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WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE 

FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES 

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: TG-210720 

PENALTY AMOUNT: $600 

Gary’s Garbage Services, LLC 

P.O. Box 729 

Ione, WA 99139 

 

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes Gary’s 

Garbage Service, LLC, (Gary’s Garbage or Company) violated Washington Administrative Code 

(WAC) 480-70-201, Vehicle and Driver Safety Requirements which adopts Title 49 Code of 

Federal Regulations (49 CFR) Part 391 - Qualification of Drivers, 49 CFR Part 393 – Parts and 

Accessories Necessary for Safe Operation, 49 CFR Part 395 - Hours of Service of Drivers, and 

49 CFR Part 396 - Inspection, Repair, and Maintenance. 

 

Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 81.04.405 allows penalties of $100 for each violation. In 

the case of an ongoing violation, every day’s continuance is considered a separate and distinct 

violation. 

On September 15, 2021, Commission Motor Carrier Investigator Edward Steiner completed a 

routine safety investigation of Gary’s Garbage and documented the following violations: 

• One violation of 49 CFR § 391.51(a) – Failing to maintain driver qualification file on 

each driver employed. Gary’s Garbage failed to maintain a driver qualification file for 

driver Gary Maupin as required. 

• One violation of 49 CFR § 393.9(a) – Lamps operable, prohibition of obstructions of 

lamps and reflectors. Commission staff (Staff) discovered a commercial motor vehicle 

with an inoperative driver’s side rear turn signal.1 The vehicle was placed out-of-service. 

• One violation of 49 CFR § 393.51 – Warning signals, air pressure and vacuum 

gauges. Staff discovered a commercial motor vehicle with no visual or audible low air 

warning.2 The vehicle was placed out-of-service. 

• Thirty violations of 49 CFR § 395.8(a)(1) – Failing to require a driver to prepare a 

record of duty status. The Company failed to require driver Gary Maupin to prepare 

record of duty status on 30 occasions between July 1 and July 30, 2021. 

 
1 Vehicle Identification Number 4VMHCMBE7XN772278 

2 Vehicle Identification Number 1XPZL50X3JD703495 
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• Five violations of 49 CFR § 396.3(b) – Failing to keep minimum records of 

inspection and vehicle maintenance. The Company failed to maintain minimum records 

of inspection and vehicle maintenance for five commercial motor vehicles. 

• Five violations of 49 CFR § 396.17(a) – Using a commercial motor vehicle not 

periodically inspected. The Company operated five commercial motor vehicles that 

were not periodically inspected. 

The Commission considered the following factors in determining the appropriate penalties for 

these violations: 

1. How serious or harmful the violations are to the public. The violations noted are 

serious and potentially harmful to the public. Solid waste collection companies that: (1) 

fail to maintain driver qualification files, (2) operate vehicles with inoperative turn 

signals, (3) operate vehicles with inoperable air pressure warning devices, (4) fail to 

require drivers to prepare record of duty status, (5) fail to keep minimum records of 

inspection and vehicle maintenance, and (6) use commercial motor vehicles that have not 

been periodically inspected put the traveling public at risk. These violations present 

significant safety concerns. 

2. Whether the violations were intentional. Considerations include: 

• Whether the Company ignored Staff’s previous technical assistance; and 

• Whether there is clear evidence through documentation or other means that shows 

the Company knew of and failed to correct the violation. 

 

On January 28, 2013, the Commission received an application for the transfer of solid 

waste collection authority from Robert L. Nichols d/b/a B & N Sanitary to Gary’s 

Garbage Services, LLC. In the application, Gary Maupin, owner of Gary’s Garbage, 

acknowledged the Company’s responsibility to understand and comply with applicable 

motor carrier safety rules. The Company knew or should have known about these 

requirements.  
 

3. Whether the Company self-reported the violations. Gary’s Garbage did not self-report 

these violations. 

4. Whether the Company was cooperative and responsive. The Company was 

cooperative throughout the safety investigation. 

5. Whether the Company promptly corrected the violations and remedied the impacts. 

The Company has not provided Staff with evidence that the violations have been 

corrected. 

6. The number of violations. Staff identified 11 violation types with a total of 56 

individual occurrences during the safety investigation of Gary’s Garbage. Of those 

violations, Staff identified six violation types with 43 individual occurrences that warrant 

penalties in accordance with the Commission’s Enforcement Policy. 



PENALTY ASSESSMENT TG-210720 PAGE 3 

 

   

 

7. The number of customers affected. Gary’s Garbage traveled 8,000 miles in 2020. 

These safety violations present a public safety risk. 

8. The likelihood of recurrence Staff provided technical assistance with specific remedies 

to help the Company assess how well its safety management controls support safe 

operations and how to begin improving its safety performance. The Company was 

cooperative throughout the safety investigation and expressed a desire to come into 

compliance. In light of these factors, Staff believes that the likelihood of recurrence is 

low. 

