Service Date: July 25, 2023

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: DG-230590
PENALTY AMOUNT: $1,000
Investigation # 8715
EMAIL SERVICE
UBI: 604-078-669
Paul Postolnikov
Ramex Excavating LLC Phone: (253) 241-4227
15206 204" St. E
Graham, WA 98338
Ramexexcavating@gmail.com

YOU MUST RESPOND WITHIN 15 DAYS OF THIS NOTICE

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that Ramex
Excavating LLC (Ramex or Company) violated Revised Code of Washington (RCW)
19.122.055(1)(a) by failing to notify the one-number locate service and caused damage to an
underground gas facility.

RCW 19.122.055(1)(a) states, in part, that excavators who fail to notify a one-number locator
service and cause damage to an underground gas facility are subject to a civil penalty of not more
than $10,000 for each violation.

Commission staff (Staff) conducted an investigation that included reviewing damage reports,
investigation reports, a review of the One Call Center database, and communications with the
Company. The documents reviewed identified a natural gas event that involved Ramex damaging a
natural gas facility while excavating without a valid locate ticket.

The Commission reviewed findings and recommendations made by Staff and hereby notifies you
that it is assessing a $1,000 penalty (Penalty Assessment) against you on the following grounds:

1. Alleged Violation:
On February 3, 2023, Ramex was excavating at 1534 NW 59" St., Seattle, Washington.
While excavating, Ramex workers struck and damaged an underground Puget Sound
Energy (PSE) natural gas facility. The Damage Information Reporting Tool (DIRT) report
submitted by PSE on March 17, 2023, indicated that Ramex was excavating without a valid
request to locate underground utilities.

2. Analysis:
The alleged violation concerns RCW 19.122.055(1)(a), which states, in part, that an
excavator must contact the one-number locate center before beginning excavation. On
February 3, 2023, an ELM Uitilities Services (ELM) locator arrived at 1534 NW 59" St.,
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Seattle to complete locates for ticket #23035595. When the locator arrived, it noticed an
exposed gas line and notified PSE. When the PSE Gas First Responder (GFR) responded to
repair the damaged line, they initially identified the property owner as responsible for the
damage. After further review, PSE communicated with Ramex, who admitted it caused the
damage while doing foundation excavation work. Ramex indicated that it bent the line back
to get it out of the way. PSE reported detailed communication with the Company regarding
safety concerns. Staff reviewed several emails from PSE and ELM indicating Ramex was
liable. When informed of this allegation by Staff, Ramex denied being responsible for the
damage. Staff notified Ramex of the communications from PSE stating Ramex had
admitted to the damage and taken responsibility for it. Staff requested a response from the
Company. Ramex has not responded. Staff reviewed the One Call Ticket Center database
and did not find a locate ticket for Ramex for this location.

The Commission considered the following factors in determining the appropriate penalty amount
for the violation:

1.

How serious or harmful the violation is to the public.

These incidents could have been significantly more harmful to Company workers, utility
technicians, nearby homeowners, and the public, and could have resulted in severe injury
and/or loss of property.

Whether the violation is intentional.

The violations appear to be due to negligence rather than a lack of knowledge of
Washington state’s dig law. In the past 12 months, Ramex has called in 56 requests to the
One Call Center for locates. This demonstrates the Company’s knowledge of its
requirements and responsibility to contact the one-number locate service before beginning
excavation.

Whether the company self-reported the violation.
Ramex did not self-report the violation. The Commission became aware of the violation
when PSE filed the DIRT report following the damage incident.

The likelihood of recurrence.

Ramex’s likelihood of recurrence depends on the Company’s actions going forward and its
willingness to notify the one-number locate service every time before beginning
excavation.

The Company’s previous violations and penalties.

On July 8, 2022, and October 31, 2022, the Commission mailed Alleged Violation of
Washington Dig Law letters to Ramex. The letters included detailed information about
Washington State’s underground utility damage prevention act, requirements for
submitting utility locate requests before excavating, and the possibility of penalties for each
violation. The Commission mailed the letters after receiving reports of damages caused by
Ramex that occurred because the Company failed to submit a request to locate
underground utilities before excavating.
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The Commission has considered these factors and determined that it should penalize Ramex as
follows:

e $1,000 penalty for one violation of RCW 19.122.055(1)(a) with an offer to suspend an
$800 portion of the penalty for one year, and then waive it, subject to the conditions that:
1) Company supervisors and field crew responsible for excavation complete Dig Safe
Training provided through the National Utility Contractors Association (NUCA)
within 90 days of this Penalty Assessment;
2) The Company must submit documentation of that attendance to the Commission; and
3) The Company must not commit any further violations of RCW 19.122 within 12
months of the date of this Penalty Assessment.

These facts, if proven at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, are sufficient to support the
Penalty Assessment.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violation did not occur, you may deny
committing the violation and contest the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in
writing. Or, if there is a reason for the violation that you believe should excuse you from the
penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of the penalty through evidence presented at a
hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for a hearing only if material issues of
law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. Any request to contest
the violation or for mitigation of the penalty must include a written statement of the reasons
supporting that request. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. See
RCW 81.04.405.

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the
Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation or application for
mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The
administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of their decision.

You must act within 15 days after receiving this Penalty Assessment to do one of the
following:

e Pay the $1,000 penalty amount due; or
e Pay $200 and notify the Commission that you accept the offer to suspend an $800 portion
of the penalty amount subject to the following conditions:

o Ramex management and the field crew responsible for excavation must complete
NUCA Dig Safe Training (https://utc-9183.quickbase.com/db/bpkt6évndh) within 90
days of service of this Penalty Assessment; and

o The Company must submit documentation of that attendance to the
Commission; and

o Ramex must not incur any additional violations of RCW 19.122 within 12 months
of the date of this Penalty Assessment; or

e Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violations; or
e Request mitigation to reduce the amount of the penalty.
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Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and submit it electronically through the
Commission’s web portal at https://efiling.utc.wa.gov/Form within FIFTEEN (15) days after you
receive this Penalty Assessment. If you are unable to use the web portal, you may submit it via
email to records@utc.wa.gov. If you are unable to submit the form electronically, you may send a
paper copy to the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission, PO Box 47250, Olympia,
Washington 98504-7250.

If you wish to make your payment online, please use this link: Make a Payment Now (wa.gov).*

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the
Attorney General for collection.

DATED at Lacey, Washington, and effective July 25, 2023.
/sIRayne Pearson

RAYNE PEARSON
Director, Administrative Law Division

L https://www.utc.wa.gov/documents-and-proceedings/online-payments/make-payment-now.
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WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
PENALTY ASSESSMENT DG-230590 Investigation #8715

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document and send it to the Commission
within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false
statements under oath is a class B felony. | am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the
matters set forth below and | have personal knowledge of those matters. | hereby make, under
oath, the following statements:

1. Payment of penalty. | admit that the violation occurred:

Enclose $1,000 in payment of the penalty.

OR Attest that I have paid the penalty in full through the Commission’s payment
portal.

2. Accept conditions. | admit that the violation occurred and enclose $200 toward the
payment of the penalty. | also accept the Commission’s offer to suspend, and
ultimately waive, the remaining $800 penalty amount subject to the following
conditions:

o Company management must attend Dig Safe training provided through NUCA
within 90 days of service of this Penalty Assessment; and

o The Company must submit documentation of that attendance to the
Commission; and

o The Company must not commit any further violations of RCW 19.122 within
twelve (12) months of the date of this Notice.

3. Contest the violation. | believe that the alleged violation did not occur for the reasons
I describe below (if you do not include reasons supporting your contest here, your
request will be denied):

a) | ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information | provide above to
an administrative law judge for a decision.

OR b) 1 ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information | provide

above.

4. Request mitigation. | admit the violation, but I believe that the penalty should be
reduced for the reasons set out below (if you do not include reasons supporting your
application here, your request will be denied):

a) | ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information | provide above to
an administrative law judge for a decision.

OR b) 1 ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information | provide

above.
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I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing,
including information | have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.

Dated: [Month/Day/Year], at [City, State]

Name of Respondent (Company) — please print Signature of Applicant

RCW 9A.72.020 “Perjury in the first degree.”

(1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official proceeding he or she makes
a materially false statement which he or she knows to be false under an oath required or
authorized by law.

(2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime, and the
actor's mistaken belief that his or her statement was not material is not a defense to a
prosecution under this section.

(3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.
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