
 Service Date: October 11 , 2021 

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

 

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE 

FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES 

 

 

 PENALTY ASSESSMENT: DG-210696 

 PENALTY AMOUNT: $1,000 

SERVICE VIA EMAIL Investigation  #8392 

                            UBI:  602-185-976

Hattenburg Excavating, Inc. 

PO Box 248 

Mead, WA  99021 

Hattexc@comcast.net 

 

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that Hattenburg 

Excavating, Inc (Hattenburg or Company) has violated Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 

19.122.055(1)(a) by failing to notify one-number locator service before beginning excavation. 

RCW 9.122.055(1)(a) states, in part, that excavators who fail to notify a one-number locator 

service and cause damage to an underground gas facility are subject to a civil penalty of not more 

than $10,000 for each violation.  

 

The Commission reviewed findings and recommendations made by Commission staff (Staff) and 

hereby notifies you that it is assessing a $1,000 penalty against you on the following grounds: 

 

On June 21, 2021, Hattenburg Excavating, Inc., (Hattenburg or Company) was excavating 

at 2336 W 1st Ave., Spokane, Washington. While excavating the Company struck an 

underground natural gas facility operated by Avista Corporation (Avista). The Damage 

Information Reporting Tool report submitted by Avista on July 7, 2021, indicated that the 

Company was excavating without a valid locate ticket.  

Staff conducted an investigation that included reviewing damage reports, investigation 

reports, and the One-Call Ticket database. Staff contacted Hattenburg seeking further 

information or documentation and received a statement explaining that the operator had 

been working out of the scope of the valid locate ticket when this incident occurred.  The 

documents reviewed identified a natural gas event that involved Hattenburg damaging a 

natural gas line while excavating without a valid locate ticket. The Company has not been 

penalized previously and the Commission’s primary goal is to promote education and 

prevent damage to underground utilities. Based on these factors Staff recommends the 

Commission assess a $1,000 penalty for one violation of RCW 9.122.055(1)(a) with the 

option to suspend an $800 portion of the penalty for one year, and then waive it, subject to 

the conditions that: (1) the Company pays the $200 portion of the penalty that is not 

suspended within fifteen (15) days of this Notice, (2) the Company completes Dig Safe 

Training provided through the National Utility Contractors Association (NUCA) within 90 

days of this Notice, and (3) the Company must not commit any further violations of RCW 

19.122 within 12 months of the date of this Notice.  
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The Commission agrees with Staff’s recommendation and assesses a penalty of $1,000, with an 

offer to suspend, and ultimately waive, $800 of the penalty subject to the conditions above.  

  

These facts, if not contested or if proved at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, are sufficient 

to support the penalty assessment. 

 

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violation did not occur, you may deny 

committing the violation and contest the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in 

writing. Or, if there is a reason for the violation that you believe should excuse you from the 

penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of the penalty through evidence presented at a 

hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for hearing only if material issues of 

law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. Any request to contest 

the violation or for mitigation of the penalty must include a written statement of the reasons 

supporting that request. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. See 

RCW 81.04.405. 

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the 

Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation or application for 

mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The 

administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of their decision. 

 

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following: 

• Pay the $1,000 penalty amount due; or 

• Pay $200 and notify the Commission that you accept the offer to suspend $800 of the 

penalty amount subject to the following conditions: 

o Hattenburg management and field crew responsible for excavation must complete 

NUCA Dig Safe Training (https://utc-9183.quickbase.com/db/bpkt6vndh) within 90 

days of service of this Notice; and 

o The Company must submit documentation of that attendance to the 

Commission within five (5) days of attending training; and 

o Hattenburg must not commit any additional violations of RCW 19.122 within 

twelve (12) months of the date of this Notice; or.  

• Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violation; or 

• Request mitigation to reduce the amount of the penalty. 

 

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities and 

Transportation Commission, P.O. Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250, within 

FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notice. 

 

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the 

Attorney General for collection. The Commission may then sue you to collect the penalty.  

 

DATED at Lacey, Washington, and effective October 11, 2021. 

 

/s/Rayne Pearson 

       RAYNE PEARSON 

Director, Administrative Law Division

https://utc-9183.quickbase.com/db/bpkt6vndh
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PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document and send it to the Commission within 

15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed. 

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false 

statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the 

matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under oath, the 

following statements: 

[  ]  1. Payment of penalty. I admit that the violation occurred and enclose $1,000 in payment of 

the penalty.  

[   ]  2. Accept the Conditions. I admit that the violation occurred, enclose $200 in partial payment of 

the penalty, and I accept the Commission’s offer to suspend, and ultimately waive, $800 of 

the penalty amount subject to the following conditions:   

o Hattenburg supervisors and applicable field staff must attend dig safe training 

provided through NUCA within 90 days of the date of this Notice; and   

o Hattenburg must submit documentation of that attendance to 

the Commission within five (5) days of attending the training; and   

o Hattenburg must not commit any additional violations of RCW 19.122 within 

twelve (12) months of the date of this Notice.   

[  ]  2. Contest the violation. I believe that the alleged violation did not occur for the reasons I 

describe below (if you do not include reasons supporting your contest here, your 

request will be denied): 

 

 

 

 

 [  ]  a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to an 

administrative law judge for a decision. 

     OR [  ]  b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provided above. 

 

[  ]  3. Request mitigation. I admit the violation, but I believe that the penalty should be reduced 

for the reasons set out below (if you do not include reasons supporting your application 

here, your request will be denied): 

 

 

 

 

[  ]  a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to an 

administrative law judge for a decision. 

     OR [  ]  b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provided above. 

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing, 

including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct. 

 

 

Dated: __________________ [Month/Day/Year], at ______________________ [City, State] 

 

 _____________________________________  ___________________________ 

Name of Respondent (Company) – please print  Signature of Applicant 



 

 

 

RCW 9A.72.020: 

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official 

proceeding, he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath required 

or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime, 

and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a defense to a prosecution 

under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.” 


