) 
within 90 days of this Penalty Assessment; 

2) The Company must submit documentation of that attendance to the Commission; and 
3) The Company must not commit any further violations of RCW 19.122 within 12 

months of the date of this Penalty Assessment.  

These facts, if proven at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, are sufficient to support the 
Penalty Assessment. 

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violations did not occur, you may deny 
committing the violations and contest the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in 
writing. Or, if there is a reason for the violations that you believe should excuse you from the 
penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of the penalty through evidence presented at a 
hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for a hearing only if material issues of 
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law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. Any request to contest 
the violations or for mitigation of the penalty must include a written statement of the reasons 
supporting that request. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. See 
RCW 81.04.405. 

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the 
Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violations or application for 
mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The 
administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of their decision. 
 
You must act within 15 days after receiving this Penalty Assessment to do one of the 
following: 

• Pay the $2,000 penalty amount due; or 
• Pay $200 and notify the Commission that you accept the offer to suspend an $1,800 portion 

of the penalty amount subject to the following conditions: 
o New Image management and field crew responsible for excavation must complete 

NUCA Dig Safe Training (https://utc-9183.quickbase.com/db/bpkt6vndh) within 90 
days of service of this Penalty Assessment; and 

o The Company must submit documentation of that attendance to the 
Commission; and 

o New Image must not incur any additional violations of RCW 19.122 within 12 
months of the date of this Penalty Assessment; or  

• Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violations; or 
• Request mitigation to reduce the amount of the penalty. 

 
Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and submit it electronically through the 
Commission’s web portal at https://efiling.utc.wa.gov/Form within FIFTEEN (15) days after you 
receive this Penalty Assessment. If you are unable to use the web portal, you may submit it via 
email to records@utc.wa.gov. If you are unable to submit the form electronically, you may send a 
paper copy to the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission, PO Box 47250, Olympia, 
Washington 98504-7250. 

If you wish to make your payment online, please use this link: Make a Payment Now (wa.gov).1  

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the 
Attorney General for collection.  
 
DATED at Lacey, Washington, and effective September 10, 2024. 
 

/s/ James E. Brown II 
       JAMES E. BROWN II 

Acting Director, Administrative Law Division

 
1 https://www.utc.wa.gov/documents-and-proceedings/online-payments/make-payment-now.  

https://utc-9183.quickbase.com/db/bpkt6vndh
https://efiling.utc.wa.gov/Form
https://gcc02.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.utc.wa.gov%2Fdocuments-and-proceedings%2Fonline-payments%2Fmake-payment-now&data=05%7C01%7Cpaige.doyle%40utc.wa.gov%7C9cb022d51a5643d6a62b08db0960304f%7C11d0e217264e400a8ba057dcc127d72d%7C0%7C0%7C638114080949081842%7CUnknown%7CTWFpbGZsb3d8eyJWIjoiMC4wLjAwMDAiLCJQIjoiV2luMzIiLCJBTiI6Ik1haWwiLCJXVCI6Mn0%3D%7C3000%7C%7C%7C&sdata=LCe1LJN4m2K2jG%2FPg4tyJshn%2B1zgimsevw8pedLstG8%3D&reserved=0
https://www.utc.wa.gov/documents-and-proceedings/online-payments/make-payment-now


PENALTY ASSESSMENT DG-240671                                                                                                 PAGE 5 
 

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 
PENALTY ASSESSMENT DG-240671 Investigation # 8935 

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document and send it to the Commission 
within 15 days after you receive the Penalty Assessment. Use additional paper if needed. 

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false 
statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, competent to testify to the 
matters set forth below, and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under 
oath, the following statements: 

[   ]  1. Payment of penalty. I admit that the violations occurred:   
[  ] Enclose $2,000 in payment of the penalty. 

     OR [  ] Attest that I have paid the penalty in full through the Commission’s payment 
portal. 

[   ]  2. Accept conditions. I admit that the violations occurred and enclose $200 toward the 
payment of the penalty. I also accept the Commission’s offer to suspend, and 
ultimately waive, the remaining $1,800 penalty amount subject to the following 
conditions:   

o Company management and field crew responsible for excavation must attend 
Dig Safe training provided through NUCA within 90 days of service of this 
Penalty Assessment; and 

o The Company must submit documentation of that attendance to the 
Commission; and  

o The Company must not commit any further violations of RCW 19.122 within 
twelve (12) months of the date of this Notice. 
  

[   ]  3. Contest the violations. I believe that the alleged violations did not occur for the 
reasons I describe below (if you do not include reasons supporting your contest 
here, your request will be denied): 

[   ]  a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to 
an administrative law judge for a decision. 

     OR [   ]  b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide 
above. 

 
[   ]  4. Request mitigation. I admit the violations, but I believe that the penalty should be 

reduced for the reasons set out below (if you do not include reasons supporting your 
application here, your request will be denied): 

[   ]  a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to 
an administrative law judge for a decision. 
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     OR [   ]  b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide 
above. 

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the state of Washington that the foregoing, 
including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct. 

Dated: __________________ [Month/Day/Year], at ______________________ [City, State] 

 _____________________________________ ___________________________ 
Name of Respondent (Company) – please print Signature of Applicant 

RCW 9A.72.020 “Perjury in the first degree.” 

(1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official proceeding he or she makes
a materially false statement which he or she knows to be false under an oath required or
authorized by law.

(2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime, and the
actor's mistaken belief that his or her statement was not material is not a defense to a
prosecution under this section.

(3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.
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