Service Date: February 8, 2024

## WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

## NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: TE-240056 PENALTY AMOUNT: \$2,200

Bayview Chauffeured Transportation LLC d/b/a Bayview Chauffeured Transportation; Bayview Transportation 15701 Nelson Pl. Seattle, WA 98188

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes Bayview Chauffeured Transportation LLC, d/b/a Bayview Chauffeured Transportation, d/b/a Bayview Transportation (Bayview Transportation or Company) violated Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-30-221, Vehicle and Driver Safety Requirements, which adopts Title 49 Code of Federal Regulations (49 C.F.R.) Part 382 – Controlled Substance and Alcohol Use and Testing and Part 393 – Parts and Accessories Necessary for Safe Operation.

Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 81.04.405 allows penalties of \$100 for each violation. In the case of an ongoing violation, every day's continuance is considered a separate and distinct violation.

RCW 81.04.530 allows penalties of \$500 for each motor vehicle driver not in compliance with the motor vehicle driver testing requirements.

On January 19, 2024, Commission Motor Carrier Investigator Arber Demiri completed a routine safety investigation of Bayview Transportation and documented the following violations:

- Four violations of 49 C.F.R. § 382.301(a) Using a driver before the motor carrier has received a negative pre-employment controlled substance test result. The Company allowed CDL drivers Stephen Fosnight, Trudy Mitchel, Hubert Montgomery, and Benjamin Tseng to drive a commercial motor vehicle (CMV) prior to conducting a controlled substance test and receiving a verified negative pre-employment test result.
- Two violations of 49 C.F.R. § 393.62 Using a CMV with inoperative emergency exits. The Company operated two CMVs with marked emergency exits that were inoperable at the time of inspection.<sup>1</sup>

The Commission considered the following factors in determining the appropriate penalties for these violations:

1. **How serious or harmful the violations are to the public.** The violations noted are serious and potentially harmful to the public. Passenger transportation companies that (1) allow drivers to operate CMVs prior to receiving negative pre-employment controlled

-

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> VIN 1FDGF5GYXFEB64742 and VIN 1FDGF5GT7FEC05445

substance test results, and (2) use CMVs with inoperative emergency exits put their customers and the traveling public at risk. These violations present significant safety concerns.

- 2. Whether the violations were intentional. Considerations include:
  - Whether the Company ignored Commission staff's (Staff) previous technical assistance; and
  - Whether there is clear evidence through documentation or other means that shows the Company knew of and failed to correct the violations.

On March 3, 2015, the Commission received the Company's application for charter and excursion authority. In the application, Lonnie Burdine, Operations Manager, acknowledged the Company's responsibility to understand and comply with applicable safety laws and regulations. Staff conducted a new entrant visit with Bayview Transportation on March 31, 2015, and provided additional technical assistance to the company.

In March 2017, Staff completed a routine safety investigation of Bayview Transportation and documented violations of 49 CFR § 382.115(a), 49 CFR § 383.23(a), and 49 CFR § 391.51(b)(2). Staff provided technical assistance to the Company during this safety investigation.

The Company knew or should have known about these requirements.

- 3. Whether the Company self-reported the violations. Bayview Transportation did not self-report these violations.
- 4. Whether the Company was cooperative and responsive. The Company was cooperative throughout the safety investigation.
- 5. Whether the Company promptly corrected the violations and remedied the impacts. Bayview Transportation made corrections during the investigation.
- 6. **The number of violations.** Staff identified 21 violation types with a total of 134 individual occurrences during the routine safety investigation of Bayview Transportation. Of those violations, Staff identified two violation types with six individual occurrences that warrant a penalty in accordance with the Commission's Enforcement Policy.
- 7. **The number of customers affected**. Bayview Transportation last reported traveling 69,500 miles for 2022. These safety violations present a public safety risk.
- 8. **The likelihood of recurrence.** The Company was cooperative throughout the safety investigation and was provided technical assistance with specific remedies to help the Company assess how well its safety management controls support safe operations and

how to begin improving its safety performance. In light of these factors, Staff believes the likelihood of recurrence is low.

- 9. The Company's past performance regarding compliance, violations, and penalties. On May 31, 2017, the Commission issued the Company a penalty in the amount of \$2,300 in docket TE-170373.

  On June 27, 2017, the company paid the penalty in full.
- 10. **The Company's existing compliance program.** Dan Renner, Operations Manager, is responsible for the Company's safety compliance program.
- 11. **The size of the Company.** The Company employs seven drivers and operates five CMVs. The Company reported \$650,000 in gross revenue in 2022.

