Service Date: February 23, 2021

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: TV-210089 PENALTY AMOUNT: \$100

Willamette Express LTD 2505 SE Stubb St. Milwaukie, OR 97222

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes Willamette Express LTD (Willamette Express or Company) violated Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-15-570, Driver Safety Requirements, which adopts Title 49 Code of Federal Regulations (49 CFR) Part 391 – Qualification of Drivers.

Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 81.04.405 allows penalties of \$100 for each violation. In the case of an ongoing violation, every day's continuance is considered a separate and distinct violation.

On February 8, 2021, Commission Motor Carrier Investigator Francine Gagne completed a routine safety investigation of Willamette Express and documented the following violations:

• Two violations of 49 CFR § 391.51(a) – Failing to maintain driver qualification file on each driver employed. The Company failed to maintain a driver qualification file for drivers Scotty Larkin and Gino Camardese.

The Commission considered the following factors in determining the appropriate penalties for these violations:

- 1. How serious or harmful the violations are to the public. The violations noted are serious and potentially harmful to the public. Household goods moving companies that fail to keep driver qualification files put their customers' belongings and the traveling public at risk. These violations present safety concerns.
- 2. Whether the violations were intentional. Considerations include:
 - Whether the Company ignored Commission staff's (Staff) previous technical assistance; and
 - Whether there is clear evidence through documentation or other means that shows the Company knew of and failed to correct the violation.

On October 28, 2004, the Commission received the Company's application for household goods moving authority. In the application, Jon Calvin, President of Willamette Express, acknowledged the Company's responsibility to understand and comply with applicable motor carrier safety regulations.

On November 9, 2004, Staff conducted new entrant vehicle inspections and provided technical assistance to Willamette Express regarding applicable motor carrier safety regulations.

On September 8, 2015, the Commission received the Company's application for transfer of household goods moving authority. In the application, Jon Calvin acknowledged the Company's responsibility to understand and comply with applicable safety laws and regulations.

The Company knew or should have known about these requirements.

- 3. Whether the Company self-reported the violations. Willamette Express did not self-report these violations.
- 4. Whether the Company was cooperative and responsive. Willamette Express' communication with Staff was inconsistent throughout the investigation.
- 5. Whether the Company promptly corrected the violations and remedied the impacts. Willamette Express has not provided Staff with any evidence that the violations have been corrected.
- 6. **The number of violations.** Staff identified nine violation types with a total of 19 individual occurrences.
- 7. **The number of customers affected.** The Company reported traveling 1,600 miles in 2019. These safety violations presented a public safety risk.
- 8. **The likelihood of recurrence.** Staff provided technical assistance with specific remedies to help the Company assess how well its safety management controls support safe operations and how to begin improving its safety performance. The Company's communication with Staff was inconsistent and the Company did not provide evidence that the violations had been corrected. Absent a significant commitment to prioritize safe operations, the violations are likely to reoccur.
- 9. The Company's past performance regarding compliance, violations, and penalties. On June 30, 2006, Willamette Express was penalized \$100 in Docket TV-060980 for failing to file a complete annual report and pay regulatory fees by the due date. The Company paid the penalty in full.

On July 24, 2012, the Company was penalized \$100 in Docket TV-120953 for failing to file a complete annual report and pay regulatory fees by the due date. Willamette Express paid the penalty in full.

On April 25, 2014, Willamette Express' household goods moving permit was suspended for failing to file acceptable proof of insurance in Docket TV-140707. The Company's suspension was lifted on April 28, 2014.

On June 2, 2015, Willamette Express was penalized \$1,000 in Docket TV-150948 for failing to file a complete annual report and pay regulatory fees by the due date. The Company paid the penalty in full.

On July 6, 2017, Willamette Express was penalized \$1,000 in Docket TV-170550 for failing to file a complete annual report and pay regulatory fees by the due date. The Company paid the penalty in full.

The Company has no history of penalties for safety violations.

- 10. **The Company's existing compliance program.** Jon Calvin is responsible for the Company's safety compliance program.
- 11. **The size of the Company.** In the last 365 days, Willamette Express employed seven drivers and operated seven commercial motor vehicles. The Company currently operates five commercial motor vehicles and employs two drivers. The Company reported \$1,900,000 in gross revenue for 2019.

The Commission's Enforcement Policy provides that some Commission requirements are so fundamental to safe operations that the Commission will issue mandatory penalties for each occurrence of a first-time violation. The Commission generally will assess penalties by violation category, rather than per occurrence, for first-time violations of those critical regulations that do not meet the requirements for mandatory penalties. The Commission will assess penalties for any equipment violation meeting the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration's "out-of-service" criteria and also for repeat violations of critical regulations, including each occurrence of a repeat violation.

The Commission has considered these factors and determined that it should penalize Willamette Express \$100, calculated as follows:

• Two violations of 49 CFR § 391.51(a) – Failing to maintain driver qualification file on each driver employed. The Commission assesses a "per category" penalty of \$100 for these first-time critical violations.

This information, if proven at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, is sufficient to support the penalty assessment.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe any or all of the violations did not occur, you may deny committing the violation(s) and contest the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. Alternatively, if there is a reason for any or all of the violations that you believe should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for hearing only if material issues of law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. Any request to contest the violation(s) or for mitigation of the penalty

¹ Docket A-120061 – Enforcement Policy of the Washington Utilities & Transportation Commission – Section V.

must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. *See* RCW 81.04.405.

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation(s) or application for mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of their decision.

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:

- Pay the amount due.
- Contest the occurrence of the violation(s).
- Admit the violations but request mitigation of the penalty amount.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and submit it electronically through the Commission's web portal **within FIFTEEN** (15) **days** after you receive this notice. If you are unable to use the web portal, you may submit it via email to records@utc.wa.gov. If you are unable to submit the form electronically, you may send a paper copy to the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission, PO Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250.

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may take additional enforcement action, including but not necessarily limited to suspending or revoking your certificate to provide regulated service, assessing additional penalties, or referring this matter to the Office of the Attorney General for collection.

DATED at Lacey, Washington, and effective February 23, 2021.

/s/Rayne Pearson
RAYNE PEARSON
Director, Administrative Law Division

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION PENALTY ASSESSMENT TV-210089

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed. I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under oath, the following statements.

		pelow and I have personal knowledge of statements.	of those matters. I hereby make, under	
[] 1.	Payment of penalty. I admit that the violations occurred and enclose \$100 in payment of the penalty.			
[] 2.	reasons	ntest the violation(s). I believe that the alleged violation(s) did not occur for the sons I describe below (if you do not include reasons supporting your contest re, your request will be denied):		
		I ask for a hearing to present evidence nistrative law judge for a decision.	e on the information I provide above to	
OR	[] b)	I ask for a Commission decision base above.	d solely on the information I provide	
[] 3.	Application for mitigation. I admit the violations, but I believe that the penalty should be reduced for the reasons set out below (if you do not include reasons supporting your application here, your request will be denied):			
	[] a)	I ask for a hearing to present evidenc an administrative law judge for a dec	e on the information I provide above to ision.	
OR	[] b)	I ask for a Commission decision base above.	d solely on the information I provide	
	-	enalty of perjury under the laws of the ation I have presented on any attachme	State of Washington that the foregoing, nts, is true and correct.	
Dated: _		[month/day/year], at	[city, state]	
Name o	f Respond	lent (company) – please print	Signature of Applicant	

RCW 9A.72.020:

"Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime, and the actor's mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.