
Service Date: February 12, 2024 
 

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 
 

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE 
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES 

 
 

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: DG-240061 
PENALTY AMOUNT: $2,500  

 Investigation # 8850 
EMAIL SERVICE 
 UBI:  600-264-803
April Rodarte 
Rodarte Construction, Inc. 

Phone: (253) 939-0532

17 East Valley Highway East 
Auburn, WA 98092 
April@rodarteconstruction.com 
 

 
YOU MUST RESPOND WITHIN 15 DAYS OF THIS NOTICE  

 
The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that Rodarte 
Construction, Inc. (Rodarte or Company) violated Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 
19.122.055(1)(a) by failing to notify the one-number locate service and causing damage to an 
underground gas facility.  
 
RCW 19.122.055(1)(a) states, in part, that excavators who fail to notify a one-number locator 
service and cause damage to an underground gas facility are subject to a civil penalty of not more 
than $10,000 for each violation. 
 
Commission staff (Staff) conducted an investigation that included reviewing damage reports, 
investigation reports, the One Call Center database, and communications with the Company. The 
documents reviewed identified a natural gas event that involved Rodarte damaging a natural gas 
facility while excavating without a valid locate ticket. 
 
The Commission reviewed findings and recommendations made by Staff and hereby notifies you 
that it is assessing a $2,500 penalty (Penalty Assessment) against you on the following grounds: 
 
1. Alleged Violation:  

On August 7, 2023, Rodarte was excavating at 19021 20th Ave NW, Shoreline, 
Washington. While excavating, Rodarte workers struck and damaged an underground 
Puget Sound Energy (PSE) natural gas facility. The Damage Information Reporting Tool 
(DIRT) report submitted by PSE on September 19, 2023, indicated that Rodarte was 
excavating without a valid request to locate underground utilities.  

 
2. Analysis:  

The alleged violation concerns RCW 19.122.055(1)(a), which states, in part, that an 
excavator must contact the one-number locate center before beginning excavation. On 
August 7, 2023, Rodarte was excavating for a storm drain when it struck a 1 1/8” natural 
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gas service line. The GFR report from PSE states Rodarte was operating a backhoe and did 
not expose the line by hand. The report from ELM states that Rodarte was excavating 
outside the area identified on the Company’s locate ticket. Upon review of the One Call 
Center database Staff did not find a valid locate ticket for the location of this damage 
incident. Staff communicated by email with the Company on January 5, 25, and 31, 2024, 
requesting further information. The Company responded by providing photos and a copy of 
locate ticket #23295172. Staff compared all photos and the ticket to the Google Earth map 
and verified the damage incident was not covered by the parameters as indicated on the 
locate ticket.   

 
The Commission considered the following factors in determining the appropriate penalty amount 
for the violation: 
 
1. How serious or harmful the violation is to the public. 

This incident could have been significantly more harmful to Rodarte workers, utility 
technicians, nearby homeowners, and the public, and could have resulted in severe injury 
and/or loss of property. 
 

2. Whether the violation is intentional. 
The violation appears to be due to negligence rather than a lack of knowledge of 
Washington State’s dig law. Over the past 12 months, Rodarte has submitted 197 requests 
to the One Call Center for locates. This demonstrates Rodarte’s knowledge of requirements 
and its responsibility to contact the one-number locate service before beginning excavation. 
 

3. Whether the company self-reported the violation. 
Rodarte did not self-report the violation. The Commission became aware of the violation 
when PSE filed a DIRT report.  

 
4. The likelihood of recurrence. 

Rodarte is currently under compliance status for a previous penalty assessment that was 
issued on September 18, 2023, See Docket DG-230686. One of the compliance 
requirements is to avoid any further violations of the Dig Law for 12 months. This current 
damage incident is a new Dig Law violation within the 12 month window and will result in 
the imposition of the suspended penalty for the previous case. The likelihood of recurrence 
depends on the Company’s actions going forward and its willingness to display due 
diligence by ensuring that it notifies the one-number locate service every time before 
beginning excavation.  

 
5.  The Company’s previous violations and penalties.  

• Warning Letter  
o On May 23, 2023, July 2, 2021, September 13, 2018, June 17, 2017, October 19, 

2016, October 9, 2013, and September 9, 2013, the Commission mailed Alleged 
Violation of Washington Dig Law letters to Rodarte. The letters included 
detailed information about Washington State’s underground utility damage 
prevention act, requirements for submitting utility locate requests before 
excavating, and the possibility of penalties for each violation. The Commission 
mailed the letters after receiving a report of damage caused by Rodarte that 
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occurred because the Company failed to submit a request to locate underground 
utilities before excavating. 

