
  Service Date: April 11, 2023 

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE 

FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES 

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: TE-230205 

PENALTY AMOUNT: $100 

Creative Bus, LLC 

PO Box 4053 

Renton, WA 98057 

 

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes Creative Bus, 

LLC, (Creative Bus or Company) violated Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-30-

221, Vehicle and Driver Safety Requirements, which adopts Title 49 Code of Federal 

Regulations (49 C.F.R.) Part 391 – Qualification of Drivers.  

 

Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 81.04.405 allows penalties of $100 for each violation. In 

the case of an ongoing violation, every day’s continuance is considered a separate and distinct 

violation. 

On March 28, 2023, Commission Motor Carrier Investigator Francine Gagne completed a 

follow-up safety investigation of Creative Bus and documented the following violation: 

• One violation of 49 C.F.R. § 391.51(b)(2) – Failing to maintain inquiries into 

driver’s driving record in driver’s qualification file. The Company failed to maintain 

the initial driving record for Tirus Gitao. 

The Commission considered the following factors in determining the appropriate penalties for 

this violation: 

1. How serious or harmful the violation is to the public. The violation noted is serious 

and potentially harmful to the public. Passenger transportation companies that fail to 

maintain inquiries into drivers’ driving records put their customers and the traveling 

public at risk. This violation presents a serious safety concern. 

2. Whether the violation was intentional. Considerations include:  

• Whether the Company ignored Commission staff’s (Staff) previous technical 

assistance; and  

• Whether there is clear evidence through documentation or other means that shows 

the Company knew of and failed to correct the violation.   

On July 7, 2006, the Commission received an application for charter and excursion 

authority for Michael Vontrell Langdon d/b/a Creative Bus. In the application, Michael 

Langdon acknowledged the Company’s responsibility to understand and comply with 

applicable motor carrier safety rules. 
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On July 19, 2010, the Commission received an application to change the name from 

Michael Vontrell Langdon d/b/a Creative Bus (Creative Bus) to Creative Bus, LLC. In 

the application, Michael Langdon, owner of Creative Bus, acknowledged the Company’s 

responsibility to understand and comply with applicable motor carrier safety rules. 

 

On March 5, 2021, the Commission received an application to reinstate the Company’s 

charter and excursion authority. In the application, Ranjana Langdon, part owner of 

Creative Bus, acknowledged the Company’s responsibility to understand and comply 

with applicable motor carrier safety rules. 

 

On April 13, 2022, Staff completed a routine safety investigation of Creative Bus and 

documented one violation of 49 C.F.R. § 391.51(b)(2). The Company knew or should 

have known about this requirement. 

 

3. Whether the Company self-reported the violation. Creative Bus did not self-report this 

violation. 

4. Whether the Company was cooperative and responsive. The Company was 

cooperative throughout the safety investigation. 

5. Whether the Company promptly corrected the violation and remedied the impacts. 

Creative Bus has not provided Staff with evidence that it corrected the violation. 

6. The number of violations. Staff identified 14 violation types with a total of 19 

individual occurrences during the follow-up safety investigation of Creative Bus. Of 

those violations, Staff identified one violation type with one individual occurrence that 

warrants a penalty in accordance with the Commission’s Enforcement Policy.  

7. The number of customers affected. Creative Bus reported traveling 8,000 miles in 

2022. This violation presented a public safety risk. 

8. The likelihood of recurrence. The Company incurred a repeat violation despite prior 

technical assistance. Absent a commitment to prioritize safe operations, the violation is 

likely to reoccur. 

9. The Company’s past performance regarding compliance, violations, and penalties.  

On March 6, 2008, the Commission assessed a $100 penalty against Creative Bus for 

failing to file an annual report and pay regulatory fees in Docket TE-080348. 

On February 20, 2009, the Commission assessed a $200 penalty against the Company for 

failing to file an annual report and pay regulatory fees in Docket TE-090226. 

On June 19, 2017, the Commission assessed a $1,000 penalty against Creative Bus for 

failing to file an annual report and pay regulatory fees in Docket TE-170610.  
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On February 4, 2021, the Company’s charter and excursion certificate was canceled for 

failing to file acceptable proof of insurance in Docket TE-210076. 

On May 6, 2022, the Commission assessed a $3,400 penalty against Creative Bus in 

Docket TE-220268 for safety violations of WAC 480-30-221. On May 11, the Company 

applied for mitigation of the assessed penalty. On June 7, the Commission entered Order 

01, which granted mitigation in part to $2,500 and suspended a $1,250 portion of the 

reduced penalty for a period of two years before being waived, subject to conditions. 

10. The Company’s existing compliance program. Michael Langdon and Ranjana 

Langdon are responsible for the Company’s safety compliance program.  

11. The size of the Company. The Company employs six drivers and operates eight motor 

vehicles. The Company reported $300,000 in gross revenue in 2022. 

The Commission’s Enforcement Policy provides that some Commission requirements are so 

fundamental to safe operations that the Commission will issue mandatory penalties for each 

occurrence of a first-time violation.1 The Commission generally will assess penalties by violation 

category, rather than per occurrence, for first-time violations of those critical regulations that do 

not meet the requirements for mandatory penalties. The Commission will assess penalties for any 

equipment violation meeting the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration’s “out-of-service” 

criteria and also for repeat violations of critical regulations, including each occurrence of a repeat 

violation. 

The Commission has considered these factors and determined that it should penalize Creative 

Bus $100 (Penalty Assessment), calculated as follows: 

• One violation of 49 C.F.R. § 391.51(b)(2) – Failing to maintain inquiries into driver’s 

driving record in driver’s qualification file. The Commission assesses a penalty of $100 

for this violation. 

This information, if proven at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, is sufficient to support the 

Penalty Assessment. 

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violation did not occur, you may deny 

committing the violation and contest the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in 

writing. Alternatively, if there is a reason for the violation that you believe should excuse you 

from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of the penalty through evidence 

presented at a hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for hearing only if 

material issues of law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. Any 

request to contest the violation or for mitigation of the penalty must include a written statement 

 
1 Docket A-120061 – Enforcement Policy of the Washington Utilities & Transportation Commission – 

Section V. 
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of the reasons supporting that request. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of 

the request. See RCW 81.04.405. 

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the 

Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation or application for 

mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The 

administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of their decision. 

 

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following: 

• Pay the amount due. 

• Contest the occurrence of the violation. 

• Admit the violation but request mitigation of the penalty amount. 

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and submit it electronically through the 

Commission’s web portal at https://efiling.utc.wa.gov/Form within FIFTEEN (15) days after 

you receive this Penalty Assessment.2 If you are unable to use the web portal, you may submit it 

via email to records@utc.wa.gov. If you are unable to submit the form electronically, you may 

send a paper copy to the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission, PO Box 47250, 

Olympia, Washington 98504-7250. 

If you wish to make a payment online, please use this link: Make a Payment Now (wa.gov).3 

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may take additional enforcement action, 

including but not necessarily limited to suspending or revoking your certificate to provide 

regulated service, assessing additional penalties, or referring this matter to the Office of the 

Attorney General for collection.   

DATED at Lacey, Washington, and effective April 11, 2023. 

/s/Rayne Pearson 

RAYNE PEARSON 

Director, Administrative Law Division

 
2 https://efiling.utc.wa.gov/Form. 

3 https://www.utc.wa.gov/documents-and-proceedings/online-payments/make-payment-now 

https://efiling.utc.wa.gov/Form
https://gcc02.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.utc.wa.gov%2Fdocuments-and-proceedings%2Fonline-payments%2Fmake-payment-now&data=05%7C01%7Cstacey.brewster%40utc.wa.gov%7C184e666112fd4f0dd84b08db095f25a7%7C11d0e217264e400a8ba057dcc127d72d%7C0%7C0%7C638114076480296165%7CUnknown%7CTWFpbGZsb3d8eyJWIjoiMC4wLjAwMDAiLCJQIjoiV2luMzIiLCJBTiI6Ik1haWwiLCJXVCI6Mn0%3D%7C3000%7C%7C%7C&sdata=6NM7X7%2Fu9ypm9iMNyWquTWSLjAc1Uu4m1gvSFU9DkaA%3D&reserved=0
https://efiling.utc.wa.gov/Form
https://www.utc.wa.gov/documents-and-proceedings/online-payments/make-payment-now
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WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

PENALTY ASSESSMENT TE-230205 

 

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document and send it to the Commission 

within 15 days after you receive the Penalty Assessment. Use additional paper if needed. 

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false 

statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the 

matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under 

oath, the following statements. 

[   ]  1. Payment of penalty. I admit that the violation occurred. 

[  ] Enclose $100 in payment of the penalty. 

     OR [  ] Attest that I have paid the penalty in full through the Commission’s payment 

portal. 

[   ]  2. Contest the violation(s). I believe that the alleged violation(s) did not occur for the 

reasons I describe below (if you do not include reasons supporting your contest 

here, your request will be denied): 

 [   ]  a)    I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to 

an administrative law judge for a decision. 

     OR [   ]  b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide 

above. 

[   ]  3. Application for mitigation. I admit the violation, but I believe that the penalty should 

be reduced for the reasons set out below (if you do not include reasons supporting 

your application here, your request will be denied): 

[   ]  a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to 

an administrative law judge for a decision. 

     OR [   ]  b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide 

above. 

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing, 

including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct. 

Dated: __________________ [month/day/year], at ________________________ [city, state] 

 _____________________________________  ___________________________ 

Name of Respondent (company) – please print  Signature of Applicant 
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RCW 9A.72.020 “Perjury in the first degree.” 

 

(1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official proceeding he or she makes a 

materially false statement which he or she knows to be false under an oath required or 

authorized by law. 

(2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime, and the actor's 

mistaken belief that his or her statement was not material is not a defense to a prosecution 

under this section. 

(3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony. 
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