Service Date: April 29, 2021

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: DG-210203 PENALTY AMOUNT: \$1,000

Investigation # 8339 UBI: 603-617-485

SERVICE VIA EMAIL

RP Development LLC 6159 W Deschutes Ave, Ste. 509 Kennewick, WA 99336 Melr.rpdevelopment@gmail.com Trey.rpdevelopment@gmail.com

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that RP Development LLC (RP or Company) has violated Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 19.122.055(1)(a) by failing to notify a one-number locator service before beginning excavation. RCW 19.122.055(1)(a) states, in part, that excavators who fail to notify a one-number locator service and cause damage to an underground gas facility are subject to a civil penalty of not more than \$10,000 for each violation.

The Commission reviewed findings and recommendations made by Commission staff (Staff) and hereby notifies you that it is assessing a \$1,000 penalty against you on the following grounds:

On September 2, 2020, RP was excavating at 600 Athens Drive, West Richland, Washington. While excavating for a new water main the Company struck a Cascade Natural Gas Corporation (CNGC) line. The Damage Information Reporting Tool report submitted by CNGC on October 8, 2020, indicated that the Company was excavating without a locate ticket.

Staff conducted an investigation that included reviewing damage reports, damage incident images, and the One-Call Ticket database. Staff attempted to contact the Company for further information or documentation but as of the date of this Notice, no response has been received. The documents reviewed identified a natural gas event that involved RP Development damaging a natural gas line while excavating without a valid locate ticket.

Prior to this event, in October 2019 and March 2020 the Commission mailed Dig Law violation warning letters to RP Development in response to alleged Dig Law violations.

Due to the Company's repeated Dig Law violations, Staff recommends that the Commission assess a \$1,000 penalty against RP Development for one violation of RCW 19.122.055(1)(a) for failing to notify one-number locator service before beginning

excavation. Staff recommends that \$800 of the penalty assessment be suspended for one year and then waived, subject to the following conditions: (1) RP Development supervisor and applicable field staff attend NUCA Dig Safe Online Training within 90 days of receiving this Notice and (2) the Company must not commit any further violations of RCW 19.122 within twelve (12) months of the date of this notice.

The Commission agrees with Staff's recommendation and assesses a penalty of \$1,000 with an offer to suspend, and ultimately waive, \$800 penalty amount subject to the conditions listed above. If the Company fails to comply with either of the conditions, the \$800 suspended penalty will become immediately due and payable, in addition to any new penalties that the Commission may assess for new additional violations.

These facts, if not contested or if proved at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, are sufficient to support the penalty assessment.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violation did not occur, you may deny committing the violation and contest the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. Or, if there is a reason for the violation that you believe should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for hearing only if material issues of law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. Any request to contest the violation or for mitigation of the penalty must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. See RCW 81.04.405.

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation or application for mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of their decision.

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:

- Pay the \$1,000 penalty amount due; or
- Pay \$200 and notify the Commission that you accept the offer to suspend, and ultimately waive the \$800 penalty amount subject to the following conditions:
 - o RP supervisors and applicable field staff must attend online Dig Safe training (https://utc-9183.quickbase.com/db/bpkt6vndh) within ninety (90) days of this Notice; and
 - The Company must submit documentation of that attendance to the Commission within five (5) days of attending training; and
 - o RP must not commit any additional violation of RCW 19.122 within twelve (12) months of the date of this Notice; or
- Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violation; or
- Request mitigation to reduce the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission, P.O. Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250, **within FIFTEEN (15) days** after you receive this notice.

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the Attorney General for collection. The Commission may then sue you to collect the penalty.

DATED at Lacey, Washington, and effective April 29, 2021.

/s/ Rayne Pearson RAYNE PEARSON Director, Administrative Law Division

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

PENALTY ASSESSMENT DG-210203, Investigation # 8339

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document and send it to the Commission within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under oath, the following statements:

[] 1.	Payment of penalty. I admit that the violation occurred and enclose \$1,000 in payment of the penalty.
[] 2.	Accept the Conditions. I admit that the violation occurred and enclose \$200 toward the payment of the penalty. I also accept the Commission's offer to suspend, and ultimately waive, the remaining \$800 penalty amount subject to the following conditions: o RP Development, LLC supervisors and applicable field staff must attend dig safe training provided through NUCA within twelve (12) months of the date of this Notice; and o RP Development, LLC must submit documentation of that attendance to the Commission within five (5) days of attending the training; and o RP Development, LLC must not commit any additional violations of RCW 19.12
	within twelve (12) months of the date of this Notice.
[]3.	Contest the violation. I believe that the alleged violation did not occur for the reasons I describe below (if you do not include reasons supporting your contest here, your request will be denied):
	[] a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to an administrative law judge for a decision.
OR	[] b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide above.
[] 3.	Request mitigation. I admit the violation, but I believe that the penalty should be reduced for the reasons set out below (if you do not include reasons supporting your application here, your request will be denied):
	[] a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to an administrative law judge for a decision.
OR	[] b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide above.
	e under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing, ng information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.
Dated: _	[Month/Day/Year], at [City, State]
Name o	f Respondent (Company) – please print Signature of Applicant

RCW 9A.72.020:

"Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime, and the actor's mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony."