
Service Date: June 6, 2022 

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE 

FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES 

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: DG-220357 

PENALTY AMOUNT: $1,000 

SERVICE VIA EMAIL Investigation #8535 

UBI: 312-005-538

Bodine Construction, Inc. 

5419 217th St SE 

Woodinville, WA 98072 

info@bodineconstruction.com 

accounting@bodineconstruction.com 

YOU MUST RESPOND WITHIN 15 DAYS OF THIS NOTICE – see page 4 

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that Bodine 

Construction, Inc., (Bodine or Company) has violated the Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 

19.122.055(1)(a) by failing to contact the One-Call locate center two business days before 

beginning excavation. RCW 19.122.055(1)(a) states, in part, that excavators who fail to notify a 

one-number locator service and cause damage to an underground gas facility are subject to a civil 

penalty of not more than $10,000 for each violation.  

The Commission reviewed findings and recommendations made by Commission staff (Staff) and 

hereby notifies you that it is assessing a $1,000 penalty (Penalty Assessment) against you on the 

following grounds: 

On March 15, 2022, Bodine was on site at 722 Alder St. Edmonds, Washington. While 

excavating, it struck an underground natural gas facility operated by Puget Sound Energy 

(PSE). The Damage Information Reporting Tool report submitted by PSE on April 25, 

2022, indicated that the Company was excavating without a valid locate ticket.  

Staff conducted an investigation that included reviewing damage reports, investigation 

reports, a review of the One-Call Center database, and communications with the Company. 

The documents reviewed showed that Bodine damaged a natural gas facility while 

excavating without a valid locate ticket. The Commission previously issued Bodine a 

$2,000 penalty assessment on June 18, 2019, for two violations that occurred on September 

20, 2018, and December 22, 2018.   

Staff recommends the Commission assess a $1,000 penalty for one violation of RCW 

19.122.055(1)(a) with an offer to suspend an $800 portion of the penalty for one year, and 

then waive it, subject to the conditions that: (1) Bodine’s new employees responsible for 

excavation complete Dig Safe Training provided through the National Utility Contractors 

Association (NUCA) within 90 days of this Penalty Assessment; (2) Bodine must not 

commit any further violations of RCW 19.122 within 12 months of the date of this Penalty 
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Assessment and (3) the Company must pay the $200 portion of the penalty that is not 

suspended within 15 days of the Penalty Assessment.  

The Commission agrees with Staff’s recommendation and assesses a $1,000 penalty, with the offer 

to suspend an $800 portion of the penalty subject to the conditions described above.  

These facts, if not contested or if proved at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, are sufficient 

to support the Penalty Assessment. 

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violation did not occur, you may deny 

committing the violation and contest the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in 

writing. Or, if there is a reason for the violation that you believe should excuse you from the 

penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of the penalty through evidence presented at a 

hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for a hearing only if material issues of 

law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. Any request to contest 

the violation or for mitigation of the penalty must include a written statement of the reasons 

supporting that request. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. See 

RCW 81.04.405. 

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the 

Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation or application for 

mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The 

administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of their decision. 

You must act within 15 days after receiving this Penalty Assessment to do one of the 

following: 

• Pay the $1,000 penalty amount due; or

• Pay $200 and notify the Commission that you accept the offer to suspend an $800 portion

of the penalty amount subject to the following conditions:

o Bodine’s new employees responsible for excavation must complete NUCA Dig

Safe Training (https://utc-9183.quickbase.com/db/bpkt6vndh) within 90 days of

service of this Penalty Assessment; and

o The Company must submit documentation of that attendance to the

Commission within 5 days of attending training; and

o Bodine must not incur any additional violations of RCW 19.122 within 12 months

of the date of this Penalty Assessment; or

• Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violations; or

• Request mitigation to reduce the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and submit it electronically through the 

Commission’s web portal within FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this Penalty Assessment. 

If you are unable to use the web portal, you may submit it via email to records@utc.wa.gov. If you 

are unable to submit the form electronically, you may send a paper copy to the Washington 

Utilities and Transportation Commission, PO Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250. 

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the 

Attorney General for collection. The Commission may then sue you to collect the penalty.  

https://utc-9183.quickbase.com/db/bpkt6vndh
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DATED at Lacey, Washington, and effective June 6, 2022. 

/s/Rayne Pearson 

RAYNE PEARSON 

Director, Administrative Law Division



 

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

PENALTY ASSESSMENT DG-220357 Investigation #8535 

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document and send it to the Commission within 

15 days after you receive the Penalty Assessment. Use additional paper if needed. 

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false 

statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the 

matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under oath, the 

following statements: 

[  ]  1. Payment of penalty. I admit that the violation occurred and enclose $1,000 in payment of 

the penalty.  

[  ]  2. Accept the Conditions. I admit that the violation occurred. I enclose $200 in partial payment 

of the penalty and I accept the Commission’s offer to suspend and ultimately waive the 

remaining $800 portion of the penalty amount subject to the following conditions:   

o Bodine’s new employees must attend dig safe training provided through NUCA 

within 90 days of the date of this Penalty Assessment; and   

o Bodine must submit documentation of that attendance to the Commission within 5 

days of attending the training; and 

o Bodine must not incur any additional violations of RCW 19.122 within 12 months 

of the date of this Penalty Assessment.   

[  ]  3. Contest the violation. I believe that the alleged violation did not occur for the reasons I 

describe below (if you do not include reasons supporting your contest here, your 

request will be denied): 

 

 

 

 

 [  ]  a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to an 

administrative law judge for a decision. 

     OR [  ]  b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provided above. 

 

[  ]  4. Request mitigation. I admit the violation, but I believe that the penalty should be reduced 

for the reasons set out below (if you do not include reasons supporting your application 

here, your request will be denied): 

 

 

 

 

[  ]  a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to an 

administrative law judge for a decision. 

     OR [  ]  b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provided above. 

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing, 

including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct. 

 

 

Dated: __________________ [Month/Day/Year], at ______________________ [City, State] 

 

 _____________________________________  ___________________________ 

Name of Respondent (Company) – please print  Signature of Applicant 



 

 

 

RCW 9A.72.020 “Perjury in the first degree.” 

 

(1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official proceeding he or she makes a 

materially false statement which he or she knows to be false under an oath required or authorized 

by law. 

(2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime, and the actor's 

mistaken belief that his or her statement was not material is not a defense to a prosecution under 

this section. 

(3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony. 
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