## WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

## SERVICE VIA EMAIL

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: DG-210715 PENALTY AMOUNT: \$2,500 Investigation #8395 UBI: 601-219-807

BDZ Developers, Inc., d/b/a BDZ Construction 3207 Pacific Ave. Everett, WA 98201 Jennb@bdzconstruction.com contact@bdzconstruction.com

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that BDZ Developers, Inc., d/b/a BDZ Construction (BDZ or Company) has violated Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 19.122.055(1)(a) by failing to notify one-number locator service before beginning excavation. RCW 9.122.055(1)(a) states, in part, that excavators who fail to notify a one-number locator service and cause damage to an underground gas facility are subject to a civil penalty of not more than \$10,000 for each violation.

The Commission reviewed findings and recommendations made by Commission staff (Staff) and hereby notifies you that it is assessing a \$2,500 penalty against you on the following grounds:

On June 16, 2021, BDZ was excavating at 1116 121<sup>st</sup> Ave. SE, Lake Stevens, Washington, when it struck a Puget Sound Energy (PSE) natural gas line. The Damage Information Reporting Tool report submitted by PSE on July 24, 2021, indicates the Company was digging without a valid locate ticket.

Staff conducted an investigation that included reviewing damage reports, investigation reports, and the One-Call Ticket database. Staff attempted to contact BDZ seeking further information or documentation but, as of the date of this Notice, Staff has not received any additional information regarding the facts in this case. The documents reviewed identified a natural gas event that involved BDZ damaging a natural gas line while excavating without a valid locate ticket.

The Company has been penalized by the Commission before with a \$3,500 penalty assessment on January 31, 2018, and a \$2,000 penalty assessment on May 5, 2016. Additionally, warning letters were sent by the Commission in October 2013, July 2015, December 2015, July 2016, and February 2017. There are no records to indicate BDZ has previously completed National Utility Contractors Association (NUCA) Dig Safe Training.

Based on these factors Staff recommends the Commission assess a \$2,500 penalty for one violation of RCW 9.122.055(1)(a).

The Commission agrees with Staff's recommendation and assesses a penalty of \$2,500.

These facts, if not contested or if proved at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, are sufficient to support the penalty assessment.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violation did not occur, you may deny committing the violation and contest the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. Or, if there is a reason for the violation that you believe should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for hearing only if material issues of law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. Any request to contest the violation or for mitigation of the penalty must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. *See* RCW 81.04.405.

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation or application for mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of their decision.

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:

- Pay the \$2,500 penalty amount due; or
- Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violation; or
- Request mitigation to reduce the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission, P.O. Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250, **within FIFTEEN (15) days** after you receive this notice.

**If you do not act within 15 days,** the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the Attorney General for collection. The Commission may then sue you to collect the penalty.

DATED at Lacey, Washington, and effective October 15, 2021.

/s/Rayne Pearson RAYNE PEARSON Director, Administrative Law Division

## WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION PENALTY ASSESSMENT DG-210715 Investigation #8395

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document and send it to the Commission within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under oath, the following statements:

- Payment of penalty. I admit that the violation occurred and enclose \$2,500 in payment of [] 1. the penalty.
- [] 2. Contest the violation. I believe that the alleged violation did not occur for the reasons I describe below (if you do not include reasons supporting your contest here, your request will be denied):
  - I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to an [] a) administrative law judge for a decision.
  - OR [] b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provided above.
- [] 3. **Request mitigation.** I admit the violation, but I believe that the penalty should be reduced for the reasons set out below (if you do not include reasons supporting your application here, your request will be denied):
  - [] a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to an administrative law judge for a decision.

OR [] b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provided above. I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing, including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.

Dated: \_\_\_\_\_ [Month/Day/Year], at \_\_\_\_\_ [City, State]

Name of Respondent (Company) – please print Signature of Applicant

## RCW 9A.72.020:

"Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime, and the actor's mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony."