
Service Date: August 5, 2024 
 

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 
 

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE 
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES 

 
 

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: DG-240556 
PENALTY AMOUNT: $2,500 

 Investigation #8920 
EMAIL SERVICE 
 UBI:  602 048 823
Daniel Call 
Dean Call 
Betty Moerer 

Phone: (206) 786-9820 
 

CK Excavating, Inc. 
PO Box 601 
Cle Elum, WA 98922 
bmoerer@comcast.net 
 

 
YOU MUST RESPOND WITHIN 15 DAYS OF THIS NOTICE  

 
The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that CK 
Excavating, Inc. (CK Excavating or Company) violated Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 
19.122.055(1)(a) by failing to notify the one-number locate service and causing damage to an 
underground gas facility.  
 
RCW 19.122.055(1)(a) states, in part, that excavators who fail to notify a one-number locator 
service and cause damage to an underground gas facility are subject to a civil penalty of not more 
than $10,000 for each violation. 
 
Commission staff (Staff) conducted an investigation that included reviewing damage reports, 
investigation reports, the One Call Center database, and communications with the Company. The 
documents reviewed identified a natural gas event that involved CK Excavating damaging a 
natural gas facility while excavating without a valid locate ticket. 
 
The Commission reviewed findings and recommendations made by Staff and hereby notifies you 
that it is assessing a $2,500 penalty (Penalty Assessment) against you on the following grounds: 
 
1. Alleged Violation:  

On May 14, 2024, CK Excavating was excavating at 1412 9th Avenue West, Seattle, 
Washington. While excavating, CK Excavating workers struck and damaged an 
underground Puget Sound Energy (PSE) natural gas facility. The Damage Information 
Reporting Tool (DIRT) report submitted by PSE on June 25, 2024, indicated that CK 
Excavating was excavating without a valid request to locate underground utilities. PSE 
stated that they would be treble charging the Company.  
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2. Analysis:  

The alleged violation concerns RCW 19.122.055(1)(a), which states, in part, that an 
excavator must contact the one-number locate center before beginning excavation. 
According to the Gas Facilities Report (GFR), on May 14, 2024, CK Excavating 
employees were excavating at 1412 9th Avenue West, Seattle, WA under the homeowners 
locate ticket (#24176068) when they struck and damaged a 5/8” underground gas service 
line while excavating with hand tools.   
 
Staff reviewed the One Call System and located four tickets for the address 1412 9th 
Avenue W, Seattle, WA. The first locate was called in by homeowner Maureen Caruso on 
May 2, 2024 (#24176068). The locate requested the west and front side of the house be 
located and the area would be marked in white. The homeowner updated the ticket on May 
14, 2024, at 3:34 p.m. (ticket #24196762). The area identified to be located was between 
the street and the house. Then, on the same date and time, May 14, 2024, at 3:46 p.m., the 
homeowner called an emergency locate (ticket #24196807) due to damage to the gas 
service line. The Company also called in an emergency locate request on May 15, 2024, at 
2:49 p.m., due to damage to a gas service line near the northwest corner of the residence.     
 
Staff communicated with CK Excavating via email. The Company provided two 
photographs, which they alleged showed a yellow flag mismarking the gas line. The 
Company also stated that the mismarking was caused by PSE’s contracted gas locating 
vendor marking what they thought was the gas line but was actually an unused irrigation 
pipe. CK Excavating stated that the gas line was 8 to 10 feet north of what was marked. 
The damage was caused by a shovel due to the steep slope. Staff communicated with the 
Company on July 22, 2024, via email and advised them that according to the statute, the 
Company was responsible for calling in their own locates. Staff also referred CK 
Excavating to RCW 19.122 for additional information regarding Dig Law. On July 26, 
2024, the Company was also referred to the Dig Law Safety Committee to file a complaint 
if they believe the locates were wrong.  

 
The Commission considered the following factors in determining the appropriate penalty amount 
for the violation: 
 
1. How serious or harmful the violation is to the public. 

This incident could have been significantly more harmful to CK Excavating workers, 
utility technicians, nearby homeowners, and the public, and it could have resulted in severe 
injury and/or loss of property. 
 

2. Whether the violation is intentional. 
The violation appears to be due to negligence rather than a lack of knowledge of 
Washington State’s Dig Law. Over the past 12 months, CK Excavating has submitted 74 
requests to the One Call Center for locates. This demonstrates CK Excavating’s knowledge 
of requirements and its responsibility to contact the one-number locate service before 
beginning excavation. 
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3. Whether the company self-reported the violation. 

CK Excavating did not self-report the violation. The Commission became aware of the 
violation when PSE filed a DIRT report.   

 
4. The likelihood of recurrence. 

The likelihood of recurrence depends on the Company’s actions going forward and its 
willingness to notify the one-number locate service every time before beginning 
excavation.  

 
5.  The Company’s previous violations and penalties.  

• Warning Letters  
On October 3, 2014, and October 15, 2018, the Commission mailed Alleged 
Violation of Washington Dig Law letters to CK Excavating. The letters included 
detailed information about Washington State’s Underground Utility Damage 
Prevention Act, requirements for submitting utility locate requests before excavating, 
and the possibility of penalties for each violation. The Commission mailed the letters 
after receiving a report of damage caused by CK Excavating on July 1, 2014, and July 
25, 2018, respectively, because the Company failed to submit requests to locate 
underground utilities before excavating. 

 
• Penalty Assessments 

On July 6, 2020, the Commission issued CK Excavating a Penalty Assessment of  
$3,500 for two violations of RCW 19.122.055(1)(a). SeeDG-200434. 

