
Service Date: April 1, 2024 
 

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 
 

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE 
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES 

 
 

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: DG-240210 
PENALTY AMOUNT: $1,000 

 Investigation #8860 
EMAIL SERVICE 
 UBI:  602-188-522
Ben Pentecost, Gifford Visick Phone: (253) 604-7204
Adam Fredericks 
Rickabaugh Pentecost Development, L.L.C.  
d/b/a RP Development 
108 West Stewart  
Puyallup WA  98371 
Giff@rpdevelopment.com 
Adam@rpdevelopment.com 
 

 
YOU MUST RESPOND WITHIN 15 DAYS OF THIS NOTICE  

 
The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that Rickabaugh 
Pentecost Development, L.L.C. d/b/a RP Development (RP Development or Company) violated 
Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 19.122.055(1)(a) by failing to notify the one-number locate 
service and causing damage to an underground gas facility.  
 
RCW 19.122.055(1)(a) states, in part, that excavators who fail to notify a one-number locator 
service and cause damage to an underground gas facility are subject to a civil penalty of not more 
than $10,000 for each violation. 
 
Commission staff (Staff) conducted an investigation that included reviewing damage reports, 
investigation reports, the One Call Center database, and communications with the Company. The 
documents reviewed identified a natural gas event that involved RP Development damaging a 
natural gas facility while excavating without a valid locate ticket. 
 
The Commission reviewed findings and recommendations made by Staff and hereby notifies you 
that it is assessing a $1,000 penalty (Penalty Assessment) against you on the following grounds: 
 
1. Alleged Violation:  

On September 12, 2023, RP Development was excavating at 10124 36th St. E, Edgewood, 
Washington. While excavating, RP Development workers struck and damaged an 
underground Puget Sound Energy (PSE) natural gas facility. The Damage Information 
Reporting Tool (DIRT) report submitted by PSE on October 26, 2023, indicated that RP 
Development was excavating without a valid request to locate underground utilities.  

 
 

mailto:Giff@rpdevelopment.com
mailto:Adam@rpdevelopment.com


 
PENALTY ASSESSMENT DG-240210                                                                                                          PAGE 2  
 
 
2. Analysis:  

The alleged violation concerns RCW 19.122.055(1)(a), which states, in part, that an 
excavator must contact the one-number locate center before beginning excavation. On 
September 12, 2023, RP Development was excavating for sewer work when it struck a PSE 
natural gas line. The Gas First Response (GFR) and the ELM report both indicate that the 
Company did not have a valid locate ticket at the time the damage occurred. The 
information from PSE indicates RP Development called for locates after the damage 
occurred. Staff reviewed the One Call Center ticket database and did not find a valid locate 
ticket for RP Development on the date the damage occurred.  
 
On March 27, 2024, staff communicated with RP Development in a series of emails, and 
the Company explained that there were locate marks on the ground for another excavator. 
Staff explained to the Company that according to PSE records, the area that was damaged 
was outside the parameters of the previous locates. Staff also explained that according to 
RCW 19.122, each excavator must request its own locates before beginning excavation. RP 
Development responded to Staff’s explanation with agreement.  

 
The Commission considered the following factors in determining the appropriate penalty amount 
for the violation: 
 
1. How serious or harmful the violation is to the public. 

This incident could have been significantly more harmful to RP Development workers, 
utility technicians, nearby homeowners, and the public, and could have resulted in severe 
injury and/or loss of property. 
 

2. Whether the violation is intentional. 
The violation appears to be due to negligence rather than a lack of knowledge of 
Washington State’s Dig Law. Over the past 12 months, RP Development has submitted 2 
requests to the One Call Center for locates. This demonstrates RP Development's 
knowledge of requirements and its responsibility to contact the one-number locate service 
before beginning excavation. 
 

3. Whether the company self-reported the violation. 
RP Development did not self-report the violation. The Commission became aware of the 
violation when PSE filed a DIRT report.  

 
4. The likelihood of recurrence. 

The likelihood of recurrence depends on the Company’s actions going forward and its 
willingness to notify the one-number locate service every time before beginning 
excavation.  

 
5.  The Company’s previous violations.  

On December 29, 2014, and May 17, 2017, the Commission mailed Alleged Violation of 
Washington Dig Law letters to RP Development. The letters included detailed information 
about Washington State’s Underground Utility Damage Prevention Act, requirements for 
submitting utility locate requests before excavating, and the possibility of penalties for each 
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violation. The Commission mailed the letters after receiving reports of damages caused by 
RP Development that occurred because the Company failed to submit requests to locate 
underground utilities before excavating. 

 
The Commission has considered these factors and determined that it should penalize RP 
Development as follows:  

• $1,000 penalty for one violation of RCW 19.122.055(1)(a) with an offer to suspend an 
$800 portion of the penalty for one year, and then waive it, subject to the conditions that: 
1) Company supervisors and field crew responsible for excavation complete Dig Safe 

Training provided through the National Utility Contractors Association (NUCA) 
within 90 days of this Penalty Assessment; 

2) The Company must submit documentation of that attendance to the Commission; and 
3) The Company must not commit any further violations of RCW 19.122 within 12 

months of the date of this Penalty Assessment.  

These facts, if proven at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, are sufficient to support the 
Penalty Assessment. 

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violation did not occur, you may deny 
committing the violation and contest the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in 
writing. Or, if there is a reason for the violation that you believe should excuse you from the 
penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of the penalty through evidence presented at a 
hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for a hearing only if material issues of 
law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. Any request to contest 
the violation or for mitigation of the penalty must include a written statement of the reasons 
supporting that request. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. See 
RCW 81.04.405. 

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the 
Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation or application for 
mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The 
administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of their decision. 
 
You must act within 15 days after receiving this Penalty Assessment to do one of the 
following: 

• Pay the $1,000 penalty amount due; or 
• Pay $200 and notify the Commission that you accept the offer to suspend an $800 portion 

of the penalty amount subject to the following conditions: 
o RP Development management and field crew responsible for excavation must 

complete NUCA Dig Safe Training (https://utc-9183.quickbase.com/db/bpkt6vndh) 
within 90 days of service of this Penalty Assessment; and 

o The Company must submit documentation of that attendance to the 
Commission; and 

o RP Development must not incur any additional violations of RCW 19.122 within 12 
months of the date of this Penalty Assessment; or  

https://utc-9183.quickbase.com/db/bpkt6vndh
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• Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violations; or 
• Request mitigation to reduce the amount of the penalty. 

 
Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and submit it electronically through the 
Commission’s web portal at https://efiling.utc.wa.gov/Form within FIFTEEN (15) days after you 
receive this Penalty Assessment. If you are unable to use the web portal, you may submit it via 
email to records@utc.wa.gov. If you are unable to submit the form electronically, you may send a 
paper copy to the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission, PO Box 47250, Olympia, 
Washington 98504-7250. 

If you wish to make your payment online, please use this link: Make a Payment Now (wa.gov).1  

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the 
Attorney General for collection.  
 
DATED at Lacey, Washington, and effective April 1, 2024. 
 
 

/s/Michael Howard 
       MICHAEL HOWARD 

Director, Administrative Law Division

 
1 https://www.utc.wa.gov/documents-and-proceedings/online-payments/make-payment-now.  

https://efiling.utc.wa.gov/Form
https://gcc02.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.utc.wa.gov%2Fdocuments-and-proceedings%2Fonline-payments%2Fmake-payment-now&data=05%7C01%7Cpaige.doyle%40utc.wa.gov%7C9cb022d51a5643d6a62b08db0960304f%7C11d0e217264e400a8ba057dcc127d72d%7C0%7C0%7C638114080949081842%7CUnknown%7CTWFpbGZsb3d8eyJWIjoiMC4wLjAwMDAiLCJQIjoiV2luMzIiLCJBTiI6Ik1haWwiLCJXVCI6Mn0%3D%7C3000%7C%7C%7C&sdata=LCe1LJN4m2K2jG%2FPg4tyJshn%2B1zgimsevw8pedLstG8%3D&reserved=0
https://www.utc.wa.gov/documents-and-proceedings/online-payments/make-payment-now
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WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 
PENALTY ASSESSMENT DG-240210 Investigation #8860 

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document and send it to the Commission 
within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed. 

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false 
statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the 
matters set forth below, and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under 
oath, the following statements: 

[   ]  1. Payment of penalty. I admit that the violation occurred:   
[  ] Enclose $1,000 in payment of the penalty. 

     OR [  ] Attest that I have paid the penalty in full through the Commission’s payment 
portal. 

[   ]  2. Accept conditions. I admit that the violation occurred and enclose $200 toward the 
payment of the penalty. I also accept the Commission’s offer to suspend, and 
ultimately waive, the remaining $800 penalty amount subject to the following 
conditions:   

o Company management and field crew responsible for excavation must attend 
Dig Safe training provided through NUCA within 90 days of service of this 
Penalty Assessment; and 

o The Company must submit documentation of that attendance to the 
Commission; and  

o The Company must not commit any further violations of RCW 19.122 within 
twelve (12) months of the date of this Notice. 
  

[   ]  3. Contest the violation. I believe that the alleged violation did not occur for the reasons 
I describe below (if you do not include reasons supporting your contest here, your 
request will be denied): 

[   ]  a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to 
an administrative law judge for a decision. 

     OR [   ]  b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide 
above. 

 
[   ]  4. Request mitigation. I admit the violation, but I believe that the penalty should be 

reduced for the reasons set out below (if you do not include reasons supporting your 
application here, your request will be denied): 

[   ]  a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to 
an administrative law judge for a decision. 
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     OR [   ]  b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide 
above. 

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the state of Washington that the foregoing, 
including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct. 

Dated: __________________ [Month/Day/Year], at ______________________ [City, State] 

 _____________________________________ ___________________________ 
Name of Respondent (Company) – please print Signature of Applicant 

RCW 9A.72.020 “Perjury in the first degree.” 

(1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official proceeding he or she makes
a materially false statement which he or she knows to be false under an oath required or
authorized by law.

(2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime, and the
actor's mistaken belief that his or her statement was not material is not a defense to a
prosecution under this section.

(3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.


	WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

	Check Box1: Off
	Check Box2: Off
	Check Box3: Off
	Check Box4: Off
	Check Box5: Off
	Check Box6: Off
	Check Box7: Off
	Check Box8: Off
	Check Box9: Off
	Check Box10: Off
	Text11: 
	Text12: 
	Date: 
	Name: 
	City, State: 