9. The Company’s past performance regarding compliance, violations, and penalties. 

This is the Company’s first routine safety investigation. Gary’s Garbage has no history of 

violations or penalties with the Commission. 

10. The Company’s existing compliance program. Gary Maupin is responsible for the 

Company’s safety compliance program. 

11. The size of the Company. Gary’s Garbage currently operates five commercial motor 

vehicles and employs one driver. The Company reported $253,313 in gross revenue for 

2020. 

The Commission’s Enforcement Policy provides that some Commission requirements are so 

fundamental to safe operations that the Commission will issue mandatory penalties for each 

occurrence of a first-time violation.3 The Commission generally will assess penalties by violation 

category, rather than per occurrence, for first-time violations of those critical regulations that do 

not meet the requirements for mandatory penalties. The Commission will assess penalties for any 

equipment violation meeting the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration’s “out-of-service” 

criteria and also for repeat violations of critical regulations, including each occurrence of a repeat 

violation. 

The Commission has considered these factors and determined that it should penalize Gary’s 

Garbage $600, calculated as follows: 

• One violation of 49 CFR § 391.51(a) – Failing to maintain driver qualification file on 

each driver employed. The Commission assesses a penalty of $100 for this violation. 

• One violation of 49 CFR § 393.9(a) – Lamps operable, prohibition of obstructions of 

lamps and reflectors. The Commission assesses a penalty of $100 for this out-of-service 

violation. 

• One violation of 49 CFR § 393.51 – Warning signals, air pressure and vacuum gauges. 

The Commission assesses a penalty of $100 for this out-of-service violation. 

 
3 Docket A-120061 – Enforcement Policy of the Washington Utilities & Transportation Commission – 

Section V. 
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• Thirty violations of 49 CFR § 395.8(a)(1) – Failing to require a driver to prepare a record 

of duty status. The Commission assesses a “per category” penalty of $100 for these 

critical violations. 

• Five violations of 49 CFR § 396.3(b) – Failing to keep minimum records of inspection 

and vehicle maintenance. The Commission assesses a “per category” penalty of $100 for 

these critical violations. 

• Five violations of 49 CFR § 396.17(a) – Using a commercial motor vehicle not 

periodically inspected. The Commission assesses a “per category” penalty of $100 for 

these critical violations. 

This information, if proven at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, is sufficient to support the 

penalty assessment. 

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe any or all of the violations did not occur, 

you may deny committing the violation(s) and contest the penalty through evidence presented at 

a hearing or in writing. Alternatively, if there is a reason for any or all of the violations that you 

believe should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of the 

penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a 

request for hearing only if material issues of law or fact require consideration of evidence and 

resolution in a hearing. Any request to contest the violation(s) or for mitigation of the penalty 

must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request. Failure to provide such a 

statement will result in denial of the request. See RCW 81.04.405. 

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the 

Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation(s) or application 

for mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The 

administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of their decision. 

 

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following: 

• Pay the amount due. 

• Contest the occurrence of the violation(s). 

• Admit the violations but request mitigation of the penalty amount. 

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and submit it electronically through the 

Commission’s web portal within FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notice. If you are 

unable to use the web portal, you may submit it via email to records@utc.wa.gov. If you are 

unable to submit the form electronically, you may send a paper copy to the Washington Utilities 

and Transportation Commission, PO Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250. 

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may take additional enforcement action, 

including but not necessarily limited to suspending or revoking your certificate to provide 
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regulated service, assessing additional penalties, or referring this matter to the Office of the 

Attorney General for collection. 

DATED at Lacey, Washington, and effective October 5, 2021. 

/s/Rayne Pearson 

RAYNE PEARSON 

Director, Administrative Law Division
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WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

PENALTY ASSESSMENT TG-210720 

 

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission 

within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed. 

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false 

statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the 

matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under 

oath, the following statements. 

[   ]  1. Payment of penalty. I admit that the violations occurred and enclose $600 in payment 

of the penalty. 

[   ]  2. Contest the violation(s). I believe that the alleged violation(s) did not occur for the 

reasons I describe below (if you do not include reasons supporting your contest 

here, your request will be denied): 

 [   ]  a)    I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to 

an administrative law judge for a decision. 

     OR [   ]  b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide 

above. 

[   ]  3. Application for mitigation. I admit the violations, but I believe that the penalty should 

be reduced for the reasons set out below (if you do not include reasons supporting 

your application here, your request will be denied): 

[   ]  a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to 

an administrative law judge for a decision. 

     OR [   ]  b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide 

above. 

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing, 

including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct. 

Dated: __________________ [month/day/year], at ________________________ [city, state] 

 _____________________________________  ___________________________ 

Name of Respondent (company) – please print  Signature of Applicant 
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RCW 9A.72.020: 

 

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official 

proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath 

required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an 

element of this crime, and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a 

defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.” 

 


