Service Date: January 24, 2023

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: DG-220903

PENALTY AMOUNT: \$5,000 Investigation #8660

UBI: 601-972-418

SERVICE VIA EMAIL

Gigrich Sales and Service Inc. d/b/a Tanks by Dallas 17552 Ballinger Way NE Lake Forest Park, WA 98155 Tanksbydallas@tanksbydallas.net

YOU MUST RESPOND WITHIN 15 DAYS OF THIS NOTICE – see page 4

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that Gigrich Sales and Service Inc. d/b/a Tanks by Dallas (Tanks by Dallas or Company) has violated Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 19.122.055(1)(a) by failing to contact the One-Call locate center two business days before beginning excavation. RCW 19.122.055(1)(a) states, in part, that excavators who fail to notify a one-number locator service and cause damage to an underground gas facility are subject to a civil penalty of not more than \$10,000 for each violation.

The Commission reviewed findings and recommendations made by Commission staff (Staff) and hereby notifies you that it is assessing a \$5,000 penalty (Penalty Assessment) against you on the following grounds:

On July 13, 2022, Tanks by Dallas was excavating at 727 N. 193rd St., Shoreline, Washington. While excavating, the Company struck an underground Puget Sound Energy (PSE) natural gas facility. The Damage Information Reporting Tool report submitted by PSE on August 24, 2022, indicated that the Company was excavating without a valid locate ticket.

Staff conducted an investigation that included reviewing damage reports, investigation reports, a review of the One-Call center database, and attempted communications with the Company. The documents reviewed identified a natural gas event that involved Tanks by Dallas damaging a natural gas facility while excavating without a valid locate ticket. Before this incident, the Commission issued one warning letter and three Penalty Notices to the Company for excavating without a valid locate ticket.

Staff recommends the Commission assess a \$5,000 penalty for one violation of RCW 19.122.055(1)(a).

The Commission agrees with Staff's recommendation for a Penalty Assessment and assesses a \$5,000 penalty.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violation did not occur, you may deny committing the violation and contest the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. Or, if there is a reason for the violation that you believe should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for a hearing only if material issues of law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. Any request to contest the violation or for mitigation of the penalty must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. See RCW 81.04.405.

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation or application for mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of their decision.

<u>You must act within 15 days after receiving this Penalty Assessment</u> to do one of the following:

- Pay the \$5,000 penalty amount due; or
- Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violations; or
- Request mitigation to reduce the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and submit it electronically through the Commission's web portal at https://efiling.utc.wa.gov/Form within FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this Penalty Assessment. If you are unable to use the web portal, you may submit it via email to records@utc.wa.gov. If you are unable to submit the form electronically, you may send a paper copy to the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission, PO Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250.

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the Attorney General for collection. The Commission may then sue you to collect the penalty.

DATED at Lacey, Washington, and effective January 24, 2023.

/s/Rayne Pearson RAYNE PEARSON Director, Administrative Law Division

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

PENALTY ASSESSMENT DG-220903 Investigation #8660

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document and send it to the Commission within 15 days after you receive the Penalty Assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under oath, the following statements:

[] 1.	Payment of penalty. I admit that the violation occurred and enclose \$5,000 in payment of the penalty.		
[] 2.	Contest the violation. I believe that the alleged violation did not occur for the reasons I describe below (if you do not include reasons supporting your contest here, your request will be denied):		
	[] a)	I ask for a hearing to present evidence administrative law judge for a decisi	te on the information I provide above to an
OR	[] b)		ed solely on the information I provided above
[] 3.	Request mitigation. I admit the violation, but I believe that the penalty should be for the reasons set out below (if you do not include reasons supporting your apphere, your request will be denied):		
	-	administrative law judge for a decisi I ask for a Commission decision base	ed solely on the information I provided above State of Washington that the foregoing,
Dated: _		[Month/Day/Year], at	[City, State]
Name o	f Compar	ny (Company) – please print	Signature of Applicant
RCW 9	A.72.020	"Perjury in the first degree."	

- (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official proceeding he or she makes a materially false statement which he or she knows to be false under an oath required or authorized by law.
- (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime, and the actor's mistaken belief that his or her statement was not material is not a defense to a prosecution under this section.
- (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.