
  Service Date: August 28, 2024 

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE 
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES 

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: TE-240598 
PENALTY AMOUNT: $400 

Premier Party Bus Seattle LLC 
9915 47th Ave South 
Seattle, WA 98118 
 
The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes Premier Party 
Bus Seattle LLC (Premier Party Bus or Company) violated Washington Administrative Code 
(WAC) 480-30-221, Vehicle and Driver Safety Requirements, which adopts Title 49 Code of 
Federal Regulations (49 C.F.R.) Part 391 - Qualification of Drivers, 49 C.F.R. Part 393 - Parts 
and Accessories Necessary for Safe Operation, 49 C.F.R. Part 395 - Hours of Service of Drivers, 
and 49 C.F.R. Part 396 - Inspection, Repair, and Maintenance.  
 
Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 81.04.405 allows penalties of $100 for each violation. In 
the case of an ongoing violation, every day’s continuance is considered a separate and distinct 
violation. 

On August 8, 2024, Commission Motor Carrier Safety Investigator Arber Demiri completed a 
routine safety inspection of Premier Party Bus and documented the following violations: 

• One violation of 49 C.F.R. § 391.51(b)(2) - Driver Investigation History file must 
contain a copy of the response by each State agency concerning a driver's driving 
record pursuant to §391.23(a)(1). The Company failed to maintain inquiries into the 
driving record of Pierce Budd. 
 

• One violation of 49 C.F.R. § 393.62 - Buses - Required emergency exit not properly 
marked. The Company used a commercial motor vehicle with an emergency exit that 
was not properly marked. The vehicle was placed out-of-service.1 
 

• Eight violations of 49 C.F.R. § 395.8(a) - Failing to require driver to make a record 
of duty status. The Company failed to require driver Pierce Budd to prepare a record of 
duty status on eight occasions between June 1, 2024, and June 30, 2024. 

 
• One violation of 49 C.F.R. § 396.17(a) - Using a commercial motor vehicle not 

periodically inspected. Premier Party Bus failed to annually inspect its commercial 
motor vehicles. 

The Commission considered the following factors in determining the appropriate penalties for 
these violations: 

 
1 Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) 1FDFE45S69DA03189 
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1. How serious or harmful the violations are to the public. The violations noted are 
serious and potentially harmful to the public. Passenger transportation companies that: (1) 
fail to maintain inquiries into drivers’ driving records; (2) use commercial motor vehicles 
with deficient emergency exits; (3) fail to require drivers to create records of duty status; 
and (4) use commercial motor vehicles not periodically inspected put their customers and 
the traveling public at risk. These violations present significant safety concerns. 

2. Whether the violations were intentional. Considerations include:  

• Whether the Company ignored Commission staff’s (Staff) previous technical 
assistance; and  

• Whether there is clear evidence through documentation or other means that shows 
the Company knew of and failed to correct the violations.   

Premier Party Bus began its operations in 2019.  

On August 12, 2019, Staff provided new entrant training to Premier Party Bus. Pierce 
Budd signed and certified acknowledging completion of the training. 

The Company knew or should have known about these requirements. 

3. Whether the Company self-reported the violations. Premier Party Bus did not self-
report these violations. 

4. Whether the Company was cooperative and responsive. The Company was 
cooperative throughout the safety inspection.  

5. Whether the Company promptly corrected the violations and remedied the impacts. 
Premier Party Bus has not provided staff with evidence of correction.  

6. The number of violations. Staff identified nine violation types with a total of 17 
individual occurrences during the routine safety investigation of Premier Party Bus. Of 
those violations, Staff identified four violation types with 11 individual occurrences that 
warrant a penalty in accordance with the Commission’s Enforcement Policy. 

7. The number of customers affected. Premier Party Bus last reported traveling 8,279 
miles for 2023. These safety violations present a public safety risk. 

8. The likelihood of recurrence. The Company was cooperative throughout the safety 
investigation and was provided technical assistance with specific remedies to help the 
Company assess how well its safety management controls support safe operations and 
how to begin improving its safety performance. In light of these factors, Staff believes the 
likelihood of recurrence is low. 

9. The Company’s past performance regarding compliance, violations, and penalties.  
The Company has no history of penalties for safety violations. 
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10. The Company’s existing compliance program. Pierce Budd is responsible for the 
Company’s safety compliance program.  

11. The size of the Company. The Company employs one driver and operates one 
commercial motor vehicle. The Company reported $79,389.99 in gross revenue in 2023. 

The Commission’s Enforcement Policy provides that some Commission requirements are so 
fundamental to safe operations that the Commission will issue mandatory penalties for each 
occurrence of a first-time violation.2 The Commission generally will assess penalties by 
violation category, rather than per occurrence, for first-time violations of those critical 
regulations that do not meet the requirements for mandatory penalties. The Commission will 
assess penalties for any equipment violation meeting the Federal Motor Carrier Safety 
Administration’s “out-of-service” criteria and also for repeat violations of critical regulations, 
including each occurrence of a repeat violation. 

The Commission has considered these factors and determined that it should penalize Premier 
Party Bus $400 (Penalty Assessment), calculated as follows: 

• One violation of 49 C.F.R. § 391.51(b)(2) - Driver Investigation History file must 
contain a copy of the response by each State agency concerning a driver's driving record 
pursuant to §391.23(a)(1). The Commission assesses a $100 penalty for this first-time 
critical-type violation. 
 

• One violation of 49 C.F.R. § 393.62 - Buses - Required emergency exit not properly 
marked. The Commission assesses a $100 penalty for this first-time critical-type 
violation.  
 

• Eight violations of 49 C.F.R. § 395.8(a) - Failing to require driver to make a record of 
duty status. The Commission assesses a $100 “per category” penalty for this first-time 
critical-type violation.  

 
• One violation of 49 C.F.R. § 396.17(a) - Using a commercial motor vehicle not 

periodically inspected. The Commission assesses a $100 penalty for this first-time 
critical-type violation. 

This information, if proven at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, is sufficient to support the 
Penalty Assessment. 

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violations did not occur, you may deny 
committing the violations and contest the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in 
writing. Alternatively, if there is a reason for the violations that you believe should excuse you 
from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of the penalty through evidence 

 
2 Docket A-12,00061 – Enforcement Policy of the Washington Utilities & Transportation Commission – 
Section V. 
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presented at a hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for hearing only if 
material issues of law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. Any 
request to contest the violations or for mitigation of the penalty must include a written statement 
of the reasons supporting that request. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of 
the request. See RCW 81.04.405. 

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the 
Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violations or application for 
mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The 
administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of their decision. 
 
You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following: 

• Pay the amount due. 
• Contest the occurrence of the violations. 
• Admit the violations but request mitigation of the penalty amount. 

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and submit it electronically through the 
Commission’s web portal at https://efiling.utc.wa.gov/Form within FIFTEEN (15) days after 
you receive this Penalty Assessment.3 If you are unable to use the web portal, you may submit it 
via email to records@utc.wa.gov. If you are unable to submit the form electronically, you may 
send a paper copy to the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission, PO Box 47250, 
Olympia, Washington 98504-7250. 

If you wish to make a payment online, please use this link: Make a Payment Now (wa.gov).4 

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may take additional enforcement action, 
including but not necessarily limited to suspending or revoking your certificate to provide 
regulated service, assessing additional penalties, or referring this matter to the Office of the 
Attorney General for collection.   

DATED at Lacey, Washington, and effective August 28, 2024. 

/s/ James E. Brown II 
JAMES E. BROWN II 
Interim Director, Administrative Law 
Division 

 
 
  
 

 
3 https://efiling.utc.wa.gov/Form. 
4 https://www.utc.wa.gov/documents-and-proceedings/online-payments/make-payment-now 

https://efiling.utc.wa.gov/Form
https://gcc02.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.utc.wa.gov%2Fdocuments-and-proceedings%2Fonline-payments%2Fmake-payment-now&data=05%7C01%7Cstacey.brewster%40utc.wa.gov%7C184e666112fd4f0dd84b08db095f25a7%7C11d0e217264e400a8ba057dcc127d72d%7C0%7C0%7C638114076480296165%7CUnknown%7CTWFpbGZsb3d8eyJWIjoiMC4wLjAwMDAiLCJQIjoiV2luMzIiLCJBTiI6Ik1haWwiLCJXVCI6Mn0%3D%7C3000%7C%7C%7C&sdata=6NM7X7%2Fu9ypm9iMNyWquTWSLjAc1Uu4m1gvSFU9DkaA%3D&reserved=0
https://efiling.utc.wa.gov/Form
https://www.utc.wa.gov/documents-and-proceedings/online-payments/make-payment-now
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WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 
PENALTY ASSESSMENT TE-240598 

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document and send it to the Commission 
within 15 days after you receive the Penalty Assessment. Use additional paper if needed. 
I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false 
statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, competent to testify to the 
matters set forth below, and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under 
oath, the following statements. 

[   ]  1. Payment of penalty. I admit that the violations occurred. 
[  ] Enclose $400 in payment of the penalty. 

     OR [  ] Attest that I have paid the penalty in full through the Commission’s payment 
portal. 

[   ]  2. Contest the violations. I believe that the alleged violations did not occur for the 
reasons I describe below (if you do not include reasons supporting your contest 
here, your request will be denied): 

[   ]  a)    I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to 
an administrative law judge for a decision. 

     OR [   ]  b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide 
above. 

[   ]  3. Application for mitigation. I admit the violations, but I believe that the penalty should 
be reduced for the reasons set out below (if you do not include reasons supporting 
your application here, your request will be denied): 

[   ]  a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to 
an administrative law judge for a decision. 

     OR [   ]  b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide 
above. 

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the state of Washington that the foregoing, 
including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct. 

Dated: __________________ [month/day/year], at ________________________ [City, State] 

 _____________________________________ ___________________________ 
Name of Respondent (company) – please print Signature of Applicant 



PENALTY ASSESSMENT TE-240598 PAGE 6 
 
 
 
RCW 9A.72.020 “Perjury in the first degree.” 
 
(1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official proceeding they make a 

materially false statement which they know to be false under an oath required or authorized 
by law. 

(2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime, and the actor's 
mistaken belief that their statement was not material is not a defense to a prosecution under 
this section. 

(3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony. 
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