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Dear Ms Maxwell,

The Washington Movers Conference (WMC) would like to Petition the Washington Utilities and
Transportation Commission (UTC) for a change to the current Intrastate HHG Tariff No. 15-C to
allow for the collection of the Credit Card Processing Fee assessed by Credit Card providers when
the consumer elects to pay for their intrastate HHG relocation by credit card.

Credit Card providers assess a Processing Fee of between 2.5% and 4% depending on the credit
card provider. These processing fees are commonly assessed to all business allowing the use of a
credit card for payment of goods or services.

The WMC proposes a standard minimum fee of 2.5% of the total HHG charges assessed on the
Intrastate HHG Uniform Bill of Lading whenever a credit card is used for payment of the intrastate
HHG relocation charges. This standard is the same credit card processing fee assessed by
Washington State agencies, including the UTC, when billing their customers and the customer elects
to pay their fees with a credit card. Note: Payment by check or ACH, there is no fee! So use of
the Credit Card would be a consumer choice.

Credit card processing fees assessed to intrastate HHG carriers, when consumers choose to use
a credit card allowed by the carrier, can add a hefty monetary penalty to the HHG carrier on an
annual basis. And these charges are not currently allowed to be collected by the Intrastate HHG
Tariff No. 15-C. Examples include —

Total Relocation Charge Times 2.5 % Equals Times 50 Shipments Eguals
$1,000.00 $25.00 $1,250.00
$2,500.00 $62.50 $3,125.00
$5,000.00 $125.00 $6,250.00
$8,000.00 $200.00 $10,000.00

When you multiply these assessments times just a 50 shipments professionally handled by regulated
intrastate HHG carriers and the consumer chooses to use their credit card to pay the HHG carriers
relocation fees, the credit card processing fees add up considerably. Most intrastate HHG carriers
regulated by the UTC handle many more shipments than just 50 annually!
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To assist the UTC Staff in this time of shortage of personnel, | propose the following language shown
in italics be added to UTC HHG Tariff No. 15-C in ITEM 80,— PAYMENT OF CHARGES, Paragraph
1 -

1. In advance of the move, the carrier must specify the method of payment on the estimate
and any terms or conditions that apply to the method of payment, such as interest rates
charged for credit plans or credit card processing fees not to exceed 2.5% of the total
applicable charges shown on the Estimated Costs for Services when the customer elects to
pay with a credit card. Once specified, the carrier may not require a different payment
method. Carriers may accept or require prepayment in part or in full, cash, personal check,
cashier’'s check or money order, credit card, debit card, electronic fund transfers or its own
credit plan.

It would be only fair and equal treatment to allow Intrastate Regulated HHG Carriers the ability to
legally collect these credit card processing fees to lessen the carrier's financial burden. This
allowance would be similar to ITEM 190 — OVERTIME, which charges are assessed only at the
request of the consumer.

Thank you for your consideration.

Sincerely,
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James R. Tutton, Jr.
Executive Director
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Greg Hammond, UTC

Bridgit Feeser, UTC

Mike Young, UTC

Anna Gill, UTC

Office of Records Management, UTC



