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WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE 

FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES 

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: TG-220849 

PENALTY AMOUNT: $200 

Peninsula Sanitation Service, Inc. 

P.O. Box A 

Ilwaco, WA 98624 

 

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes Peninsula 

Sanitation Service, Inc., (Peninsula Sanitation or Company) violated Washington Administrative 

Code (WAC) 480-70-201, Vehicle and Driver Safety Requirements, which adopts Title 49 Code 

of Federal Regulations (49 C.F.R.) Part 391 – Qualification of Drivers. 

 

Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 81.04.405 allows penalties of $100 for each violation. In 

the case of an ongoing violation, every day’s continuance is considered a separate and distinct 

violation. 

On November 9, 2022, Commission Motor Carrier Investigator Francine Gagne completed a 

follow-up safety investigation of Peninsula Sanitation and documented the following violations: 

• Four violations of 49 C.F.R. § 391.23(m)(2)(i)(a) – Using the Commercial Driver’s 

License Information System (CDLIS) motor vehicle record obtained from the 

current licensing state, the motor carrier failed to verify and document in the driver 

qualification file the type of operation the driver self-certified that they will perform 

in accordance with 49 C.F.R. § 383.71(b)(1) and 49 C.F.R. § 383.71(g). Peninsula 

Sanitation failed to verify and document the type of operation the driver will perform in 

the driver qualification files of Joseph Deese, Pam Hall, Robert Jetland, and Zach 

Woolcock.  

• Four violations of 49 C.F.R. § 391.51(b)(9) – Failing to place a note related to the 

verification of the medical examiner’s listing on the National Registry of Certified 

Medical Examiners required by 49 C.F.R. § 391.23(m) in driver qualification file(s). 

Peninsula Sanitation failed to verify the medical examiners listed on the medical 

certificates of drivers Joseph Deese, Pam Hall, Robert Jetland, and Zach Woolcock with 

the national registry. 

The Commission considered the following factors in determining the appropriate penalties for 

these violations: 

1. How serious or harmful the violations are to the public. The violations noted are 

potentially harmful to the public. Solid waste collection companies that fail to document 

and verify driver operations and fail to verify medical examiner’s certificates with the 

national registry potentially put the traveling public at risk. 
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2. Whether the violations were intentional. Considerations include: 

• Whether the Company ignored Commission staff’s (Staff) previous technical 

assistance; and 

• Whether there is clear evidence through documentation or other means that shows 

the Company knew of and failed to correct the violation. 

 

On August 20, 2020, Staff completed a routine safety investigation of Peninsula 

Sanitation and documented violations of 49 C.F.R. § 391.23(m)(2)(i)(a) and 49 C.F.R. § 

391.51(b)(9). On August 31, 2020, the Company notified Staff that it had corrected the 

violations. The Company knew or should have known about these requirements. 

 

3. Whether the Company self-reported the violations. Peninsula Sanitation did not self-

report these violations. 

4. Whether the Company was cooperative and responsive. The Company was 

cooperative and responsive throughout the safety investigation. 

5. Whether the Company promptly corrected the violations and remedied the impacts. 

Peninsula Sanitation has not provided Staff with evidence that it corrected the violations. 

6. The number of violations. Staff identified five violation types with a total of 12 

individual occurrences during the follow-up safety investigation of Peninsula Sanitation. 

Of those violations, Staff identified two violation types with a total of eight individual 

occurrences that warrant penalties in accordance with the Commission’s Enforcement 

Policy. 

7. The number of customers affected. Peninsula Sanitation reported traveling 315,170 

miles in 2021. These safety violations presented a potential public safety risk. 

8. The likelihood of recurrence. Peninsula Sanitation committed repeat violations despite 

prior technical assistance. Absent a commitment to prioritize safe operations, the 

violations of 49 C.F.R. § 391.23(m)(2)(i)(a) and 49 C.F.R. § 391.51(b)(9) are likely to 

reoccur. 

9. The Company’s past performance regarding compliance, violations, and penalties. 

On December 10, 2019, Peninsula Sanitation was penalized $34,700 in Docket TG-

190476 for violations related to its business practices. The Commission suspended a 

$29,700 portion of the penalty for two years, subject to conditions. The Company paid 

the $5,000 non-suspended portion of the penalty in full. 

On September 2, 2020, Peninsula Sanitation was penalized $20,800 in Docket TG-

200756 for safety violations of WAC 480-70-201. On October 9, 2020, the Commission 

reduced the penalty to $10,400 and suspended a $5,200 portion of the penalty for a period 

of two years, subject to conditions. The Company paid the $5,200 non-suspended portion 

of the penalty in full. 
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10. The Company’s existing compliance program. Joseph Deese, Site Manager for 

Peninsula Sanitation, is responsible for the Company’s safety compliance program. 

11. The size of the Company. Peninsula Sanitation operates 12 commercial motor vehicles, 

two trailers, and employs 13 drivers. The Company reported $3,840,738 in gross revenue 

for 2021. 

The Commission’s Enforcement Policy provides that some Commission requirements are so 

fundamental to safe operations that the Commission will issue mandatory penalties for each 

occurrence of a first-time violation.1 The Commission generally will assess penalties by violation 

category, rather than per occurrence, for first-time violations of those critical regulations that do 

not meet the requirements for mandatory penalties. The Commission will assess penalties for any 

equipment violation meeting the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration’s “out-of-service” 

criteria and for repeat violations of critical regulations, including each occurrence of a repeat 

violation. 

The Commission has considered these factors and determined that it should penalize Peninsula 

Sanitation $200 (Penalty Assessment), calculated as follows: 

• Four violations of 49 C.F.R. § 391.23(m)(2)(i)(a) – Using the CDLIS motor vehicle 

record obtained from the current licensing state, the motor carrier failed to verify and 

document in the driver qualification file the type of operation the driver self-certified that 

they will perform in accordance with 49 C.F.R. § 383.71(b)(1) and 49 C.F.R. § 

383.71(g). The Commission assesses a “per category” penalty of $100 for these repeat 

violations. 

• Four violations of 49 C.F.R. § 391.51(b)(9) – Failing to place a note related to the 

verification of the medical examiner’s listing on the National Registry of Certified 

Medical Examiners required by 49 C.F.R. § 391.23(m) in driver qualification file(s). The 

Commission assesses a “per category” penalty of $100 for these repeat violations. 

This information, if proven at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, is sufficient to support the 

Penalty Assessment. 

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe any or all the violations did not occur, you 

may deny committing the violation(s) and contest the penalty through evidence presented at a 

hearing or in writing. Alternatively, if there is a reason for any or all the violations that you 

believe should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of the 

penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a 

request for hearing only if material issues of law or fact require consideration of evidence and 

resolution in a hearing. Any request to contest the violation(s) or for mitigation of the penalty 

 
1 Docket A-120061 – Enforcement Policy of the Washington Utilities & Transportation Commission – 

Section V. 
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must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request. Failure to provide such a 

statement will result in denial of the request. See RCW 81.04.405. 

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the 

Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation(s) or application 

for mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The 

administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of their decision. 

 

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following: 

• Pay the amount due. 

• Contest the occurrence of the violation(s). 

• Admit the violations but request mitigation of the penalty amount. 

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and submit it electronically through the 

Commission’s web portal within FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this Penalty 

Assessment. If you are unable to use the web portal, you may submit it via email to 

records@utc.wa.gov. If you are unable to submit the form electronically, you may send a paper 

copy to the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission, PO Box 47250, Olympia, 

Washington 98504-7250. 

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may take additional enforcement action, 

including but not necessarily limited to suspending or revoking your certificate to provide 

regulated service, assessing additional penalties, or referring this matter to the Office of the 

Attorney General for collection. 

DATED at Lacey, Washington, and effective November 23, 2022. 

/s/Rayne Pearson 

RAYNE PEARSON 

Director, Administrative Law Division

https://www.utc.wa.gov/documents-and-proceedings/electronic-filing
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WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

PENALTY ASSESSMENT TG-220849 

 

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document and send it to the Commission 

within 15 days after you receive the Penalty Assessment. Use additional paper if needed. 

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false 

statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the 

matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under 

oath, the following statements. 

[   ]  1. Payment of penalty. I admit that the violations occurred and enclose $200 in payment 

of the penalty. 

[   ]  2. Contest the violation(s). I believe that the alleged violation(s) did not occur for the 

reasons I describe below (if you do not include reasons supporting your contest 

here, your request will be denied): 

 [   ]  a)    I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to 

an administrative law judge for a decision. 

     OR [   ]  b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide 

above. 

[   ]  3. Application for mitigation. I admit the violations, but I believe that the penalty should 

be reduced for the reasons set out below (if you do not include reasons supporting 

your application here, your request will be denied): 

[   ]  a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to 

an administrative law judge for a decision. 

     OR [   ]  b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide 

above. 

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing, 

including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct. 

Dated: __________________ [month/day/year], at ________________________ [city, state] 

 _____________________________________  ___________________________ 

Name of Respondent (company) – please print  Signature of Applicant 
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RCW 9A.72.020 “Perjury in the first degree.” 

 

(1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official proceeding he or she makes a 

materially false statement which he or she knows to be false under an oath required or 

authorized by law. 

(2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime, and the actor's 

mistaken belief that his or her statement was not material is not a defense to a prosecution 

under this section. 

(3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony. 
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