Service Date: April 11, 2023

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: TE-230223
PENALTY AMOUNT: $200

Puget Sound Tours, LLC
109 Dexter Ave. N, Apt. 202
Seattle, WA 98109

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes Puget Sound
Tours, LLC, (Puget Sound Tours or Company) violated Washington Administrative Code
(WAC) 480-30-221, Vehicle and Driver Safety Requirements, which adopts Title 49 Code of
Federal Regulations (49 C.F.R.) Part 395 — Hours of Service of Drivers and 49 C.F.R. Part 396 —
Inspection, Repair, and Maintenance.

Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 81.04.405 allows penalties of $100 for each violation. In
the case of an ongoing violation, every day’s continuance is considered a separate and distinct
violation.

On March 30, 2023, Commission Motor Carrier Investigator Sandra Yeomans completed a
routine safety investigation of Puget Sound Tours and documented the following violations:

e Thirty violations of 49 C.F.R. § 395.8(a)(1) — Failing to require driver to make a
record of duty status. The Company failed to maintain records of duty status for driver
Earl Alexander on 30 occasions between January 1 and January 30, 2023.

e One violation of 49 C.F.R. 8 396.17(a) — Using a commercial motor vehicle (CMV)
not periodically inspected in accordance with minimum standards. The Company
failed to have an annual inspection performed on its CMV.

The Commission considered the following factors in determining the appropriate penalties for
these violations:

1. How serious or harmful the violations are to the public. The violations noted are
serious and potentially harmful to the public. Passenger transportation companies that fail
to maintain records of duty status and use CMVs that have not been inspected put their
customers and the traveling public at risk. These violations present safety concerns.

2. Whether the violations were intentional. Considerations include:

e Whether the Company ignored Commission staff’s (Staff) previous technical
assistance; and

e Whether there is clear evidence through documentation or other means that shows
the Company knew of and failed to correct the violation.
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On June 3, 2015, the Commission received an application for charter and excursion
authority for Earl Alexander d/b/a Puget Sound Tours. In the application, Earl Alexander
acknowledged the Company’s responsibility to understand and comply with applicable
motor carrier safety rules.

On March 2, 2018, Staff completed a routine safety investigation of Earl Alexander d/b/a
Puget Sound Tours and identified a violation of 49 C.F.R. § 396.17(a). On July 16, 2020,
Staff completed a non-rated follow-up safety investigation of Earl Alexander d/b/a Puget
Sound Tours and identified a violation of 49 C.F.R. 8 396.17(a).

On July 16, 2021, the Commission received an application to reinstate the Company’s
charter and excursion authority and change its name from Earl Alexander d/b/a Puget
Sound Tours (Puget Sound Tours) to Puget Sound Tours, LLC. In the application, Earl
Alexander acknowledged the Company’s responsibility to understand and comply with
applicable motor carrier safety rules.

On September 7, 2021, Staff provided new entrant carrier safety regulation training to
Puget Sound Tours, where Earl Alexander certified receiving training pertaining to 49
C.F.R. 8395.8 and 49 C.F.R. § 396.17(a). The Company knew or should have known
about these requirements.

3. Whether the Company self-reported the violations. Puget Sound Tours did not self-
report these violations.

4. Whether the Company was cooperative and responsive. The Company was
cooperative throughout the safety investigation.

5. Whether the Company promptly corrected the violations and remedied the impacts.
Puget Sound Tours made corrections during the safety investigation.

6. The number of violations. Staff identified 14 violation types with a total of 43
individual occurrences during its routine safety investigation of Puget Sound Tours. Of
those violations, Staff identified two violation types with 31 individual occurrences that
warrant penalties in accordance with the Commission’s Enforcement Policy.

7. The number of customers affected. Puget Sound Tours reported traveling 4,948 miles
in 2022. These safety violations presented a public safety risk.

8. The likelihood of recurrence. Staff provided technical assistance with specific remedies
to help the Company assess how well its safety management controls support safe
operations and how to begin improving its safety performance. Staff believes the
likelihood of recurrence is low if the Company prioritizes safe operations.

9. The Company’s past performance regarding compliance, violations, and penalties.
On June 20, 2016, the Commission assessed a $1,000 penalty against Puget Sound Tours
for failing to file an annual report and pay regulatory fees in Docket TE-160673. On June



PENALTY ASSESSMENT TE-230223 PAGE 3

19, 2017, the Commission assessed a $1,000 penalty against Puget Sound Tours for
failing to file an annual report and pay regulatory fees in Docket TE-170597.

On April 4, 2018, the Commission assessed a $1,800 penalty against Puget Sound Tours
in Docket TE-180197 for safety violations of WAC 480-30-221. On April 20, the
Company applied for mitigation of the assessed penalty. On May 23, the Commission
entered Order 01, which denied the Company’s request for mitigation and suspended a
$1,000 portion of the penalty for a period of two years, and then waived it, subject to
conditions.

10. The Company’s existing compliance program. Earl Alexander is responsible for the
Company’s safety compliance program.

11. The size of the Company. Puget Sound Tours employs one driver and operates one
CMV. The Company reported $132,719 in gross revenue for 2022.

The Commission’s Enforcement Policy provides that some Commission requirements are so
fundamental to safe operations that the Commission will issue mandatory penalties for each
occurrence of a first-time violation.! The Commission generally will assess penalties by violation
category, rather than per occurrence, for first-time violations of those critical regulations that do
not meet the requirements for mandatory penalties. The Commission will assess penalties for any
equipment violation meeting the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration’s “out-0f-service”
criteria and for repeat violations of critical regulations, including each occurrence of a repeat
violation.

The Commission has considered these factors and determined that it should penalize Puget
Sound Tours $200 (Penalty Assessment), calculated as follows:

e Thirty violations of 49 C.F.R. § 395.8(a)(1) — Failing to require driver to make a record
of duty status. The Commission assesses a “per category” penalty of $100 for these
critical violations.

e One violation of 49 C.F.R. 8 396.17(a) — Using a CMV not periodically inspected in
accordance with minimum standards. The Commission assesses a penalty of $100 for this
violation.

This information, if proven at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, is sufficient to support the
Penalty Assessment.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe any or all the violations did not occur, you
may deny committing the violation(s) and contest the penalty through evidence presented at a
hearing or in writing. Alternatively, if there is a reason for any or all the violations that you
believe should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of the

! Docket A-120061 — Enforcement Policy of the Washington Utilities & Transportation Commission —
Section V.
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penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a
request for hearing only if material issues of law or fact require consideration of evidence and
resolution in a hearing. Any request to contest the violation(s) or for mitigation of the penalty
must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request. Failure to provide such a
statement will result in denial of the request. See RCW 81.04.405.

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the
Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation(s) or application
for mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The
administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of their decision.

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:

e Pay the amount due.
e Contest the occurrence of the violation(s).
e Admit the violations but request mitigation of the penalty amount.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and submit it electronically through the
Commission’s web portal at https://efiling.utc.wa.gov/Form within FIFTEEN (15) days after
you receive this Penalty Assessment.? If you are unable to use the web portal, you may submit it
via email to records@utc.wa.gov. If you are unable to submit the form electronically, you may
send a paper copy to the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission, PO Box 47250,
Olympia, Washington 98504-7250.

If you wish to make a payment online, please use this link: Make a Payment Now (wa.gov).

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may take additional enforcement action,
including but not necessarily limited to suspending or revoking your certificate to provide
regulated service, assessing additional penalties, or referring this matter to the Office of the
Attorney General for collection.

DATED at Lacey, Washington, and effective April 11, 2023.

/sl Rayne Pearson
RAYNE PEARSON
Director, Administrative Law Division

2 https://efiling.utc.wa.gov/Form.

3 https://www.utc.wa.gov/documents-and-proceedings/online-payments/make-payment-now



https://efiling.utc.wa.gov/Form
https://gcc02.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.utc.wa.gov%2Fdocuments-and-proceedings%2Fonline-payments%2Fmake-payment-now&data=05%7C01%7Cstacey.brewster%40utc.wa.gov%7C184e666112fd4f0dd84b08db095f25a7%7C11d0e217264e400a8ba057dcc127d72d%7C0%7C0%7C638114076480296165%7CUnknown%7CTWFpbGZsb3d8eyJWIjoiMC4wLjAwMDAiLCJQIjoiV2luMzIiLCJBTiI6Ik1haWwiLCJXVCI6Mn0%3D%7C3000%7C%7C%7C&sdata=6NM7X7%2Fu9ypm9iMNyWquTWSLjAc1Uu4m1gvSFU9DkaA%3D&reserved=0
https://efiling.utc.wa.gov/Form
https://www.utc.wa.gov/documents-and-proceedings/online-payments/make-payment-now

PENALTY ASSESSMENT TE-230223 PAGE 5

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
PENALTY ASSESSMENT TE-230223

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document and send it to the Commission
within 15 days after you receive the Penalty Assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false
statements under oath is a class B felony. | am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the
matters set forth below and | have personal knowledge of those matters. | hereby make, under
oath, the following statements.

1. Payment of penalty. | admit that the violations occurred.

Enclose $200 in payment of the penalty.

OR Attest that I have paid the penalty in full through the Commission’s payment
portal.

2. Contest the violation(s). I believe that the alleged violation(s) did not occur for the
reasons | describe below (if you do not include reasons supporting your contest
here, your request will be denied):

a) | ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to
an administrative law judge for a decision.

OR b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information | provide
above.

3. Application for mitigation. | admit the violations, but I believe that the penalty should
be reduced for the reasons set out below (if you do not include reasons supporting
your application here, your request will be denied):

a) | ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information | provide above to
an administrative law judge for a decision.

OR b) 1 ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information | provide
above.

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing,
including information | have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.

Dated: [month/day/year], at [city, state]

Name of Respondent (company) — please print Signature of Applicant
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RCW 9A.72.020 “Perjury in the first degree.”

(1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official proceeding he or she makes a
materially false statement which he or she knows to be false under an oath required or
authorized by law.

(2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime, and the actor's
mistaken belief that his or her statement was not material is not a defense to a prosecution
under this section.

(3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.
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