
  Service Date: August 3, 2023 

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE 

FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES 

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: TV-230584 

PENALTY AMOUNT: $11,100 

Zen Moving PLLP 

d/b/a 2 Pure Moving; Man With a Truck Moving 

15045 SE 45th Pl. 

Bellevue, WA 98006 

 

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes Zen Moving 

PLLP d/b/a 2 Pure Moving; Man With a Truck Moving (Zen Moving or Company) violated 

Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-15-555, Criminal Background Checks for 

Prospective Employees; WAC 480-15-560, Equipment Safety Requirements, which adopts Title 

49 Code of Federal Regulations (49 C.F.R.) Part 393 – Parts and Accessories Necessary for Safe 

Operations; Part 396 – Inspection, Repair and Maintenance; and WAC 480-15-570, Driver 

Safety Requirements, which adopts 49 C.F.R. Part 391 – Qualifications of Drivers and Part 395 – 

Hours of Service of Drivers. 

 

Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 81.04.405 allows penalties of $100 for each violation. In 

the case of an ongoing violation, every day’s continuance is considered a separate and distinct 

violation. 

On July 12, 2023, Commission Motor Carrier Investigator Tracy Cobile completed a routine 

safety investigation of Zen Moving and documented the following violations: 

• Thirteen violations of WAC 480-15-555(1) – Failing to complete a criminal 

background check for every person the carrier intends to hire. Zen Moving failed to 

conduct a criminal background check prior to hiring 13 employees. 

• Ninety-one violations of 49 C.F.R § 391.45(a) – Using a driver not medically 

examined and certified The Company allowed three drivers to operate a commercial 

motor vehicle (CMV) without a valid medical certificate on 91 occasions between 

December 17, 2022, and June 12, 2023. 

• Four violations of 49 C.F.R. § 391.51(a) – Failing to maintain driver qualification 

file on each driver employed. Zen Moving failed to maintain a driver qualification file 

for four employees. 

• One hundred-fifty violations of 49 C.F.R. § 395.8(a)(1) – Failing to require a driver 

to prepare a record of duty status using the appropriate method. The Company failed 

to require five drivers to complete a record of duty status on 150 occasions between May 

1 and June 2, 2023. 
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• One violation of 49 C.F.R. § 393.41 – No or defective parking brake system. One 

CMV was placed out-of-service because of a defective parking brake.1 

• Three violations of 49 C.F.R. § 396.3(a)(1) – Parts and accessories shall be in safe 

and proper operating condition at all times. Two CMVs were placed out-of-service. 

One CMV was placed out-of-service because the left side front tire contacted a brake 

hose.2 One CMV was placed out-of-service because 20 percent or more of the vehicle’s 

service brakes were defective and the vehicle failed the air loss rate test.3 

• Five violations of 49 C.F.R. § 396.17(a) – Using a CMV not periodically inspected. 

Zen Moving failed to annually inspect its CMVs. 

The Commission considered the following factors in determining the appropriate penalties for 

these violations: 

1. How serious or harmful the violations are to the public. The violations noted are 

serious and potentially harmful to the public. Household goods moving companies that: 

(1) fail to conduct criminal background checks on their employees, (2) use drivers not 

medically examined and certified, (3) fail to maintain driver qualification files, (4) fail to 

maintain records of duty status, (5) use CMVs that are in need of repairs, and (6) use 

CMVs not periodically inspected put their customers, their customers’ belongings, and 

the traveling public at risk. These violations present significant safety concerns. 

2. Whether the violations were intentional. Considerations include:  

• Whether the Company ignored Commission staff’s (Staff) previous technical 

assistance; and  

• Whether there is clear evidence through documentation or other means that shows 

the Company knew of and failed to correct the violation.   

 

On April 12, 2021, the Commission received the Company’s application for household 

goods moving authority. In the application, Evgeniia Puleva, owner of Zen Moving, 

acknowledged the Company’s responsibility to understand and comply with applicable 

motor carrier safety laws and regulations. 

 

On August 4, 2021, Evgeniia Puleva attended household goods training provided by Staff 

and acknowledged receiving training pertaining to motor carrier safety regulations. The 

Company knew or should have known about these requirements. 

 

3. Whether the Company self-reported the violations. Zen Moving did not self-report 

these violations. 

 
1 Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) 1FDXE4FS0BDB21635 
2 VIN 1HTMMMML4GH081715 
3 VIN 1FVACWDT68HZ52036 
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4. Whether the Company was cooperative and responsive. The Company was 

cooperative throughout the safety investigation. 

5. Whether the Company promptly corrected the violations and remedied the impacts. 

Zen Moving provided Staff with evidence that it corrected violations as they were 

identified during the investigation. 

6. The number of violations. Staff identified 20 violation types with a total of 298 

individual occurrences during the routine safety investigation of Zen Moving. Of those 

violations, Staff identified seven violation types with 267 individual occurrences that 

warrant penalties in accordance with the Commission’s Enforcement Policy.  

7. The number of customers affected. Zen Moving reported traveling 55,805 miles in 

2022. These safety violations presented a public safety risk. 

8. The likelihood of recurrence. The Company was cooperative throughout the safety 

investigation, made corrections, and was provided technical assistance with specific 

remedies to help the Company assess how well its safety management controls support 

safe operations and how to begin improving its safety performance. In light of these 

factors, Staff believes the likelihood of recurrence is low. 

9. The Company’s past performance regarding compliance, violations, and penalties.  

This is the Company’s first routine safety investigation. Zen Moving has no history of 

penalties for safety violations with the Commission. 

10. The Company’s existing compliance program. Anton Pulev and Evgeniia Puleva are 

responsible for the Company’s safety compliance program.  

11. The size of the Company. The Company employs eight drivers and operates 10 CMVs. 

The Company reported $1,381,241 in gross revenue for 2022. 

The Commission’s Enforcement Policy provides that some Commission requirements are so 

fundamental to safe operations that the Commission will issue mandatory penalties for each 

occurrence of a first-time violation.4 The Commission generally will assess penalties by violation 

category, rather than per occurrence, for first-time violations of those critical regulations that do 

not meet the requirements for mandatory penalties. The Commission will assess penalties for any 

equipment violation meeting the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration’s “out-of-service” 

criteria and for repeat violations of critical regulations, including each occurrence of a repeat 

violation. 

The Commission has considered these factors and determined that it should penalize Zen 

Moving $11,100 (Penalty Assessment), calculated as follows: 

 
4 Docket A-120061 – Enforcement Policy of the Washington Utilities & Transportation Commission – 

Section V. 
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• Thirteen violations of WAC 480-15-555(1) – Failing to complete a criminal background 

check for every person the carrier intends to hire. The Commission assesses a penalty of 

$100 for each occurrence of this critical violation, for a total of $1,300. 

• Ninety-one violations of 49 C.F.R. § 391.45(a) – Using a driver not medically examined 

and certified. The Commission assesses a penalty of $100 for each occurrence of this 

violation, for a total of $9,100. 

• Four violations of 49 C.F.R. § 391.51(a) – Failing to maintain driver qualification file on 

each driver employed. The Commission assesses a $100 “per category” penalty for these 

first-time critical violations. 

• One hundred-fifty violations of 49 C.F.R. § 395.8(a)(1) – Failing to require a driver to 

prepare a record of duty status using the appropriate method. The Commission assesses a 

$100 “per category” penalty for these first-time critical violations. 

• One violation of 49 C.F.R. § 393.41 – No or defective parking brake system. The 

Commission assesses a penalty of $100 for this out-of-service violation. 

• Three violations of 49 C.F.R. § 396.3(a)(1) – Parts and accessories shall be in safe and 

proper operating condition at all times. The Commission assesses a penalty of $100 for 

each occurrence of these out-of-service violations, for a total of $300. 

• Five violations of 49 C.F.R. § 396.17(a) – Using a CMV not periodically inspected. The 

Commission assesses a $100 “per category” penalty for these first-time critical violations. 

This information, if proven at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, is sufficient to support the 

Penalty Assessment. 

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe any or all the violations did not occur, you 

may deny committing the violation(s) and contest the penalty through evidence presented at a 

hearing or in writing. Alternatively, if there is a reason for any or all the violations that you 

believe should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of the 

penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a 

request for hearing only if material issues of law or fact require consideration of evidence and 

resolution in a hearing. Any request to contest the violation(s) or for mitigation of the penalty 

must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request. Failure to provide such a 

statement will result in denial of the request. See RCW 81.04.405. 

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the 

Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation(s) or application 

for mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The 

administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of their decision. 

 

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following: 
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• Pay the amount due. 

• Contest the occurrence of the violation(s). 

• Admit the violations but request mitigation of the penalty amount. 

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and submit it electronically through the 

Commission’s web portal at https://efiling.utc.wa.gov/Form within FIFTEEN (15) days after 

you receive this Penalty Assessment.5 If you are unable to use the web portal, you may submit it 

via email to records@utc.wa.gov. If you are unable to submit the form electronically, you may 

send a paper copy to the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission, PO Box 47250, 

Olympia, Washington 98504-7250. 

If you wish to make a payment online, please use this link: Make a Payment Now (wa.gov).6 

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may take additional enforcement action, 

including but not necessarily limited to suspending or revoking your certificate to provide 

regulated service, assessing additional penalties, or referring this matter to the Office of the 

Attorney General for collection.   

DATED at Lacey, Washington, and effective August 3, 2023. 

/s/Rayne Pearson 

RAYNE PEARSON 

Director, Administrative Law Division

 
5 https://efiling.utc.wa.gov/Form. 

6 https://www.utc.wa.gov/documents-and-proceedings/online-payments/make-payment-now 

https://efiling.utc.wa.gov/Form
https://gcc02.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.utc.wa.gov%2Fdocuments-and-proceedings%2Fonline-payments%2Fmake-payment-now&data=05%7C01%7Cstacey.brewster%40utc.wa.gov%7C184e666112fd4f0dd84b08db095f25a7%7C11d0e217264e400a8ba057dcc127d72d%7C0%7C0%7C638114076480296165%7CUnknown%7CTWFpbGZsb3d8eyJWIjoiMC4wLjAwMDAiLCJQIjoiV2luMzIiLCJBTiI6Ik1haWwiLCJXVCI6Mn0%3D%7C3000%7C%7C%7C&sdata=6NM7X7%2Fu9ypm9iMNyWquTWSLjAc1Uu4m1gvSFU9DkaA%3D&reserved=0
https://efiling.utc.wa.gov/Form
https://www.utc.wa.gov/documents-and-proceedings/online-payments/make-payment-now
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WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

PENALTY ASSESSMENT TV-230584 

 

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document and send it to the Commission 

within 15 days after you receive the Penalty Assessment. Use additional paper if needed. 

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false 

statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the 

matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under 

oath, the following statements. 

[   ]  1. Payment of penalty. I admit that the violations occurred. 

[  ] Enclose $11,100 in payment of the penalty. 

     OR [  ] Attest that I have paid the penalty in full through the Commission’s payment 

portal. 

[   ]  2. Contest the violation(s). I believe that the alleged violation(s) did not occur for the 

reasons I describe below (if you do not include reasons supporting your contest 

here, your request will be denied): 

 [   ]  a)    I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to 

an administrative law judge for a decision. 

     OR [   ]  b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide 

above. 

[   ]  3. Application for mitigation. I admit the violations, but I believe that the penalty should 

be reduced for the reasons set out below (if you do not include reasons supporting 

your application here, your request will be denied): 

[   ]  a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to 

an administrative law judge for a decision. 

     OR [   ]  b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide 

above. 

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing, 

including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct. 

Dated: __________________ [month/day/year], at ________________________ [city, state] 

 _____________________________________  ___________________________ 

Name of Respondent (company) – please print  Signature of Applicant 
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RCW 9A.72.020 “Perjury in the first degree.” 

 

(1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official proceeding he or she makes a 

materially false statement which he or she knows to be false under an oath required or 

authorized by law. 

(2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime, and the actor's 

mistaken belief that his or her statement was not material is not a defense to a prosecution 

under this section. 

(3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony. 
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