Service Date: November 4, 2022

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: DG-220688
PENALTY AMOUNT: $1,000
SERVICE VIA EMAIL Investigation #8557
UBI: 604-370-781
Trident Construction Solutions Corp
3101 S. Walden St
Seattle WA 98144
Tridentconstruction@mail.com

YOU MUST RESPOND WITHIN 15 DAYS OF THIS NOTICE — see page 4

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that Trident
Construction Solutions Corp (Trident Construction or Company) has violated the Revised Code of
Washington (RCW) 19.122.055(1)(a) by failing to contact the One-Call locate center two business
days before beginning excavation. RCW 19.122.055(1)(a) states, in part, that excavators who fail
to notify a one-number locator service and cause damage to an underground gas facility are subject
to a civil penalty of not more than $10,000 for each violation.

The Commission reviewed findings and recommendations made by Commission staff (Staff) and
hereby notifies you that it is assessing a $1,000 penalty (Penalty Assessment) against you on the
following grounds:

On June 27, 2022, Trident Construction was excavating at 1784 Alki Ave SW, Seattle,
Washington. While excavating, the Company struck an underground Puget Sound Energy
(PSE) gas facility. The Damage Information Reporting Tool report submitted by PSE on
August 9, 2022, indicated that the Company was excavating without a valid locate ticket.

Commission staff conducted an investigation that included reviewing damage reports,
investigation reports, a review of the One-Call center database, and communications with
the Company. The documents reviewed identified a natural gas event that involved Trident
Construction damaging a natural gas facility while excavating without a valid locate ticket.
Before this incident, the Commission issued one warning letter to Trident Construction for
excavation without a valid locate ticket.

Staff recommends the Commission assess a $1,000 penalty for one violation of RCW
19.122.055(1)(a) with an offer to suspend an $800 portion of the penalty for one year, and
then waive it, subject to the conditions that: (1) Company supervisors and field crew
responsible for excavation complete Dig Safe Training provided through the National
Utility Contractors Association (NUCA) within 90 days of this Penalty Assessment; (2) the
Company must not commit any further violations of RCW 19.122 within 12 months of the
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date of this Penalty Assessment and (3) the Company must pay the $200 portion of the
penalty that is not suspended within 15 days of the Penalty Assessment.

The Commission agrees with Staff’s recommendation for a Penalty Assessment and assesses a
$1,000 penalty, with the offer to suspend an $800 portion of the penalty subject to the conditions
described above. These facts, if not contested or if proved at a hearing and not rebutted or
explained, are sufficient to support the Penalty Assessment.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violation did not occur, you may deny
committing the violation and contest the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in
writing. Or, if there is a reason for the violation that you believe should excuse you from the
penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of the penalty through evidence presented at a
hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for a hearing only if material issues of
law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. Any request to contest
the violation or for mitigation of the penalty must include a written statement of the reasons
supporting that request. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. See
RCW 81.04.405.

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the
Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation or application for
mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The
administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of their decision.

You must act within 15 days after receiving this Penalty Assessment to do one of the
following:

e Pay the $1,000 penalty amount due; or
e Pay $200 and notify the Commission that you accept the offer to suspend an $800 portion
of the penalty amount subject to the following conditions:

o Trident Construction management and the field crew responsible for
excavation must complete NUCA Dig Safe Training (https://utc-
9183.quickbase.com/db/bpktévndh) within 90 days of service of this Penalty
Assessment; and

o The Company must submit documentation of that attendance to the
Commission within 5 days of attending training; and

o Trident Construction must not incur any additional violations of RCW 19.122
within 12 months of the date of this Penalty Assessment; or

e Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violations; or
e Request mitigation to reduce the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and submit it electronically through the
Commission’s web portal within FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this Penalty Assessment.
If you are unable to use the web portal, you may submit it via email to records@utc.wa.gov. If you
are unable to submit the form electronically, you may send a paper copy to the Washington
Utilities and Transportation Commission, PO Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250.

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the
Attorney General for collection. The Commission may then sue you to collect the penalty.


https://utc-9183.quickbase.com/db/bpkt6vndh
https://utc-9183.quickbase.com/db/bpkt6vndh
https://www.utc.wa.gov/documents-and-proceedings/electronic-filing
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DATED at Lacey, Washington, and effective November 4, 2022.

/sIRayne Pearson
RAYNE PEARSON
Director, Administrative Law Division



WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
PENALTY ASSESSMENT DG-220688 Investigation #8557

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document and send it to the Commission within
15 days after you receive the Penalty Assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false
statements under oath is a class B felony. | am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the
matters set forth below and | have personal knowledge of those matters. | hereby make, under oath, the
following statements:

1.

OR

OR

Payment of penalty. | admit that the violation occurred and enclose $1,000 in payment of
the penalty.

Accept the Conditions. | admit that the violation occurred. | enclose $200 partial payment
of the penalty, and I accept the Commission’s offer to suspend and ultimately waive the
$800 portion of the penalty amount subject to the following conditions:

o Trident Construction supervisors and applicable field staff must attend dig safe
training provided through NUCA within 90 days of the date of this Penalty
Assessment: and

o Trident Construction must submit documentation of that attendance to
the Commission within 5 days of attending the training; and

o Trident Construction must not incur any additional violations of RCW 19.122
within 12 months of the date of this Penalty Assessment.

Contest the violation. | believe that the alleged violation did not occur for the reasons |
describe below (if you do not include reasons supporting your contest here, your
request will be denied):

a) | ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information | provide above to an

administrative law judge for a decision.

b) Iask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provided above.

Request mitigation. | admit the violation, but I believe that the penalty should be reduced
for the reasons set out below (if you do not include reasons supporting your application
here, your request will be denied):

a) | ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to an

administrative law judge for a decision.

b) Iask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provided above.

| declare Tinder penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing,
including information | have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.

Dated:

[Month/Day/Year], at [City, State]




Name of Company (Company) — please print Signature of Applicant
RCW 9A.72.020 “Perjury in the first degree.”

(1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official proceeding he or she makes a
materially false statement which he or she knows to be false under an oath required or authorized
by law.

(2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime, and the actor's
mistaken belief that his or her statement was not material is not a defense to a prosecution under
this section.

(3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.
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