Service Date: March 12, 2024

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: TE-240112
PENALTY AMOUNT: $100

Pacific Northwest Transportation Services, Inc.

d/b/a Capital Aeroporter Airport Shuttle; Capital Aeroporter Tours & Charters; Airport Shuttle;
Capital City Charters; Premier Airport Shuttle

PO Box 2163

Olympia, WA 98507

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes Pacific
Northwest Transportation Services, Inc., d/b/a Capital Aeroporter Airport Shuttle, d/b/a Capital
Aeroporter Tours & Charters, d/b/a Airport Shuttle, d/b/a Capital City Charters, d/b/a Premier
Airport Shuttle (Pacific Northwest Transportation Services or Company) violated Washington
Administrative Code (WAC) 480-30-221, Vehicle and Driver Safety Requirements, which
adopts Title 49 Code of Federal Regulations (49 C.F.R.) Part 391 — Qualification of Drivers.

Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 81.04.405 allows penalties of $100 for each violation. In
the case of an ongoing violation, every day’s continuance is considered a separate and distinct
violation.

On February 14, 2024, Commission Motor Carrier Investigator Jason Sharp completed a
commercial motor vehicle (CMV) inspection of Pacific Northwest Transportation Services and
documented the following violations:

e One violation of 49 C.F.R. § 391.41(a) - Medical (Certificate) - Operating a
passenger-carrying vehicle without a valid medical certificate in possession or on file
with the state drivers licensing agency when medical certification is required. The
Company allowed driver Elbert Vines to operate a CMV without a valid medical
certificate.

The Commission considered the following factors in determining the appropriate penalties for
this violation:

1. How serious or harmful the violation is to the public. The violation noted is serious
and potentially harmful to the public. Passenger transportation companies that allow
drivers to operate CMVs without a valid medical certificate in possession put their
customers and the traveling public at risk. This violation presents a significant safety
concern.

2. Whether the violation was intentional. Considerations include:

e  Whether the Company ignored Commission staff’s (Staff) previous technical
assistance; and



PENALTY ASSESSMENT TE-240112 PAGE 2

e  Whether there is clear evidence through documentation or other means that show
the Company knew of and failed to correct the violation.

Pacific Northwest Transportation Services has been in operation since 1993 and currently
possesses both auto transportation and charter and excursion certificates with the
Commission.

On April 14, 2016, Staff completed a routine safety investigation of Pacific Northwest
Transportation Services, which included providing technical assistance.

On February 21, 2019, Staff completed a routine safety investigation of Pacific
Northwest Transportation Services and documented violations of 49 C.F.R. §
391.45(b)(1). Staff provided technical assistance to the Company during this safety
investigation.

The Company knew or should have known about these requirements.

3. Whether the Company self-reported the violation. Pacific Northwest Transportation
Services did not self-report these violations.

4. Whether the Company was cooperative and responsive. The driver was cooperative
throughout the safety inspection.

5. Whether the Company promptly corrected the violation and remedied the impacts.
Pacific Northwest Transportation Services has not provided Staff with evidence of
correction.

6. The number of violations. Staff identified one violation during the inspection of Pacific
Northwest Transportation Services’ driver and vehicle. The violation resulted in the
driver being placed out-of-service.

7. The number of customers affected. Pacific Northwest Transportation Services last
reported traveling 1,345,199 miles for 2022. This safety violation presents a public safety
risk.

8. The likelihood of recurrence. The Company’s drivers and vehicles have been subject to
21 destination check inspections since the beginning of 2021 with no occurrences of
drivers operating without valid medical certificates. The driver was cooperative
throughout the inspection process and the Company provided an alternative driver to pick
up the CMV. Staff believes the likelihood of recurrence is low.

9. The Company’s past performance regarding compliance, violations, and penalties.
On March 19, 2019, the Commission issued the Company a penalty in the amount of
$800 in docket TC-190130 for safety violations of 49 C.F.R. § 391.45(b).

On March 19, 2019, the Company admitted to the violations and requested mitigation of
the penalties.



PENALTY ASSESSMENT TE-240112 PAGE 3

On April 1, 2019, the Commission issued an order granting mitigation of the penalties to
the amount of $400.

On April 11, 2019, the Company paid the $400 penalty in full.

10. The Company’s existing compliance program. Robin Dishaw, Safety Director, is
responsible for the Company’s safety compliance program.

11. The size of the Company. The Company employs 40 drivers and operates 21 CMVs.
The Company reported $3,073,967.97 in gross revenue in 2022.

The Commission’s Enforcement Policy provides that some Commission requirements are so
fundamental to safe operations that the Commission will issue mandatory penalties for each
occurrence of a first-time violation.! The Commission generally will assess penalties by
violation category, rather than per occurrence, for first-time violations of those critical
regulations that do not meet the requirements for mandatory penalties. The Commission will
assess penalties for any equipment violation meeting the Federal Motor Carrier Safety
Administration’s “out-of-service” criteria and also for repeat violations of critical regulations,
including each occurrence of a repeat violation.

The Commission has considered these factors and determined that it should penalize Pacific
Northwest Transportation Services $100 (Penalty Assessment), calculated as follows:

e One violation of 49 C.F.R. § 391.41(a) - Medical (Certificate) - Operating a passenger-
carrying vehicle without a valid medical certificate in possession or on file with the state
drivers licensing agency when medical certification is required. The Commission
assesses a penalty of $100 for this out-of-service violation.

This information, if proven at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, is sufficient to support the
Penalty Assessment.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violation did not occur, you may deny
committing the violation and contest the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in
writing. Alternatively, if there is a reason for the violation that you believe should excuse you
from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of the penalty through evidence
presented at a hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for hearing only if
material issues of law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. Any
request to contest the violation or for mitigation of the penalty must include a written statement
of the reasons supporting that request. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of
the request. See RCW 81.04.405.

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the
Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation or application for

! Docket A-12,00061 — Enforcement Policy of the Washington Utilities & Transportation Commission —
Section V.
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mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The
administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of their decision.

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:

e Pay the amount due.
e Contest the occurrence of the violation.
e Admit the violation but request mitigation of the penalty amount.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and submit it electronically through the
Commission’s web portal at https://efiling.utc.wa.gov/Form within FIFTEEN (15) days after
you receive this Penalty Assessment.? If you are unable to use the web portal, you may submit it
via email to records@utc.wa.gov. If you are unable to submit the form electronically, you may
send a paper copy to the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission, PO Box 47250,
Olympia, Washington 98504-7250.

If you wish to make a payment online, please use this link: Make a Payment Now (wa.gov).>

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may take additional enforcement action,
including but not necessarily limited to suspending or revoking your certificate to provide
regulated service, assessing additional penalties, or referring this matter to the Office of the
Attorney General for collection.

DATED at Lacey, Washington, and effective March 12, 2024.

/s/ Michael Howard
MICHAEL HOWARD
Director, Administrative Law Division

2 https://efiling.utc.wa.gov/Form.

3 https://www.utc.wa.gov/documents-and-proceedings/online-payments/make-payment-now
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WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
PENALTY ASSESSMENT TE-240112

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document and send it to the Commission
within 15 days after you receive the Penalty Assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false
statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the
matters set forth below, and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under
oath, the following statements.

1. Payment of penalty. I admit that the violation occurred.

Enclose $100 in payment of the penalty.

OR Attest that I have paid the penalty in full through the Commission’s payment
portal.

2. Contest the violation(s). I believe that the alleged violation(s) did not occur for the
reasons I describe below (if you do not include reasons supporting your contest
here, your request will be denied):

a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to
an administrative law judge for a decision.

OR b) Iask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide
above.

3. Application for mitigation. I admit the violation, but I believe that the penalty should
be reduced for the reasons set out below (if you do not include reasons supporting
your application here, your request will be denied):

a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to
an administrative law judge for a decision.

OR b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide
above.

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the state of Washington that the foregoing,
including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.

Dated: [month/day/year], at [city, state]

Name of Respondent (company) — please print Signature of Applicant
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RCW 9A.72.020 “Perjury in the first degree.”

(1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official proceeding he or she makes a
materially false statement which he or she knows to be false under an oath required or
authorized by law.

(2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime, and the actor's
mistaken belief that his or her statement was not material is not a defense to a prosecution
under this section.

(3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.
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