Service Date: August 7, 2024

#### WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

# NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: DG-240571 PENALTY AMOUNT: \$1,000 Investigation # 8916

**EMAIL SERVICE** 

schermer@msilegal.com

UBI: 602-734-717

James Schermer

Mosler & Schermer

66 South Hanford Street Ste. 300

Seattle, WA 98134

Phone: (206) 576-6907

RE: Koch Holdings, Inc. d/b/a All City Fence Company

## YOU MUST RESPOND WITHIN 15 DAYS OF THIS NOTICE

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that Koch Holdings, Inc. d/b/a All City Fence Company (All City Fence or Company) violated Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 19.122.055(1)(a) by failing to notify the one-number locate service and causing damage to an underground gas facility.

RCW 19.122.055(1)(a) states, in part, that excavators who fail to notify a one-number locator service and cause damage to an underground gas facility are subject to a civil penalty of not more than \$10,000 for each violation.

Commission staff (Staff) conducted an investigation that included reviewing damage reports, investigation reports, the One Call Center database, and communications with the Company. The reviewed documents identified a natural gas event that involved All City Fence damaging a natural gas facility while excavating without a valid locate ticket.

The Commission reviewed findings and recommendations made by Staff and hereby notifies you that it is assessing a \$1,000 penalty (Penalty Assessment) against you on the following grounds:

## 1. Alleged Violation:

On May 20, 2024, All City Fence was excavating at 2122 152<sup>nd</sup> Avenue Northeast, Redmond, Washington. While excavating, All City Fence workers struck and damaged an underground Puget Sound Energy (PSE) natural gas facility. The Damage Information Reporting Tool (DIRT) report submitted by PSE on June 29, 2024, indicated that All City Fence was excavating without a valid request to locate underground utilities.

## 2. Analysis:

The alleged violation concerns RCW 19.122.055(1)(a), which states, in part, that an excavator must contact the one-number locate center before beginning excavation. The Gas Facilities Report (GFR) stated that on May 20, 2024, All City Fence was installing an electric fence and damaged a 1 ½" gas line with a backhoe. The report also documented that the Company was digging on a locate ticket that had expired on April 27, 2024 (#24092437). The ELM investigation confirmed the information in the GFR and DIRT reports and went on to say that the Company called in a locate ticket after the gas service line was damaged (#24205365).

Staff reviewed the One Call Ticket Center database and found locate request #24092437, which had an expiration date of April 27, 2024. Staff also confirmed that locate request #24205365 was called in on May 20, 2024, the same day that the gas line was damaged.

Staff communicated with the attorney representing All City Fence. On July 25, 2024, the Company confirmed that they were digging at 2122 152<sup>nd</sup> Avenue Northwest, Redmond, Washington when an employee, who was operating a backhoe, nicked the gas service line and caused the damage. All City Fence also confirmed that the locate ticket had expired but that none of the employees on site were aware that the ticket had expired. The Company was performing excavation in connection with both the perimeter fencing and automatic gate installation. All City Fence stated that due to various issues that arose on the project, the Company was delayed in performing the excavation according to the original schedule. Finally, All City Fence stated that the location of the gas line was known and had previously been marked by PSE personnel because of the prior call to the One Call Ticket Center.

The Commission considered the following factors in determining the appropriate penalty amount for the violation:

## 1. How serious or harmful the violation is to the public.

This incident could have been significantly more harmful to All City Fence workers, utility technicians, nearby homeowners, and the public, and it could have resulted in severe injury and/or loss of property.

## 2. Whether the violation is intentional.

The violation appears to be due to negligence rather than a lack of knowledge of Washington State's Dig Law. Over the past 12 months, All City Fence has submitted 260 requests to the One Call Center for locates. This demonstrates All City Fence's knowledge of requirements and its responsibility to contact the one-number locate service before beginning excavation.

### 3. Whether the company self-reported the violation.

All City Fence did not self-report the violation. The Commission became aware of the violation when PSE filed a DIRT report.

#### 4. The likelihood of recurrence.

The likelihood of recurrence depends on the Company's actions going forward and its willingness to notify the one-number locate service every time before beginning excavation.

# 5. The Company's previous Warning Letter

On November 21, 2017, the Commission mailed an Alleged Violation of Washington Dig Law letter to All City Fence. The letter included detailed information about Washington State's Underground Utility Damage Prevention Act, requirements for submitting utility locate requests before excavating, and the possibility of penalties for each violation. The Commission mailed the letter after receiving a report of damage caused by All City Fence on September 12, 2017, that occurred because the Company failed to submit a request to locate underground utilities before excavating.

The Commission has considered these factors and determined that it should penalize All City Fence as follows:

- \$1,000 penalty for one violation of RCW 19.122.055(1)(a) with an offer to suspend an \$800 portion of the penalty for one year, and then waive it, subject to the conditions that:
  - 1) All City Fence and field crew responsible for excavation complete Dig Safe Training provided through the National Utility Contractors Association (NUCA) within 90 days of this Penalty Assessment;
  - 2) The Company must submit documentation of that attendance to the Commission; and
  - 3) All City Fence must not commit any further violations of RCW 19.122 within 12 months of the date of this Penalty Assessment.

These facts, if proven at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, are sufficient to support the Penalty Assessment.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violation did not occur, you may deny committing the violation and contest the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. Or, if there is a reason for the violation that you believe should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for a hearing only if material issues of law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. Any request to contest the violation or for mitigation of the penalty must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. See RCW 81.04.405.

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation or application for mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of their decision.

You must act within 15 days after receiving this Penalty Assessment to do one of the following:

• Pay the \$1,000 penalty amount due; or

- Pay \$200 and notify the Commission that you accept the offer to suspend an \$800 portion of the penalty amount subject to the following conditions:
  - All City Fence management and field crew responsible for excavation must complete NUCA Dig Safe Training (<a href="https://utc-9183.quickbase.com/db/bpkt6vndh">https://utc-9183.quickbase.com/db/bpkt6vndh</a>) within 90 days of service of this Penalty Assessment; and
  - The Company must submit documentation of that attendance to the Commission; and
  - o All City Fence must not incur any additional violations of RCW 19.122 within 12 months of the date of this Penalty Assessment; or
- Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violation; or
- Request mitigation to reduce the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and submit it electronically through the Commission's web portal at <a href="https://efiling.utc.wa.gov/Form">https://efiling.utc.wa.gov/Form</a> within FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this Penalty Assessment. If you are unable to use the web portal, you may submit it via email to records@utc.wa.gov. If you are unable to submit the form electronically, you may send a paper copy to the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission, PO Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250.

If you wish to make your payment online, please use this link: Make a Payment Now (wa.gov). 1

**If you do not act within 15 days,** the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the Attorney General for collection.

DATED at Lacey, Washington, and effective August 7, 2024.

/s/ Michael Howard MICHAEL HOWARD Director, Administrative Law Division

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> https://www.utc.wa.gov/documents-and-proceedings/online-payments/make-payment-now.

## WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

PENALTY ASSESSMENT DG-240571 Investigation # 8916

**PLEASE NOTE:** You must complete and sign this document and send it to the Commission within 15 days after you receive the Penalty Assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, competent to testify to the matters set forth below, and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under oath, the following statements:

[ ] 1.	v i v		
OR	[ ] Enclose \$1,000 in payment of the penalty. [ ] Attest that I have paid the penalty in full through the Commission's payment portal.		
[ ] 2.	<ul> <li>Accept conditions. I admit that the violation occurred and enclose \$200 toward the payment of the penalty. I also accept the Commission's offer to suspend, and ultimately waive, the remaining \$800 penalty amount subject to the following conditions:         <ul> <li>Company management and field crew responsible for excavation must attend Dig Safe training provided through NUCA within 90 days of service of this Penalty Assessment; and</li> <li>The Company must submit documentation of that attendance to the Commission; and</li> <li>The Company must not commit any further violations of RCW 19.122 within twelve (12) months of the date of this Notice.</li> </ul> </li> </ul>		
[ ] 3.	3. Contest the violation. I believe that the alleged violation did not occur for the real describe below (if you do not include reasons supporting your contest here, request will be denied):		
OR [ ] 4.	<ul> <li>[ ] a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to an administrative law judge for a decision.</li> <li>[ ] b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide above.</li> <li>Request mitigation. I admit the violation, but I believe that the penalty should be reduced for the reasons set out below (if you do not include reasons supporting your</li> </ul>		
	application here, your request will be denied):  [ ] a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to an administrative law judge for a decision.		

OR [ ] b)	I ask for a Commission decision ba above.	ased solely on the information I provide
	penalty of perjury under the laws of the nation I have presented on any attachr	ne state of Washington that the foregoing, ments, is true and correct.
Dated:	[Month/Day/Year], at _	[City, State]
Name of Respon	ndent (Company) – please print	Signature of Applicant

RCW 9A.72.020 "Perjury in the first degree."

- (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official proceeding he or she makes a materially false statement which he or she knows to be false under an oath required or authorized by law.
- (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime, and the actor's mistaken belief that his or her statement was not material is not a defense to a prosecution under this section.
- (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.