Service Date: December 16, 2021

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: TE-210905
PENALTY AMOUNT: $100

Friday Harbor Jolly Trolley Inc.
P.O. Box 1024
Friday Harbor, WA 98250

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes Friday Harbor
Jolly Trolley Inc.! (Friday Harbor Jolly Trolley or Company) violated Washington
Administrative Code (WAC) 480-30-221, Vehicle and Driver Safety Requirements, which
adopts Title 49 Code of Federal Regulations (49 C.F.R.) Part 382 — Controlled Substance and
Alcohol Use and Testing.

Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 81.04.405 allows penalties of $100 for each violation. In
the case of an ongoing violation, every day’s continuance is considered a separate and distinct
violation.

On November 16, 2021, Commission Motor Carrier Investigator Wayne Gilbert completed a
follow-up safety investigation of Friday Harbor Jolly Trolley and documented the following
violations:

e Sixteen violations of 49 C.F.R. § 382.305(b)(1) — Failing to conduct random alcohol
testing at an annual rate of not less than the applicable annual rate of the average
number of driver positions. The Company utilized a drug and alcohol testing
consortium that did not test at the applicable annual rate for random alcohol testing.

The Commission considered the following factors in determining the appropriate penalties for
these violations:

1. How serious or harmful the violations are to the public. The violations noted are
serious and potentially harmful to the public. Passenger transportation companies that fail
to conduct random alcohol testing at the appropriate rate put their customers and the
traveling public at risk. These violations present safety concerns.

2. Whether the violations were intentional. Considerations include:

e Whether the Company ignored Commission staff’s (Staff) previous technical
assistance; and

'Friday Harbor Jolly Trolley Inc., d/b/a Friday Harbor Jolly Trolley; Leavenworth Jolly Trolley; Roche
Harbor Express.
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e Whether there is clear evidence through documentation or other means that shows
the Company knew of and failed to correct the violation.

On November 10, 2016, the Commission received the Company’s application for transfer
of Friday Harbor Jolly Trolley’s charter and excursion authority. In the application,
Alison Caruso, owner of Friday Harbor Jolly Trolley, acknowledged the Company’s
responsibility to understand and comply with applicable motor carrier safety rules.

On August 14, 2018, the Commission received the Company’s application requesting to
extend its service territory. In the application, Alison Caruso acknowledged the
Company’s responsibility to understand and comply with applicable motor carrier safety
rules.

On December 4, 2019, Staff completed a routine safety investigation of Friday Harbor
Jolly Trolley that resulted in an unsatisfactory safety rating.

On November 4, 2021, the Commission received the Company’s application to change its
corporate name. In the application, Alison Caruso acknowledged the Company’s
responsibility to understand and comply with applicable motor carrier safety rules.

3. Whether the Company self-reported the violations. Friday Harbor Jolly Trolley did
not self-report these violations.

4. Whether the Company was cooperative and responsive. The Company was
cooperative throughout the safety investigation.

5. Whether the Company promptly corrected the violations and remedied the impacts.
Friday Harbor Jolly Trolley has not provided Staff with any evidence that the violations
have been corrected.

6. The number of violations. Staff identified 19 violation types with a total of 63
individual occurrences during the safety investigation of Friday Harbor Jolly Trolley. Of
those violations, Staff identified one violation type with 16 individual occurrences that
warrant penalties in accordance with the Commission’s Enforcement Policy.

7. The number of customers affected. Friday Harbor Jolly Trolley traveled 4,872 miles in
2020. These safety violations presented a public safety risk.

8. The likelihood of recurrence. Staff provided technical assistance with specific remedies
to help the Company assess how well its safety management controls support safe
operations and how to begin improving its safety performance. The Company was
cooperative throughout the safety investigation and expressed a desire to come into
compliance. In light of these factors, Staff believes that the likelihood of recurrence is
low.

9. The Company’s past performance regarding compliance, violations, and penalties.
On December 19, 2019, the Commission assessed a $6,100 penalty against Friday Harbor
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Jolly Trolley in Docket TE-191002 for safety violations of WAC 480-30-221. On
December 19, 2019, the Commission issued a Notice of Intent to Cancel Certificate as a
Passenger Transportation Company and Notice of Brief Adjudicative Proceeding in
Docket TE-191003. On January 9, 2020, the Commission entered Order 01, which
consolidated Dockets TE-191002 and TE-191003, upgraded the Company’s safety rating,
assessed a reduced penalty of $3,200 and suspended a $2,000 portion of the penalty for a
period of two years, subject to conditions. On January 16, 2020, the Company paid the
$1,200 unsuspended portion of the penalty in full.

10. The Company’s existing compliance program. Alison Caruso is responsible for the
Company’s safety compliance program.

11. The size of the Company. Friday Harbor Jolly Trolley currently operates five
commercial motor vehicles and employs five drivers. The Company reported $39,680 in
gross revenue for the calendar year ending December 31, 2020.

The Commission’s Enforcement Policy provides that some Commission requirements are so
fundamental to safe operations that the Commission will issue mandatory penalties for each
occurrence of a first-time violation.? The Commission generally will assess penalties by violation
category, rather than per occurrence, for first-time violations of those critical regulations that do
not meet the requirements for mandatory penalties. The Commission will assess penalties for any
equipment violation meeting the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration’s “out-of-service”
criteria and also for repeat violations of critical regulations, including each occurrence of a repeat
violation.

The Commission has considered these factors and determined that it should penalize Friday
Harbor Jolly Trolley $100 (Penalty Assessment), calculated as follows:

e Sixteen violations of 49 C.F.R. § 382.305(b)(1) — Failing to conduct random alcohol
testing at an annual rate of not less than the applicable annual rate of the average number
of driver positions. The Commission assesses a “per category” penalty of $100 for these
critical violations.

This information, if proven at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, is sufficient to support the
penalty assessment.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe any or all of the violations did not occur,
you may deny committing the violation(s) and contest the penalty through evidence presented at
a hearing or in writing. Alternatively, if there is a reason for any or all of the violations that you
believe should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of the
penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a
request for hearing only if material issues of law or fact require consideration of evidence and
resolution in a hearing. Any request to contest the violation(s) or for mitigation of the penalty

2 Docket A-120061 — Enforcement Policy of the Washington Utilities & Transportation Commission —
Section V.
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must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request. Failure to provide such a
statement will result in denial of the request. See RCW 81.04.405.

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the
Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation(s) or application
for mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The
administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of their decision.

You must act within 15 days after receiving this Penalty Assessment to do one of the
following:

e Pay the amount due.
e Contest the occurrence of the violation(s).
e Admit the violations but request mitigation of the penalty amount.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and submit it electronically through the
Commission’s web portal within FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notice. If you are
unable to use the web portal, you may submit it via email to records@utc.wa.gov. If you are
unable to submit the form electronically, you may send a paper copy to the Washington Utilities
and Transportation Commission, PO Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250.

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may take additional enforcement action,
including but not necessarily limited to suspending or revoking your certificate to provide
regulated service, assessing additional penalties, or referring this matter to the Office of the
Attorney General for collection.

DATED at Lacey, Washington, and effective December 16, 2021.

/sIRayne Pearson
RAYNE PEARSON
Director, Administrative Law Division


https://efiling.utc.wa.gov/Form
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WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
PENALTY ASSESSMENT TE-210905

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission
within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

| have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false
statements under oath is a class B felony. | am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the
matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. | hereby make, under
oath, the following statements.

1. Payment of penalty. | admit that the violations occurred and enclose $100 in payment
of the penalty.

2. Contest the violation(s). I believe that the alleged violation(s) did not occur for the
reasons | describe below (if you do not include reasons supporting your contest
here, your request will be denied):

a) | ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information | provide above to
an administrative law judge for a decision.

OR b) 1 ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information | provide
above.

3. Application for mitigation. | admit the violations, but I believe that the penalty should
be reduced for the reasons set out below (if you do not include reasons supporting
your application here, your request will be denied):

a) | ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information | provide above to
an administrative law judge for a decision.

OR b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information | provide
above.

| declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing,
including information | have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.

Dated: [month/day/year], at [city, state]

Name of Respondent (company) — please print Signature of Applicant
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RCW 9A.72.020:

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official
proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath
required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an
element of this crime, and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a
defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.”
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