Service Date: December 21, 2021

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: DG-210914

PENALTY AMOUNT: \$1,000 Investigation #8404

UBI: 602-393-997

SERVICE VIA EMAIL

Terrain Seattle Co. PO Box 66950 Seattle, WA 98166 Julia@Terrainseattle.com

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that Terrain Seattle Co. (Terrain or Respondent) has violated the Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 19.122.055(1)(a) by failing to contact the One-Call locate center two business days before beginning excavation. RCW 9.122.055(1)(a) states, in part, that excavators who fail to notify a one-number locator service and cause damage to an underground gas facility are subject to a civil penalty of not more than \$10,000 for each violation.

The Commission reviewed findings and recommendations made by Commission staff (Staff) and hereby notifies you that it is assessing a \$1,000 penalty (Penalty Assessment) against you on the following grounds:

On July 19, 2021, Terrain was excavating at 3812 East McGilvra St., Seattle, Washington. While excavating Terrain struck an underground Puget Sound Energy (PSE) natural gas facility. The Damage Information Reporting Tool report submitted by PSE on August 30, 2021, indicated that the Respondent was excavating without a valid locate ticket.

Commission staff (Staff) conducted an investigation that included reviewing damage reports, investigation reports, and a review of the One-Call Center database. Staff attempted to contact Terrain seeking further information or documentation regarding this incident. As of the date of this Penalty Assessment, Staff has received no additional information. The documents reviewed identified a natural gas event that involved Terrain damaging a natural gas facility while excavating without a valid locate ticket. The Company was issued a warning letter on June 2, 2021, for damage that occurred on March 31, 2021, but has not been assessed any prior penalties.

Based on these factors, Staff recommends the Commission assess a \$1,000 penalty for one violation of RCW 9.122.055(1)(a) with an offer to suspend an \$800 portion of the penalty for one year, and then waive it, subject to the conditions that: (1) Company supervisors and field crew responsible for excavation complete Dig Safe Training provided through the National Utility Contractors Association (NUCA) within 45 days of this Penalty Assessment; (2) the Company must not commit any further violations of RCW 19.122

within 12 months of the date of this Penalty Assessment; and (3) the Company timely pays the \$200 portion of the penalty that is not suspended.

The Commission agrees with Staff's recommendation to offer to suspend a portion of the penalty amount subject to the conditions described above.

These facts, if not contested or if proved at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, are sufficient to support the Penalty Assessment.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violation did not occur, you may deny committing the violation and contest the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. Or, if there is a reason for the violation that you believe should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for hearing only if material issues of law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. Any request to contest the violation or for mitigation of the penalty must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. See RCW 81.04.405.

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation or application for mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of their decision.

<u>You must act within 15 days after receiving this Penalty Assessment</u> to do one of the following:

- Pay the \$1,000 penalty amount due; or
- Pay the \$200 and notify the Commission that you accept the offer to suspend the remaining \$800 of the penalty amount subject to the following conditions:
 - Terrain management and field crew responsible for excavation must complete NUCA Dig Safe Training (https://utc-9183.quickbase.com/db/bpkt6vndh) within 45 days of service of this Penalty Assessment; and
 - The Company must submit documentation of that attendance to the Commission within 5 days of attending training; and
 - o Terrain must not incur any additional violations of RCW 19.122 within 12 months of the date of this Penalty Assessment; or
- Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violations; or
- Request mitigation to reduce the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and submit it electronically with the through the Commission's web portal **within FIFTEEN (15) days** after you receive this Penalty Assessment. If you are unable to use the web portal, you may submit it via email to records@utc.wa.gov. If you are unable to submit the form electronically, you may send a paper copy to the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission, PO Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250.

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the Attorney General for collection. The Commission may then sue you to collect the penalty.

DATED at Lacey, Washington, and effective December 21, 2021.

/s/Rayne Pearson RAYNE PEARSON Director, Administrative Law Division

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

PENALTY ASSESSMENT DG-210914 Investigation #8404

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document and send it to the Commission within 15 days after you receive the Penalty Assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under oath, the following statements:

[] 1.	Payment of penalty. I admit that the violation occurred and enclose \$1,000 in payment of the penalty.		
[] 2. 4	Accept the Conditions. I admit that the violation occurred, enclose \$200 in partial payment of the penalty, and I accept the Commission's offer to suspend, and ultimately waive, \$800 of the penalty amount subject to the following conditions: Terrain supervisors and applicable field staff must attend dig safe training provided through NUCA within 45 days of the date of this Penalty Assessment; and Terrain must submit documentation of that attendance to the Commission within 5 days of attending the training; and Terrain must not incur any additional violations of RCW 19.122 within 12 months of the date of this Penalty Assessment. 		
[] 2.	Contest the violation. I believe that the alleged violation did not occur for the reasons I describe below (if you do not include reasons supporting your contest here, your request will be denied):		
OR	[] a) [] b)	administrative law judge for a decisi	ce on the information I provide above to an on. ed solely on the information I provided above.
[]3.	. Request mitigation. I admit the violation, but I believe that the penalty should be reducted for the reasons set out below (if you do not include reasons supporting your applicate here, your request will be denied):		
I declar	e under po	administrative law judge for a decisi I ask for a Commission decision bas	ed solely on the information I provided above. State of Washington that the foregoing,
Dated: _		[Month/Day/Year], at	[City, State]
Name o	of Respond	lent (Company) – please print	Signature of Applicant

RCW 9A.72.020:

"Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if, in any official proceeding, he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime, and the actor's mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony."