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WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE 

FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES 

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: TV-220511 

PENALTY AMOUNT: $12,600 

Miracle Man Movers LLC, 

d/b/a Miracle Man Movers 

14602 NE Fourth Plain Blvd., Ste. J 

Vancouver, WA 98682 

 

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes Miracle Man 

Movers LLC d/b/a Miracle Man Movers (Miracle Man Movers or Company) violated 

Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-15-555, Criminal Background Checks for 

Prospective Employees; WAC 480-15-560, Equipment Safety Requirements, which adopts Title 

49 Code of Federal Regulations (49 C.F.R.) Part 396 – Inspection, Repair, and Maintenance; 

WAC 480-15-570, Driver Safety Requirements, which adopts 49 C.F.R. Part 391 – Qualification 

of Drivers and 49 C.F.R. Part 395 – Hours of Service of Drivers; and WAC 480-15-590, Leasing 

Vehicles. 

 

Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 81.04.405 allows penalties of $100 for each violation. In 

the case of an ongoing violation, every day’s continuance is considered a separate and distinct 

violation. 

On June 29, 2022, Commission Motor Carrier Investigator Sandra Yeomans completed a follow-

up safety investigation of Miracle Man Movers and documented the following violations: 

• Fifteen violations of WAC 480-15-555 – Failure to complete a criminal background 

check for every person the carrier intends to hire. Miracle Man Movers failed to 

conduct a criminal background check for prospective employees Aubrey Cooper Jr., Jose 

Fonseca, Jason Putnam, Timothy Thompson, Xavier Gibson, Michael Bozovich, Mawuto 

Aloto, Omar Garoner, Dyamie Cortez Areasa, Paval Zagonenko, Ryan Schook, Nicholas 

Frans, Robert Perrgo, T. Walker, and Christopher Dick. 

• Two violations of WAC 480-15-590 – Failing to keep copies of all leases in 

permanent files for at least one year after the lease expires. The Company failed to 

retain a written lease agreement for both of its leased commercial motor vehicles (CMV). 

• Two violations of 49 C.F.R. § 391.21(a) – Using a driver who has not completed and 

furnished an employment application. Miracle Man Movers failed to complete or 

furnish an employment application for drivers Jose Fonseca and Aubrey Cooper Jr.  

• One violation of 49 C.F.R. § 391.25(a) – Failing to make an inquiry into the driving 

record of each driver to the appropriate state agencies in which the driver held a 

CMV operator’s license at least once every 12 months. The Company failed to acquire 

the driving record of Christopher Bullock. 
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• Fifteen violations of 49 C.F.R. § 391.45(a) – Using a driver not medically examined 

and certified. Miracle Man Movers allowed drivers T. Anderson and Corey Brannon to 

operate a CMV without a valid medical certificate on 15 occasions between December 8, 

2021, and April 8, 2022. 

• Two violations of 49 C.F.R. § 391.51(a) – Failing to maintain driver qualification file 

on each driver employed. The Company failed to maintain driver qualification files for 

T. Anderson and Corey Brannon. 

• Ten violations of 49 C.F.R. § 395.3(b)(2) – Requiring or permitting property-

carrying CMV driver to drive after having been on duty 70 hours in eight 

consecutive days. Miracle Man Movers allowed drivers Aubrey Cooper Jr. and Jose 

Fonseca to operate a CMV after having been on duty for 70 hours in eight consecutive 

days on 10 occasions between April 20 and April 30, 2022. 

• Ninety violations of 49 C.F.R. § 395.8(a)(1) – Failing to require driver to make a 

record of duty status. The Company failed to require Christopher Bullock, T. Anderson, 

and Corey Brannon to complete a record of duty status on 90 occasions between April 1 

and April 30, 2022.  

• Two violations of 49 C.F.R. § 396.17(g) – Failing to promptly repair parts and 

accessories in accordance with Appendix G of 49 C.F.R. Part 396. Miracle Man 

Movers failed to promptly repair defects on both of its CMVs. 

The Commission considered the following factors in determining the appropriate penalties for 

these violations: 

1. How serious or harmful the violations are to the public. The violations noted are 

serious and potentially harmful to the public. Household goods moving companies that: 

(1) fail to conduct criminal background checks on their employees, (2) fail to retain 

written agreements for leased equipment, (3) use drivers without first completing 

employment applications, (4) fail to obtain driving records for its drivers, (5) use drivers 

that are not medically examined and certified, (6) fail to maintain driver qualification 

files, (7) allow drivers to operate CMVs after having been on duty 70 hours in eight 

consecutive days, (8) fail to maintain records of duty status, and (9) fail to promptly 

repair defects on CMVs, put their customers, their customers’ belongings, and the 

traveling public at risk. These violations present significant safety concerns. 

2. Whether the violations were intentional. Considerations include: 

• Whether the Company ignored Commission staff’s (Staff) previous technical 

assistance; and 

• Whether there is clear evidence through documentation or other means that shows 

the Company knew of and failed to correct the violation. 

 

On May 2, 2019, the Commission received the Company’s application for household 

goods moving authority. In the application, Anna Bullock, manager of Miracle Man 
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Movers, acknowledged the Company’s responsibility to understand and comply with 

applicable motor carrier safety laws and regulations. 

 

On December 19, 2019, the Commission received the Company’s application to reinstate 

its household goods moving authority. In the application, Anna Bullock acknowledged 

the Company’s responsibility to understand and comply with applicable safety laws and 

regulations.  

 

On June 12, 2019, Anna Bullock and Christopher Bullock, CEO of Miracle Man Movers, 

attended household goods training provided by Staff. On August 19, 2020, Anna Bullock 

attended household goods training provided by Staff. On both occasions, the Company’s 

representatives acknowledged receiving training pertaining to motor carrier safety 

regulations. 

 

On February 22, 2021, Staff completed a routine safety investigation of Miracle Man 

Movers and discovered violations of WAC 480-15-590, 49 C.F.R. § 391.21(a), 49 C.F.R. 

§ 391.25(a), 49 C.F.R. § 395.3(b)(2), and 49 C.F.R. § 395.8(a)(1). On April 14, 2021, 

Miracle Man Movers submitted a safety management plan addressing each violation 

noted during the safety investigation. 

 

The Company knew or should have known about these requirements. 

 

3. Whether the Company self-reported the violations. Miracle Man Movers did not self-

report these violations. 

4. Whether the Company was cooperative and responsive. The Company had difficulties 

locating and presenting information requested by Staff. Miracle Man Movers was 

uncooperative during the safety investigation and did not demonstrate a desire to come 

into compliance with motor carrier safety regulations.  

5. Whether the Company promptly corrected the violations and remedied the impacts. 

Miracle Man Movers has not provided Staff with evidence that it corrected the violations. 

6. The number of violations. Staff identified 23 violation types with a total of 261 

individual occurrences during the follow-up safety investigation of Miracle Man Movers. 

Of those violations, Staff identified nine violation types with a total of 139 individual 

occurrences that warrant penalties in accordance with the Commission’s Enforcement 

Policy. 

7. The number of customers affected. Miracle Man Movers reported traveling 8,501 miles 

in 2021. These safety violations presented a public safety risk. 

8. The likelihood of recurrence. The Company incurred repeat violations despite prior 

technical assistance and an approved safety management plan. Absent a significant 

commitment to prioritize safe operations, the violations are likely to reoccur. 
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9. The Company’s past performance regarding compliance, violations, and penalties. 

On December 11, 2019, the Commission canceled the Company’s household goods 

moving permit in Docket TV-191018 for failing to file acceptable proof of insurance. The 

Company’s permit was reinstated on December 23, 2019. 

On March 8, 2021, the Commission issued a Notice of Intent to Cancel the Company’s 

household goods moving permit in Docket TV-210128, after the safety investigation of 

Miracle Man Movers resulted in a proposed conditional safety rating. On April 19, 2021, 

the Commission entered Order 01, which approved the Company’s safety management 

plan and extended Miracle Man Movers’ provisional period until the Company achieved 

a satisfactory safety rating. 

On March 16, 2021, the Company was penalized $100 in Docket TV-210129 for safety 

violations of 49 C.F.R. § 395.8(a)(1). The Company paid the penalty in full. 

10. The Company’s existing compliance program. Anna Bullock and Christopher Bullock 

are responsible for the Company’s safety compliance program. 

11. The size of the Company. Miracle Man Movers operates two CMVs and employs five 

drivers. The Company reported $365,000 in gross revenue for 2021. 

The Commission’s Enforcement Policy provides that some Commission requirements are so 

fundamental to safe operations that the Commission will issue mandatory penalties for each 

occurrence of a first-time violation.1 The Commission generally will assess penalties by violation 

category, rather than per occurrence, for first-time violations of those critical regulations that do 

not meet the requirements for mandatory penalties. The Commission will assess penalties for any 

equipment violation meeting the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration’s “out-of-service” 

criteria and for repeat violations of critical regulations, including each occurrence of a repeat 

violation. 

The Commission has considered these factors and determined that it should penalize Miracle 

Man Movers $12,600 (Penalty Assessment), calculated as follows: 

• Fifteen violations of WAC 480-15-555 – Failure to complete a criminal background 

check for every person the carrier intends to hire. The Commission assesses a penalty of 

$100 for each occurrence of this critical violation, for a total of $1,500. 

• Two violations of WAC 480-15-590 – Failing to keep copies of all leases in permanent 

files for at least one year after the lease expires. The Commission assesses a “per 

category” penalty of $100 for these repeat violations. 

 
1 Docket A-120061 – Enforcement Policy of the Washington Utilities & Transportation Commission – 

Section V. 
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• Two violations of 49 C.F.R. § 391.21(a) – Using a driver who has not completed and 

furnished an employment application. The Commission assesses a “per category” penalty 

of $100 for these repeat violations. 

• One violation of 49 C.F.R. § 391.25(a) – Failing to make an inquiry into the driving 

record of each driver to the appropriate state agencies in which the driver held a CMV 

operator’s license at least once every 12 months. The Commission assesses a penalty of 

$100 for this repeat violation. 

• Fifteen violations of 49 C.F.R. § 391.45(a) – Using a driver not medically examined and 

certified. The Commission assesses a penalty of $100 for each occurrence of this critical 

violation, for a total of $1,500. 

• Two violations of 49 C.F.R. § 391.51(a) – Failing to maintain driver qualification file on 

each driver employed. The Commission assesses a “per category” penalty of $100 for 

these critical violations. 

• Ten violations of 49 C.F.R. § 395.3(b)(2) – Requiring or permitting property-carrying 

CMV driver to drive after having been on duty 70 hours in eight consecutive days. The 

Commission assesses a “per category” penalty of $100 for these repeat violations. 

• Ninety violations of 49 C.F.R. § 395.8(a)(1) – Failing to require driver to make a record 

of duty status. The Commission assesses a penalty of $100 for each occurrence of this 

repeat critical violation, for a total of $9,000. 

• Two violations of 49 C.F.R. § 396.17(g) – Failing to promptly repair parts and 

accessories in accordance with Appendix G of 49 C.F.R. Part 396. The Commission 

assesses a “per category” penalty of $100 for these acute violations. 

This information, if proven at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, is sufficient to support the 

Penalty Assessment. 

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe any or all the violations did not occur, you 

may deny committing the violation(s) and contest the penalty through evidence presented at a 

hearing or in writing. Alternatively, if there is a reason for any or all the violations that you 

believe should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of the 

penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a 

request for hearing only if material issues of law or fact require consideration of evidence and 

resolution in a hearing. Any request to contest the violation(s) or for mitigation of the penalty 

must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request. Failure to provide such a 

statement will result in denial of the request. See RCW 81.04.405. 

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the 

Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation(s) or application 

for mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The 

administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of their decision. 
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You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following: 

• Pay the amount due. 

• Contest the occurrence of the violation(s). 

• Admit the violations but request mitigation of the penalty amount. 

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and submit it electronically through the 

Commission’s web portal within FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this Penalty 

Assessment. If you are unable to use the web portal, you may submit it via email to 

records@utc.wa.gov. If you are unable to submit the form electronically, you may send a paper 

copy to the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission, PO Box 47250, Olympia, 

Washington 98504-7250. 

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may take additional enforcement action, 

including but not necessarily limited to suspending or revoking your certificate to provide 

regulated service, assessing additional penalties, or referring this matter to the Office of the 

Attorney General for collection. 

DATED at Lacey, Washington, and effective July 8, 2022. 

/s/Rayne Pearson 

RAYNE PEARSON 

Director, Administrative Law Division
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WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

PENALTY ASSESSMENT TV-220511 

 

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document and send it to the Commission 

within 15 days after you receive the Penalty Assessment. Use additional paper if needed. 

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false 

statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the 

matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under 

oath, the following statements. 

[   ]  1. Payment of penalty. I admit that the violations occurred and enclose $12,600 in 

payment of the penalty. 

[   ]  2. Contest the violation(s). I believe that the alleged violation(s) did not occur for the 

reasons I describe below (if you do not include reasons supporting your contest 

here, your request will be denied): 

 [   ]  a)    I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to 

an administrative law judge for a decision. 

     OR [   ]  b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide 

above. 

[   ]  3. Application for mitigation. I admit the violations, but I believe that the penalty should 

be reduced for the reasons set out below (if you do not include reasons supporting 

your application here, your request will be denied): 

[   ]  a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to 

an administrative law judge for a decision. 

     OR [   ]  b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide 

above. 

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing, 

including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct. 

Dated: __________________ [month/day/year], at ________________________ [city, state] 

 _____________________________________  ___________________________ 

Name of Respondent (company) – please print  Signature of Applicant 
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RCW 9A.72.020 “Perjury in the first degree.” 

 

(1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official proceeding he or she makes a 

materially false statement which he or she knows to be false under an oath required or 

authorized by law. 

(2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime, and the actor's 

mistaken belief that his or her statement was not material is not a defense to a prosecution 

under this section. 

(3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony. 
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