The Commission's Enforcement Policy provides that some Commission requirements are so fundamental to safe operations that the Commission will issue mandatory penalties for each occurrence of a first-time violation.<sup>2</sup> The Commission generally will assess penalties by violation category, rather than per occurrence, for first-time violations of those critical regulations that do not meet the requirements for mandatory penalties. The Commission will assess penalties for any equipment violation meeting the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration's "out-of-service" criteria and also for repeat violations of critical regulations, including each occurrence of a repeat violation.

The Commission has considered these factors and determined that it should penalize Bayview Transportation \$2,200 (Penalty Assessment), calculated as follows:

- Four violations of 49 C.F.R. § 382.301(a) Using a driver before the motor carrier has received a negative pre-employment controlled substance test result. The Commission assesses a penalty of \$500 for each occurrence of this violation, for a total of \$2,000.
- Two violations of 49 C.F.R. § 393.62 Using a CMV with inoperative emergency exits. The Commission assesses a penalty of \$100 for each occurrence of this out-of-service violation, for a total of \$200.

This information, if proven at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, is sufficient to support the Penalty Assessment.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violations did not occur, you may deny committing the violations and contest the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. Alternatively, if there is a reason for the violations that you believe should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for hearing only if material issues of law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. Any

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> Docket A-12,00061 – Enforcement Policy of the Washington Utilities & Transportation Commission – Section V.

request to contest the violation or for mitigation of the penalty must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. *See* RCW 81.04.405.

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violations or application for mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of their decision.

## You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:

- Pay the amount due.
- Contest the occurrence of the violations.
- Admit the violations but request mitigation of the penalty amount.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and submit it electronically through the Commission's web portal at <a href="https://efiling.utc.wa.gov/Form">https://efiling.utc.wa.gov/Form</a> within FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this Penalty Assessment. If you are unable to use the web portal, you may submit it via email to records@utc.wa.gov. If you are unable to submit the form electronically, you may send a paper copy to the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission, PO Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250.

If you wish to make a payment online, please use this link: Make a Payment Now (wa.gov).4

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may take additional enforcement action, including but not necessarily limited to suspending or revoking your certificate to provide regulated service, assessing additional penalties, or referring this matter to the Office of the Attorney General for collection.

DATED at Lacey, Washington, and effective February 8, 2024.

/s/ Michael Howard
MICHAEL HOWARD
Director, Administrative Law Division

-

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>3</sup> https://efiling.utc.wa.gov/Form.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>4</sup> https://www.utc.wa.gov/documents-and-proceedings/online-payments/make-payment-now

## WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION PENALTY ASSESSMENT TE-240056

**PLEASE NOTE:** You must complete and sign this document and send it to the Commission within 15 days after you receive the Penalty Assessment. Use additional paper if needed. I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the matters set forth below, and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under oath, the following statements.

[ ] 1. OR	Payment of penalty. I admit that the violation(s) occurred.  [ ] Enclose \$2,200 in payment of the penalty.  [ ] Attest that I have paid the penalty in full through the Commission's payment portal.			
[ ] 2.	reasons	Contest the violation(s). I believe that the alleged violation(s) did not occur for the reasons I describe below (if you do not include reasons supporting your contest here, your request will be denied):		
	/	I ask for a hearing to present evidential nistrative law judge for a decision.	nce on the information I provide above to	
OR	[ ] b)	I ask for a Commission decision ba above.	ased solely on the information I provide	
[ ] 3.	<b>Application for mitigation.</b> I admit the violations, but I believe that the penalty should be reduced for the reasons set out below (if you do not include reasons supporting your application here, your request will be denied):			
	[ ] a)	I ask for a hearing to present evide an administrative law judge for a d	nce on the information I provide above to ecision.	
OR	[ ] b)	I ask for a Commission decision ba above.	ased solely on the information I provide	
	_	enalty of perjury under the laws of thation I have presented on any attachm	ne state of Washington that the foregoing, ments, is true and correct.	
Dated:		[month/day/year], at	[city, state]	
Name o	of Respond	dent (company) – please print	Signature of Applicant	

RCW 9A.72.020 "Perjury in the first degree."

- (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official proceeding he or she makes a materially false statement which he or she knows to be false under an oath required or authorized by law.
- (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime, and the actor's mistaken belief that his or her statement was not material is not a defense to a prosecution under this section.
- (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.