Service Date: January 20, 2022

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: TV-220017
PENALTY AMOUNT: $12,300

Job4Movers LLC
4204 Russell Rd., Ste. C
Mukilteo, WA 98275

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes Job4Movers
LLC (Job4Movers or Company) violated Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-15-555,
Criminal Background Checks for Prospective Employees; WAC 480-15-560, Equipment Safety
Requirements, which adopts Title 49 Code of Federal Regulations (49 C.F.R.) Part 396 —
Inspection, Repair and Maintenance; and WAC 480-15-570, Driver Safety Requirements, which
adopts 49 C.F.R. Part 391 — Qualification of Drivers and 49 C.F.R. Part 395 — Hours of Service
of Drivers.

Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 81.04.405 allows penalties of $100 for each violation. In
the case of an ongoing violation, every day’s continuance is considered a separate and distinct
violation.

On January 5, 2022, Commission Motor Carrier Investigator Sandra Yeomans completed a
routine safety investigation of Job4Movers and documented the following violations:

e Five violations of WAC 480-15-555 — Failure to complete a criminal background
check for every person the carrier intends to hire. Job4Movers failed to conduct a
criminal background check prior to hiring employees Elizabeth Gutierrez, Clayton Perry,
Nolan Stewart, Brandon Tuttle, and Daniel Tuttle.

e Two violations of 49 C.F.R. § 391.15(a) — Using a disqualified driver. The Company
allowed driver Nolan Stewart to operate a commercial motor vehicle (CMV) while
having a suspended driver license.

e One hundred twelve violations of 49 C.F.R. 8 391.45(a) — Using a driver not
medically examined and certified. The Company allowed drivers Juan Gutierrez and
Nolan Stewart to operate a CMV without a valid medical certificate on 112 occasions
between May 3 and October 23, 2021.

e Two violations of 49 C.F.R. § 391.51(a) — Failing to maintain driver qualification file
on each driver employed. Job4Movers failed to maintain driver qualification files for
Juan Gutierrez and Nolan Stewart.

e Sixty violations of 49 C.F.R. § 395.8(a)(1) — Failing to require driver to make a
record of duty status. The Company failed to require Juan Gutierrez and Nolan Stewart
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to complete a record of duty status on 60 occasions between August 1 and August 30,
2021.

e Two violations of 49 C.F.R. § 396.3(b) — Failing to keep minimum records of
inspection and vehicle maintenance. Job4Movers failed to maintain a vehicle
maintenance file for two CMVs.

e Two violations of 49 C.F.R. § 396.17(a) — Using a CMV not periodically inspected.
The Company failed to have an annual inspection performed on two CMVs.

The Commission considered the following factors in determining the appropriate penalties for
these violations:

1. How serious or harmful the violations are to the public. The violations noted are
serious and potentially harmful to the public. Household goods moving companies that:
(1) fail to conduct criminal background checks on their employees, (2) use disqualified
drivers, (3) use drivers that are not medically examined and certified, (4) fail to maintain
driver qualification files, (5) fail to maintain records of duty status, (6) fail to keep
minimum records of inspection and vehicle maintenance, and (7) use CMVs that have not
been inspected, put their customers, their customers’ belongings, and the traveling public
at risk. These violations present significant safety concerns.

2. Whether the violations were intentional. Considerations include:

e Whether the Company ignored Commission staff’s (Staff) previous technical
assistance; and

e Whether there is clear evidence through documentation or other means that shows
the Company knew of and failed to correct the violation.

On June 24, 2019, the Commission received We Got It Local Mover LLC’s application
for household goods moving authority. In the application, Juan Gutierrez, owner of We
Got It Local Mover LLC, acknowledged the Company’s responsibility to understand and
comply with applicable motor carrier safety laws and regulations.

On August 7, 2019, Juan Gutierrez attended household goods training provided by Staff
and acknowledged receiving training pertaining to motor carrier safety regulations.

On June 10, 2021, We Got It Local Mover LLC filed an application with the Commission
to change its corporate name to Job4Movers LLC.!

The Company knew or should have known about these requirements.

! The request to change the corporate name to Job4Movers LLC did not involve a change in the
ownership, management, or control of operating authority held by We Got It Local Mover LLC.
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3.

10.

11.

Whether the Company self-reported the violations. Job4Movers did not self-report
these violations.

Whether the Company was cooperative and responsive. The Company was
cooperative throughout the safety investigation.

Whether the Company promptly corrected the violations and remedied the impacts.
Job4Movers obtained a valid medical certificate for Juan Gutierrez. The Company has
not provided Staff with evidence that it corrected the other violations.

The number of violations. Staff identified 12 violation types with a total of 191
individual occurrences during the routine safety investigation of Job4Movers. Of those
violations, Staff identified seven violation types with a total of 185 individual
occurrences that warrant penalties in accordance with the Commission’s Enforcement
Policy.

The number of customers affected. Job4Movers reported traveling 27,330 miles in
2020. These safety violations presented a public safety risk.

The likelihood of recurrence. Staff provided technical assistance with specific remedies
to help the Company assess how well its safety management controls support safe
operations and how to begin improving its safety performance. Job4Movers was
cooperative during the safety investigation and expressed a desire to come into
compliance with applicable safety regulations. Staff believes the likelihood of recurrence
is low if the Company prioritizes safe operations.

The Company’s past performance regarding compliance, violations, and penalties.
This is the Company’s first routine safety investigation. Job4Movers has no history of
penalties for safety violations with the Commission.

The Company’s existing compliance program. Juan Gutierrez is responsible for the
Company’s safety compliance program.

The size of the Company. Job4Movers operates two CMVs and employs two drivers.
The Company reported $75,470 in gross revenue for 2020.

The Commission’s Enforcement Policy provides that some Commission requirements are so
fundamental to safe operations that the Commission will issue mandatory penalties for each
occurrence of a first-time violation.? The Commission generally will assess penalties by violation
category, rather than per occurrence, for first-time violations of those critical regulations that do
not meet the requirements for mandatory penalties. The Commission will assess penalties for any
equipment violation meeting the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration’s “out-0f-service”

2 Docket A-120061 — Enforcement Policy of the Washington Utilities & Transportation Commission —
Section V.
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criteria and for repeat violations of critical regulations, including each occurrence of a repeat
violation.

The Commission has considered these factors and determined that it should penalize Job4Movers
$12,300 (Penalty Assessment), calculated as follows:

e Five violations of WAC 480-15-555 — Failure to complete a criminal background check
for every person the carrier intends to hire. The Commission assesses a penalty of $100
for each occurrence of this critical violation, for a total of $500.

e Two violations of 49 C.F.R. § 391.15(a) — Using a disqualified driver. The Commission
assesses a penalty of $100 for each occurrence of this violation, for a total of $200.

e One hundred twelve violations of 49 C.F.R. § 391.45(a) — Using a driver not medically
examined and certified. The Commission assesses a penalty of $100 for each occurrence
of this critical violation, for a total of $11,200.

e Two violations of 49 C.F.R. § 391.51(a) — Failing to maintain driver qualification file on
each driver employed. The Commission assesses a “per category” penalty of $100 for
these critical violations.

e Sixty violations of 49 C.F.R. 8 395.8(a)(1) — Failing to require driver to make a record of
duty status. The Commission assesses a “per category” penalty of $100 for these critical
violations.

e Two violations of 49 C.F.R. § 396.3(b) — Failing to keep minimum records of inspection
and vehicle maintenance. The Commission assesses a “per category” penalty of $100 for
these critical violations.

e Two violations of 49 C.F.R. 8§ 396.17(a) — Using a CMV not periodically inspected. The
Commission assesses a “per category” penalty of $100 for these critical violations.

This information, if proven at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, is sufficient to support the
Penalty Assessment.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe any or all the violations did not occur, you
may deny committing the violation(s) and contest the penalty through evidence presented at a
hearing or in writing. Alternatively, if there is a reason for any or all the violations that you
believe should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of the
penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a
request for hearing only if material issues of law or fact require consideration of evidence and
resolution in a hearing. Any request to contest the violation(s) or for mitigation of the penalty
must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request. Failure to provide such a
statement will result in denial of the request. See RCW 81.04.405.

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the
Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation(s) or application
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for mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The
administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of their decision.

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:

e Pay the amount due.
e Contest the occurrence of the violation(s).
e Admit the violations but request mitigation of the penalty amount.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and submit it electronically through the
Commission’s web portal within FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this Penalty
Assessment. If you are unable to use the web portal, you may submit it via email to
records@utc.wa.gov. If you are unable to submit the form electronically, you may send a paper
copy to the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission, PO Box 47250, Olympia,
Washington 98504-7250.

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may take additional enforcement action,
including but not necessarily limited to suspending or revoking your certificate to provide
regulated service, assessing additional penalties, or referring this matter to the Office of the
Attorney General for collection.

DATED at Lacey, Washington, and effective January 20, 2022.

/s/IRayne Pearson
RAYNE PEARSON
Director, Administrative Law Division
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WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
PENALTY ASSESSMENT TV-220017

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document and send it to the Commission
within 15 days after you receive the Penalty Assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

| have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false
statements under oath is a class B felony. | am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the
matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. | hereby make, under
oath, the following statements.

1. Payment of penalty. | admit that the violations occurred and enclose $12,300 in
payment of the penalty.

2. Contest the violation(s). I believe that the alleged violation(s) did not occur for the
reasons | describe below (if you do not include reasons supporting your contest
here, your request will be denied):

a) | ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information | provide above to
an administrative law judge for a decision.

OR b) 1 ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information | provide
above.

3. Application for mitigation. | admit the violations, but I believe that the penalty should
be reduced for the reasons set out below (if you do not include reasons supporting
your application here, your request will be denied):

a) | ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information | provide above to
an administrative law judge for a decision.

OR b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information | provide
above.

| declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing,
including information | have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.

Dated: [month/day/year], at [city, state]

Name of Respondent (company) — please print Signature of Applicant
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RCW 9A.72.020:

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official
proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath
required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an
element of this crime, and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a
defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.”
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