 
The Commission has considered these factors and determined that it should penalize CK 
Excavating, Inc. as follows:  

• $2,500 penalty for one violation of RCW 19.122.055(1)(a) with an offer to suspend an 
$1,000 portion of the penalty for one year, and then waive it, subject to the conditions that: 
1) Company supervisors and field crew responsible for excavation complete Dig Safe 

Training provided through the National Utility Contractors Association (NUCA) 
within 90 days of this Penalty Assessment; 

2) The Company must submit documentation of that attendance to the Commission; and 
3) The Company must not commit any further violations of RCW 19.122 within 12 

months of the date of this Penalty Assessment.  

These facts, if proven at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, are sufficient to support the 
Penalty Assessment. 

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violation did not occur, you may deny 
committing the violation and contest the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in 
writing. Or, if there is a reason for the violation that you believe should excuse you from the 
penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of the penalty through evidence presented at a 
hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for a hearing only if material issues of 
law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. Any request to contest 
the violation or for mitigation of the penalty must include a written statement of the reasons 
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supporting that request. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. See 
RCW 81.04.405. 

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the 
Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation or application for 
mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The 
administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of their decision. 
 
You must act within 15 days after receiving this Penalty Assessment to do one of the 
following: 

• Pay the $2,500 penalty amount due; or 
• Pay $1500 and notify the Commission that you accept the offer to suspend a $1,000 portion 

of the penalty amount subject to the following conditions: 
o CK Excavating management and field crew responsible for excavation must 

complete NUCA Dig Safe Training (https://utc-9183.quickbase.com/db/bpkt6vndh) 
within 90 days of service of this Penalty Assessment; and 

o The Company must submit documentation of that attendance to the 
Commission; and 

o CK Excavating must not incur any additional violations of RCW 19.122 within 12 
months of the date of this Penalty Assessment; or  

• Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violation; or 
• Request mitigation to reduce the amount of the penalty. 

 
Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and submit it electronically through the 
Commission’s web portal at https://efiling.utc.wa.gov/Form within FIFTEEN (15) days after you 
receive this Penalty Assessment. If you are unable to use the web portal, you may submit it via 
email to records@utc.wa.gov. If you are unable to submit the form electronically, you may send a 
paper copy to the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission, PO Box 47250, Olympia, 
Washington 98504-7250. 

If you wish to make your payment online, please use this link: Make a Payment Now (wa.gov).1  

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the 
Attorney General for collection.  
 
DATED at Lacey, Washington, and effective August 5, 2024. 
 

/s/ Michael Howard 
       MICHAEL HOWARD 

Director, Administrative Law Division

 
1 https://www.utc.wa.gov/documents-and-proceedings/online-payments/make-payment-now.  

https://utc-9183.quickbase.com/db/bpkt6vndh
https://efiling.utc.wa.gov/Form
https://gcc02.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.utc.wa.gov%2Fdocuments-and-proceedings%2Fonline-payments%2Fmake-payment-now&data=05%7C01%7Cpaige.doyle%40utc.wa.gov%7C9cb022d51a5643d6a62b08db0960304f%7C11d0e217264e400a8ba057dcc127d72d%7C0%7C0%7C638114080949081842%7CUnknown%7CTWFpbGZsb3d8eyJWIjoiMC4wLjAwMDAiLCJQIjoiV2luMzIiLCJBTiI6Ik1haWwiLCJXVCI6Mn0%3D%7C3000%7C%7C%7C&sdata=LCe1LJN4m2K2jG%2FPg4tyJshn%2B1zgimsevw8pedLstG8%3D&reserved=0
https://www.utc.wa.gov/documents-and-proceedings/online-payments/make-payment-now


 
PENALTY ASSESSMENT DG-240556                                                                                                PAGE 5 
 

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 
PENALTY ASSESSMENT DG-240556 Investigation # 8920 

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document and send it to the Commission 
within 15 days after you receive the Penalty Assessment. Use additional paper if needed. 

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false 
statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, competent to testify to the 
matters set forth below, and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under 
oath, the following statements: 

[   ]  1. Payment of penalty. I admit that the violation occurred:   
[  ] Enclose $2,500 in payment of the penalty. 

     OR [  ] Attest that I have paid the penalty in full through the Commission’s payment 
portal. 

[   ]  2. Accept conditions. I admit that the violation occurred and enclose $1,500 toward the 
payment of the penalty. I also accept the Commission’s offer to suspend, and 
ultimately waive, the remaining $1,000 penalty amount subject to the following 
conditions:   

o CK Excavating and field crew responsible for excavation must attend Dig Safe 
training provided through NUCA within 90 days of service of this Penalty 
Assessment; and 

o The Company must submit documentation of that attendance to the 
Commission; and  

o CK Excavating must not commit any further violations of RCW 19.122 within 
twelve (12) months of the date of this Notice. 
  

[   ]  3. Contest the violation. I believe that the alleged violation did not occur for the reasons 
I describe below (if you do not include reasons supporting your contest here, your 
request will be denied): 

[   ]  a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to 
an administrative law judge for a decision. 

     OR [   ]  b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide 
above. 

 
[   ]  4. Request mitigation. I admit the violation, but I believe that the penalty should be 

reduced for the reasons set out below (if you do not include reasons supporting your 
application here, your request will be denied): 

[   ]  a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to 
an administrative law judge for a decision. 
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     OR [   ]  b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide 
above. 

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the state of Washington that the foregoing, 
including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct. 

Dated: __________________ [Month/Day/Year], at ______________________ [City, State] 

 _____________________________________ ___________________________ 
Name of Respondent (Company) – please print Signature of Applicant 

RCW 9A.72.020 “Perjury in the first degree.” 

(1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official proceeding he or she makes
a materially false statement which he or she knows to be false under an oath required or
authorized by law.

(2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime, and the
actor's mistaken belief that his or her statement was not material is not a defense to a
prosecution under this section.

(3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.
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