 
• Penalty Assessments 

o On September 18, 2023, the Commission issued Rodarte a Penalty Assessment 
of $2,500 for one violation of RCW 19.122.055(1)(a). See Docket DG-230686. 

o On May 16, 2019, the Commission issued Rodarte a Penalty Assessment of 
$2,000 for one violation of RCW 19.122.055(1)(a). See Docket DG-190249. 

o On October 30, 2018, the Commission issued Rodarte a Penalty Assessment of 
$1,000 for one violation of RCW 19.122.055(1)(a). See Docket DG-180828. 

 
The Commission has considered these factors and determined that it should penalize Rodarte as 
follows:  

• $2,500 penalty for one violation of RCW 19.122.055(1)(a) that occurred on August 7, 
2023.  

These facts, if proven at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, are sufficient to support the 
Penalty Assessment. 

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violation did not occur, you may deny 
committing the violation and contest the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in 
writing. Or, if there is a reason for the violation that you believe should excuse you from the 
penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of the penalty through evidence presented at a 
hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for a hearing only if material issues of 
law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. Any request to contest 
the violation or for mitigation of the penalty must include a written statement of the reasons 
supporting that request. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. See 
RCW 81.04.405. 

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the 
Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation or application for 
mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The 
administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of their decision. 
 
You must act within 15 days after receiving this Penalty Assessment to do one of the 
following: 

• Pay the $2,500 penalty amount due; or 
• Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violations; or 
• Request mitigation to reduce the amount of the penalty. 

 
Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and submit it electronically through the 
Commission’s web portal at https://efiling.utc.wa.gov/Form within FIFTEEN (15) days after you 
receive this Penalty Assessment. If you are unable to use the web portal, you may submit it via 
email to records@utc.wa.gov. If you are unable to submit the form electronically, you may send a 

https://efiling.utc.wa.gov/Form
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paper copy to the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission, PO Box 47250, Olympia, 
Washington 98504-7250. 

If you wish to make your payment online, please use this link: Make a Payment Now (wa.gov).1  

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the 
Attorney General for collection.  
 
DATED at Lacey, Washington, and effective February 12, 2024. 
 

/s/Michael Howard 
       MICHAEL HOWARD 

Director, Administrative Law Division 
 
 
 
 
 
  
 

 
1 https://www.utc.wa.gov/documents-and-proceedings/online-payments/make-payment-now.  

https://gcc02.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.utc.wa.gov%2Fdocuments-and-proceedings%2Fonline-payments%2Fmake-payment-now&data=05%7C01%7Cpaige.doyle%40utc.wa.gov%7C9cb022d51a5643d6a62b08db0960304f%7C11d0e217264e400a8ba057dcc127d72d%7C0%7C0%7C638114080949081842%7CUnknown%7CTWFpbGZsb3d8eyJWIjoiMC4wLjAwMDAiLCJQIjoiV2luMzIiLCJBTiI6Ik1haWwiLCJXVCI6Mn0%3D%7C3000%7C%7C%7C&sdata=LCe1LJN4m2K2jG%2FPg4tyJshn%2B1zgimsevw8pedLstG8%3D&reserved=0
https://www.utc.wa.gov/documents-and-proceedings/online-payments/make-payment-now
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WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 
PENALTY ASSESSMENT DG-240061 Investigation # 8850 

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document and send it to the Commission 
within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed. 

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false 
statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the 
matters set forth below, and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under 
oath, the following statements: 

[   ]  1. Payment of penalty. I admit that the violation occurred:   
[  ] Enclose $2,500 in payment of the penalty. 

     OR [  ] Attest that I have paid the penalty in full through the Commission’s payment 
portal. 

 
[   ] 2. Contest the violation. I believe that the alleged violation did not occur for the reasons 

I describe below (if you do not include reasons supporting your contest here, your 
request will be denied): 

[   ]  a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to 
an administrative law judge for a decision. 

     OR [   ]  b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide 
above. 

 
[   ]  3. Request mitigation. I admit the violation, but I believe that the penalty should be 

reduced for the reasons set out below (if you do not include reasons supporting your 
application here, your request will be denied): 

[   ]  a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to 
an administrative law judge for a decision. 

     OR [   ]  b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide 
above. 

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the state of Washington that the foregoing, 
including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct. 
 
 
Dated: __________________ [Month/Day/Year], at ______________________ [City, State] 
 
 
 _____________________________________  ___________________________ 
Name of Respondent (Company) – please print  Signature of Applicant 
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RCW 9A.72.020 “Perjury in the first degree.” 
 
(1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official proceeding he or she makes 

a materially false statement which he or she knows to be false under an oath required or 
authorized by law. 

(2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime, and the 
actor's mistaken belief that his or her statement was not material is not a defense to a 
prosecution under this section. 

(3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony. 
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