Service Date: November 2, 2023

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: DG-230866 PENALTY AMOUNT: \$2,500 Investigation # 8739

EMAIL SERVICE

Tracy Briggs
T.E. Briggs Construction Co.
PO Box 565
Edmonds, WA 98020
Tracy@TEBCC.com

UBI: 601-511-316 Phone: (425) 501-5200

YOU MUST RESPOND WITHIN 15 DAYS OF THIS NOTICE

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that T.E. Briggs Construction Co. (T.E. Briggs or Company) violated Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 19.122.055(1)(a) by failing to notify the one-number locate service and caused damage to an underground gas facility.

RCW 19.122.055(1)(a) states, in part, that excavators who fail to notify a one-number locator service and cause damage to an underground gas facility are subject to a civil penalty of not more than \$10,000 for each violation.

Commission staff (Staff) conducted an investigation that included reviewing damage reports, investigation reports, a review of the One Call Center database, and communications with the Company. The documents reviewed identified a natural gas event that involved T.E. Briggs damaging a natural gas facility while excavating without a valid locate ticket.

The Commission reviewed findings and recommendations made by Staff and hereby notifies you that it is assessing a \$2,500 penalty (Penalty Assessment) against you on the following grounds:

1. **Alleged Violation:**

On May 17, 2023, T.E. Briggs was excavating at 13346 NE 112th Place, Redmond, Washington. While excavating, T.E. Briggs workers struck and damaged an underground Puget Sound Energy (PSE) natural gas facility. The Damage Information Reporting Tool (DIRT) report submitted by PSE on June 27, 2023, indicated that T.E. Briggs was excavating without a valid request to locate underground utilities.

2. **Analysis:**

The alleged violation concerns RCW 19.122.055(1)(a), which states, in part, that an excavator must contact the one-number locate center before beginning excavation. On May 17, 2023, T.E. Briggs was excavating with a hand shovel potholing when it

damaged a PSE natural gas line. The Gas First Response (GFR) states a request for locates was on file for the location but had expired. Staff reached out to the Respondent on September 24, 2023, and October 18, 2023, seeking a response from the Company. On October 18, 2023, the Company responded stating it has maintained locates on the project for two years. Staff replied and explained that the locate ticket for this damage incident had expired when the damage occurred. Staff reviewed the One Call Center ticket database and located ticket #23103410, which was valid from March 23, 2023, to May 7, 2023. This ticket expired 10 days prior to the damage incident on May 17, 2023.

The Commission considered the following factors in determining the appropriate penalty amount for the violation:

1. How serious or harmful the violation is to the public.

These incidents could have been significantly more harmful to Company workers, utility technicians, nearby homeowners, and the public, and could have resulted in severe injury and/or loss of property.

2. Whether the violation is intentional.

The violation appears to be due to negligence rather than a lack of knowledge of Washington state's dig law. Over the past 12 months, T.E. Briggs has submitted 23 requests to the One Call Center for locates. This demonstrates the Company's knowledge of its requirements and responsibility to contact the one-number locate service before beginning excavation.

3. Whether the company self-reported the violation.

T.E. Briggs did not self-report the violation. The Commission became aware of the violation when PSE filed a DIRT report.

4. The likelihood of recurrence.

T.E. Briggs' likelihood of recurrence depends on the Company's actions going forward and its willingness to notify the one-number locate service every time before beginning excavation.

5. The Company's previous violations and penalties.

• Warning Letter

On March 27, 2017, June 17, 2017, and June 30, 2022, the Commission mailed Alleged Violation of Washington Dig Law letters to T.E. Briggs. The letters included detailed information about Washington State's underground utility damage prevention act, requirements for submitting utility locate requests before excavating, and the possibility of penalties for each violation. The Commission mailed the letter after receiving a report of damage caused by TE Brigg on January 24, 2017, April 3, 2017, and April 18, 2022, that occurred because the Company failed to submit a request to locate underground utilities before excavating.

• Penalty Assessments

On February 22, 2023, the Commission issued T.E. Briggs a Penalty Assessment of \$1,000 for one violation of RCW 19.122.055(1)(a) – DG 220906. As part of the Penalty Assessment T.E. Briggs was offered the opportunity to pay a \$200 portion of the penalty amount and suspend \$800 on the condition it has no further Dig Law violations for 12 months, completes NUCA Dig Safe Training, and provides verification of the training to the Commission. T.E. Briggs agreed to the conditions and paid \$200 but has not provided verification of completing training to the Commission.

The Commission has considered these factors and determined that it should penalize T.E. Briggs as follows:

• \$2,500 penalty for one violation of RCW 19.122.055(1)(a)

These facts, if proven at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, are sufficient to support the Penalty Assessment.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violation did not occur, you may deny committing the violation and contest the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. Or, if there is a reason for the violation that you believe should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for a hearing only if material issues of law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. Any request to contest the violation or for mitigation of the penalty must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. *See* RCW 81.04.405.

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation or application for mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of their decision.

<u>You must act within 15 days after receiving this Penalty Assessment</u> to do one of the following:

- Pay the \$2,500 penalty amount due; or
- Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violations; or
- Request mitigation to reduce the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and submit it electronically through the Commission's web portal at https://efiling.utc.wa.gov/Form within FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this Penalty Assessment. If you are unable to use the web portal, you may submit it via email to records@utc.wa.gov. If you are unable to submit the form electronically, you may send a paper copy to the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission, PO Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250.

If you wish to make your payment online, please use this link: Make a Payment Now (wa.gov).¹

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the Attorney General for collection.

DATED at Lacey, Washington, and effective November 2, 2023.

/s/Michael Howard MICHAEL HOWARD Director, Administrative Law Division

_

¹ https://www.utc.wa.gov/documents-and-proceedings/online-payments/make-payment-now.

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

PENALTY ASSESSMENT DG-230866 Investigation # 8739

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document and send it to the Commission within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under oath, the following statements:

[] 1.	Payment of penalty. I admit that the violation occurred: [] Enclose \$2,500 in payment of the penalty.		
OR	[] Attest that I have paid the penalty in full through the Commission's payment portal.		
[] 2.	Contest the violation. I believe that the alleged violation did not occur for the reasons I describe below (if you do not include reasons supporting your contest here, your request will be denied):		
	[] a)	I ask for a hearing to present evidence	<u>-</u>
OR	[] b)	an administrative law judge for a decis I ask for a Commission decision based above.	
[] 3.	Request mitigation. I admit the violation, but I believe that the penalty should be reduced for the reasons set out below (if you do not include reasons supporting you application here, your request will be denied):		
	[] a)	 [] a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to an administrative law judge for a decision. [] b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide above. 	
OR	[] b)		
	-	enalty of perjury under the laws of the Station I have presented on any attachment	
Dated: _		[Month/Day/Year], at	[City, State]
Name o	f Respond	dent (Company) – please print	Signature of Applicant

RCW 9A.72.020 "Perjury in the first degree."

- (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official proceeding he or she makes a materially false statement which he or she knows to be false under an oath required or authorized by law.
- (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime, and the actor's mistaken belief that his or her statement was not material is not a defense to a prosecution under this section.
- (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.