Service Date: December 21, 2021

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: DG-210946

PENALTY AMOUNT: \$1,000 Investigation #8412

UBI: 602-203-619

SERVICE VIA EMAIL

Proscapes, Inc. 9002 S. March Pt. Rd. Anacortes, WA 98221 Tina@usproscapes.com

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that Proscapes, Inc., (Proscapes or Company) has violated the Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 19.122.055(1)(a) by failing to notify one-number locator service before beginning excavation. RCW 9.122.055(1)(a) states, in part, that excavators who fail to notify a one-number locator service and cause damage to an underground gas facility are subject to a civil penalty of not more than \$10,000 for each violation.

The Commission reviewed findings and recommendations made by its staff (Staff) and hereby notifies you that it is assessing a \$1,000 penalty (Penalty Assessment) against you on the following grounds:

On May 19, 2021, Proscapes was excavating at, 3711 West 12th St., Anacortes, Washington. While excavating it struck an underground Cascade Natural Gas (CNG) natural gas facility. The Damage Information Reporting Tool report submitted by CNG on May 21, 2021, indicated that the Company was excavating without a valid locate ticket.

Staff conducted an investigation that included reviewing damage reports, investigation reports, and the One-Call Ticket database. Staff contacted Proscapes and it explained they did not call for locates because it was only scraping the surface to install a rock wall and that the gas line was too shallow. The evidence reviewed supported Proscapes was excavating and caused damage to a natural gas facility without a valid locate ticket.

The Company received a warning letter from the Commission on October 7, 2019, and has not previously been penalized by the Commission.

Staff recommends the following:

- \$1,000 penalty for the violation of RCW 19.122.055(1)(a) that occurred on May 19, 2021.
- Staff recommends an offer to suspend the \$1,000 penalty for one year, and then waive it subject to the conditions that: (1) Proscapes supervisors and field crew responsible for

excavation complete Dig Safe Training provided through the National Utility Contractors Association (NUCA) within 45 days of the date the Commission issues the Penalty Assessment, (2) the Company must not incur any further violations of RCW 19.122 within 12 months of the date of this Penalty Assessment.

The Commission agrees with Staff's recommendation as described above.

These facts, if not contested or if proved at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, are sufficient to support the penalty assessment.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violation did not occur, you may deny committing the violation and contest the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. Or, if there is a reason for the violation that you believe should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for hearing only if material issues of law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. Any request to contest the violation or for mitigation of the penalty must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. See RCW 81.04.405.

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation or application for mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of their decision.

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:

- Pay the \$1,000 penalty amount due; or
- Notify the Commission that you accept the offer to suspend the \$1,000 penalty amount subject to the following conditions:
 - Proscapes management and field crew responsible for excavation must complete NUCA Dig Safe Training (https://utc-9183.quickbase.com/db/bpkt6vndh) within 45 days of service of this Penalty Assessment; and
 - The Company must submit documentation of that attendance to the Commission within five (5) days of attending training; and
 - o Proscapes must not incur any additional violations of RCW 19.122 within 12 months of the date of this Penalty Assessment; or
- Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violations; or
- Request mitigation to reduce the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and submit it electronically through the Commission's web portal **within FIFTEEN (15) days** after you receive this Penalty Assessment. If you are unable to use the web portal, you may submit it via email to records@utc.wa.gov. If you are unable to submit the form electronically, you may send a paper copy to the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission, PO Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250.

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the Attorney General for collection. The Commission may then sue you to collect the penalty.

DATED at Lacey, Washington, and effective December 21, 2021.

/s/Rayne Pearson RAYNE PEARSON Director, Administrative Law Division

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

PENALTY ASSESSMENT DG-210946 Investigation #8412

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document and send it to the Commission within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under oath, the following statements:

[] 1.	Payment of penalty. I admit that the violation occurred and enclose \$1,000 in payment of the penalty.			
[] 2.	offer to	provided through NUCA within 45 days of the date of this Penalty Assessment; and Proscapes must submit documentation of that attendance to the Commission within 5 days of attending the training; and		
[]3.	Contest the violation. I believe that the alleged violation did not occur for the reasons I describe below (if you do not include reasons supporting your contest here, your request will be denied):			
OR	[] a) [] b)	administrative law judge for a decis	ace on the information I provide above to an acion. sed solely on the information I provided above.	
[]4.	4. Request mitigation. I admit the violation, but I believe that the penalty should for the reasons set out below (if you do not include reasons supporting your here, your request will be denied):		- -	
O.D.		administrative law judge for a decis		
	e under pe		sed solely on the information I provided above. e State of Washington that the foregoing, nents, is true and correct.	
Dated: _		[Month/Day/Year], at	[City, State]	
Name o	of Respond	dent (Company) – please print	Signature of Applicant	

RCW 9A.72.020:

"Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if, in any official proceeding, he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime, and the actor's mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony."