Service Date: October 28, 2020

#### WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

## NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: TV-200876 PENALTY AMOUNT: \$17,500

Ed's Moving & Storage, Inc. PO Box 39340 Lakewood, WA 98496

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes Ed's Moving & Storage, Inc., (Ed's Moving or Company) violated Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-15-555, Criminal Background Checks for Prospective Employees; WAC 480-15-560, Equipment Safety Requirements, which adopts Title 49 Code of Federal Regulations (49 CFR) Part 396 – Inspection, Repair and Maintenance; and WAC 480-15-570, Driver Safety Requirements, which adopts 49 CFR Part 382 – Controlled Substance and Alcohol Use and Testing, 49 CFR Part 383 – Commercial Driver's License Standards, and 49 CFR Part 391 – Qualification of Drivers.

Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 81.04.405 allows penalties of \$100 for each violation. In the case of an ongoing violation, every day's continuance is considered a separate and distinct violation. RCW 81.04.530 allows penalties of \$1,500 against carriers that conduct commercial motor vehicle operations without having a controlled substance and alcohol testing program in place.

On October 12, 2020, Commission Motor Carrier Investigator Meranda Bilbrey completed a routine safety investigation of Ed's Moving and documented the following violations:

- Thirteen violations of WAC 480-15-555 Failure to complete a criminal background check for every person the carrier intends to hire. Ed's Moving failed to conduct criminal background checks for prospective employees Joshua Hoover, Sean Karlson, Roland Grandberry, Nicolas Matias, Michael Petersohn, Jonathan Scruggs, Philip Faamama, Nicholas Lund, Philip Anjen, Jeffery Namdrik, Robert Waits, Tonie Vo, and Brianna Diaz.
- One violation of 49 CFR § 382.115(a) Failing to implement an alcohol and/or controlled substances testing program on the date the employer begins commercial motor vehicle operations. The Company failed to implement a controlled substance and alcohol testing program.
- One violation of 49 CFR § 383.23(a) Operating a commercial motor vehicle without a valid commercial driver's license (CDL). Ed's Moving allowed driver Michael Petersohn to operate a commercial motor vehicle without a valid CDL on February 5, 2020.

- One hundred forty-three violations of 49 CFR § 391.45(a) Using a driver not medically examined and certified. The Company allowed drivers Joshua Hoover, Sean Karlson, and Nicolas Matias to operate a commercial motor vehicle without a valid medical certificate on 143 occasions between February 7 and July 7, 2020.
- Five violations of 49 CFR § 391.51(a) Failing to maintain a driver qualification file on each driver employed. Ed's Moving failed to maintain driver qualification files for Joshua Hoover, Sean Karlson, Nicolas Matias, Michael Petersohn, and Philip Faamama.
- Five violations of 49 CFR § 396.3(b) Failing to keep minimum records of inspection and vehicle maintenance. The Company failed to maintain a vehicle maintenance file for five of its commercial motor vehicles.
- Five violations of 49 CFR § 396.17(a) Using a commercial motor vehicle not periodically inspected. Ed's Moving failed to have an annual inspection performed on five of its commercial motor vehicles.

The Commission considered the following factors in determining the appropriate penalties for these violations:

- 1. How serious or harmful the violations are to the public. The violations noted are serious and potentially harmful to the public. Household goods moving companies that: (1) fail to conduct criminal background checks on their employees, (2) fail to implement a controlled substance and alcohol testing program, (3) allow drivers to operate commercial motor vehicles without the required CDLs, (4) use drivers that are not medically examined and certified, (5) fail to maintain driver qualification files, (6) fail to keep minimum records of inspection and vehicle maintenance, and (7) use commercial motor vehicles that have not been inspected put their customers, their customers' belongings, and the traveling public at risk. These violations present significant safety concerns.
- 2. Whether the violations were intentional. Considerations include:
  - Whether the Company ignored Commission staff's (Staff) previous technical assistance; and
  - Whether there is clear evidence through documentation or other means that shows the Company knew of and failed to correct the violation.

On February 29, 2016, the Commission received the Company's application to transfer permanent household goods moving authority. In the application, Robert Bloom, general manager of Ed's Moving, acknowledged the Company's responsibility to understand and comply with applicable motor carrier safety regulations.

On November 17, 2016, Robert Bloom attended household goods training provided by Staff. On April 17, 2019, Jackie Johnson, general manager of Ed's Moving, attended household goods training provided by Staff. On both occasions, the Company's general manager acknowledged receiving training pertaining to motor carrier safety regulations.

The Company knew or should have known about these requirements.

- 3. Whether the Company self-reported the violations. Ed's Moving did not self-report these violations.
- 4. Whether the Company was cooperative and responsive. The Company was not cooperative with Staff but did express a desire to come into compliance.
- 5. Whether the Company promptly corrected the violations and remedied the impacts. Ed's Moving has not provided Staff with evidence that it has corrected the violations.
- 6. **The number of violations.** Staff identified 16 violation types with a total of 187 individual occurrences.
- 7. **The number of customers affected.** The Company operates seven commercial motor vehicles, employs seven drivers, and reported 52,802 miles traveled in 2019. These safety violations present a public safety risk.
- 8. **The likelihood of recurrence.** Staff provided technical assistance with specific remedies to help the Company assess how well its safety management controls support safe operations and how to begin improving its safety performance. The Company was uncooperative with Staff but did express a desire to come into compliance with motor carrier safety regulations. Absent a significant commitment to prioritize safe operations, the violations are likely to reoccur.
- 9. The Company's past performance regarding compliance, violations, and penalties. On June 30, 2017, Ed's Moving was penalized \$1,000 in Docket TV-170521 for failing to file a complete annual report and pay regulatory fees by the May 1 deadline. The Commission suspended a \$750 portion of the penalty, subject to conditions. Ed's Moving satisfied all of the conditions and paid the penalty in full.
  - On October 15, 2018, the Commission entered a complaint against Ed's Moving, which sought the cancellation of the Company's household goods permit for failure to file a complete annual report and pay regulatory fees. On December 5, 2018, the Commission held Ed's Moving in default and canceled the Company's household goods permit. On March 25, 2019, the Commission reinstated the Company's household goods moving authority.
- 10. **The Company's existing compliance program.** Jackie Johnson is responsible for the Company's safety compliance program.
- 11. **The size of the Company.** Ed's Moving currently operates seven commercial motor vehicles and employs seven drivers. The Company reported \$1,404,630 in gross revenue for 2019.

The Commission's Enforcement Policy provides that some Commission requirements are so fundamental to safe operations that the Commission will issue mandatory penalties for each

occurrence of a first-time violation.<sup>1</sup> The Commission generally will assess penalties per type of violation, rather than per occurrence, for first-time violations of those critical regulations that do not meet the requirements for mandatory penalties. The Commission will assess penalties for any equipment violation meeting the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration's "out-of-service" criteria and also for repeat violations of critical regulations, including each occurrence of a repeat violation.

The Commission has considered these factors and determined that it should penalize Ed's Moving \$17,500, calculated as follows:

- Thirteen violations of WAC 480-15-555 Failure to complete a criminal background check for every person the carrier intends to hire. The Commission assesses a penalty of \$100 for each occurrence of this violation, for a total of \$1,300.
- One violation of 49 CFR § 382.115(a) Failing to implement an alcohol and/or controlled substances testing program on the date the employer begins commercial motor vehicle operations. The Commission assesses a penalty of \$1,500 for this acute violation.
- One violation of 49 CFR § 383.23(a) Operating a commercial motor vehicle without a valid CDL. The Commission assesses a penalty of \$100 for this violation.
- One hundred forty-three violations of 49 CFR § 391.45(a) Using a driver not medically examined and certified. The Commission assesses a penalty of \$100 for each occurrence of this violation, for a total of \$14,300.
- Five violations of 49 CFR § 391.51(a) Failing to maintain driver qualification file on each driver employed. The Commission assesses a "per category" penalty of \$100 for these first-time violations.
- Five violations of 49 CFR § 396.3(b) Failing to keep minimum records of inspection and vehicle maintenance. The Commission assesses a "per category" penalty of \$100 for these first-time violations.
- Five violations of 49 CFR § 396.17(a) Using a commercial motor vehicle not periodically inspected. The Commission assesses a "per category" penalty of \$100 for these first-time violations.

This information, if proven at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, is sufficient to support the penalty assessment.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe any or all of the violations did not occur, you may deny committing the violation(s) and contest the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. Alternatively, if there is a reason for any or all of the violations that you believe should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of the

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> Docket A-120061 – Enforcement Policy of the Washington Utilities & Transportation Commission – Section V.

penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for hearing only if material issues of law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. Any request to contest the violation(s) or for mitigation of the penalty must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. *See* RCW 81.04.405.

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation(s) or application for mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of their decision.

### You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:

- Pay the amount due.
- Contest the occurrence of the violation(s).
- Admit the violations but request mitigation of the penalty amount.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and submit it electronically through the Commission's web portal **within FIFTEEN** (15) **days** after you receive this notice. If you are unable to use the web portal, you may submit it via email to records@utc.wa.gov. If you are unable to submit the form electronically, you may send a paper copy to the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission, PO Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250.

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may take additional enforcement action, including but not necessarily limited to suspending or revoking your certificate to provide regulated service, assessing additional penalties, or referring this matter to the Office of the Attorney General for collection.

DATED at Lacey, Washington, and effective October 28, 2020.

/s/Rayne Pearson
RAYNE PEARSON
Director, Administrative Law Division

# WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION PENALTY ASSESSMENT TV-200876

**PLEASE NOTE:** You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed. I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under oath, the following statements.

oath, the	e followin	g statements.	r urose muners, r nereej mune, under	
[ ] 1.	<b>Payment of penalty.</b> I admit that the violations occurred and enclose \$17,500 in payment of the penalty.			
[ ] 2.	Contest the violation(s). I believe that the alleged violation(s) did not occur for the reasons I describe below (if you do not include reasons supporting your contest here, your request will be denied):  [ ] a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to an administrative law judge for a decision.			
OR	[ ] b)	I ask for a Commission decision base above.	d solely on the information I provide	
[ ] 3.	be reduc	<b>Application for mitigation.</b> I admit the violations, but I believe that the penalty should be reduced for the reasons set out below ( <b>if you do not include reasons supporting your application here, your request will be denied</b> ):		
	[ ] a)	I ask for a hearing to present evidence an administrative law judge for a dec	e on the information I provide above to ision.	
OR	[ ] b)	I ask for a Commission decision base above.	d solely on the information I provide	
		enalty of perjury under the laws of the ation I have presented on any attachme	State of Washington that the foregoing, nts, is true and correct.	
Dated: _		[month/day/year], at	[city, state]	
Name of	f Respond	lent (company) – please print	Signature of Applicant	

### RCW 9A.72.020:

"Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime, and the actor's mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony."