Service Date: March 29, 2022

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: DG-220126

PENALTY AMOUNT: \$2,500 Investigation #8491

UBI: 602-572-966

SERVICE VIA EMAIL

Trinity Excavating, LLC 4866 SW Daisy St. Port Orchard, WA 98367 Levelgradex@gmail.com

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that Trinity Excavating, LLC, (Trinity or Respondent) has violated the Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 19.122.055(1)(a) by failing to contact the One-Call locate center two business days before beginning excavation. RCW 9.122.055(1)(a) states, in part, that excavators who fail to notify a one-number locator service and cause damage to an underground gas facility are subject to a civil penalty of not more than \$10,000 for each violation.

The Commission reviewed findings and recommendations made by Commission staff (Staff) and hereby notifies you that it is assessing a \$2,500 penalty (Penalty Assessment) against you on the following grounds:

On December 16, 2021, Trinity was excavating at 7490 Navajo Trail NE, Bremerton, Washington. While excavating, Trinity struck an underground Cascade Natural Gas (CNG) gas facility. The Damage Information Reporting Tool report submitted by CNG on January 19, 2022, indicated that the Respondent was excavating without a valid locate ticket.

Commission staff (Staff) conducted an investigation that included reviewing damage reports, investigation reports, a conversation with the Respondent, and the One Call Center database. Staff contacted Trinity by telephone, and it admitted it did not call for locates prior to excavation and caused the damage. The information and documents reviewed identified a natural gas event that involved Trinity damaging a natural gas facility while excavating without a valid locate ticket.

The Company was issued a warning letter on July 2, 2015, for damages that occurred on April 1, 2015. On September 2, 2020, the Commission issued a penalty assessment against the Respondent for a violation that occurred on April 23, 2020.

Staff recommends the Commission assess a \$2,500 penalty for one violation of RCW 9.122.055(1)(a) with an offer to suspend an \$1,500 portion of the penalty for one year, and then waive it, subject to the conditions that: (1) Company supervisors and field crew responsible for excavation complete Dig Safe Training provided through the National Utility Contractors Association (NUCA) within 90 days of this Penalty Assessment; (2) the

Company must not commit any further violations of RCW 19.122 within 12 months of the date of this Penalty Assessment.

The Commission agrees with Staff's recommendation and assesses a \$2,500 penalty with an offer to suspend a \$1,500 portion of the penalty subject to the conditions described above.

These facts, if not contested or if proved at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, are sufficient to support the Penalty Assessment.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violation did not occur, you may deny committing the violation and contest the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. Or, if there is a reason for the violation that you believe should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for hearing only if material issues of law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. Any request to contest the violation or for mitigation of the penalty must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. See RCW 81.04.405.

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation or application for mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of their decision.

<u>You must act within 15 days after receiving this Penalty Assessment</u> to do one of the following:

- Pay the \$2,500 penalty amount due; or
- Notify the Commission that you accept the offer to suspend a \$1,500 portion of the penalty amount subject to the following conditions:
 - Trinity management and field crew responsible for excavation must complete NUCA Dig Safe Training (https://utc-9183.quickbase.com/db/bpkt6vndh) within 90 days of service of this Penalty Assessment; and
 - The Company must submit documentation of that attendance to the Commission within 5 days of attending training; and
 - o Trinity must not incur any additional violations of RCW 19.122 within 12 months of the date of this Penalty Assessment; or
- Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violations; or
- Request mitigation to reduce the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and submit it electronically through the Commission's web portal records@utc.wa.gov within FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this Penalty Assessment. If you are unable to use the web portal, you may submit it via email to records@utc.wa.gov. If you are unable to submit the form electronically, you may send a paper copy to the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission, PO Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250.

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the Attorney General for collection. The Commission may then sue you to collect the penalty.

DATED at Lacey, Washington, and effective March 29, 2022.

/s/Rayne Pearson RAYNE PEARSON Director, Administrative Law Division

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

PENALTY ASSESSMENT DG-220126 Investigation #8491

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document and send it to the Commission within 15 days after you receive the Penalty Assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under oath, the following statements:

[] 1.	Payment of penalty. I admit that the violation occurred and enclose \$2,500 in payment of the penalty.		
[] 2.	Accept the Conditions. I admit that the violation occurred and enclose \$1,000 in partial payment of the penalty, and I accept the Commission's offer to suspend and ultimately waive the \$1,500 portion of the penalty amount subject to the following conditions: Trinity supervisors and applicable field staff must attend dig safe training provided through NUCA within 90 days of the date of this Penalty Assessment; and Trinity must submit documentation of that attendance to the Commission within 5 days of attending the training; and Trinity must not incur any additional violations of RCW 19.122 within 12 months of the date of this Penalty Assessment. 		
[] 2.	Contest the violation. I believe that the alleged violation did not occur for the reasons I describe below (if you do not include reasons supporting your contest here, your request will be denied):		
OR	[] a) [] b)	administrative law judge for a decision	on the information I provide above to an solely on the information I provided above.
[]3.	Request mitigation. I admit the violation, but I believe that the penalty should be reduced for the reasons set out below (if you do not include reasons supporting your application here, your request will be denied):		
		administrative law judge for a decision	solely on the information I provided above. tate of Washington that the foregoing,
Dated: _		[Month/Day/Year], at	[City, State]
Name o	f Respon	dent (Company) – please print	Signature of Applicant

RCW 9A.72.020:

"Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if, in any official proceeding, he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime, and the actor's mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony."