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Recommendation 
 
Commission staff (staff) recommends the commission waive reinstatement application fees for 
charter and excursion, household goods, non-profit buses, and common carrier companies whose 
operating authority was cancelled or can demonstrate that the company was unable to afford 
insurance leading to involuntary cancellation of the companies operating authority due to the 
COVID-19 pandemic and Governor’s Proclamation, provided these companies meet applicable 
industry stipulations and apply within 90 days of the entire state reaching phase four of “Stay 
Home – Stay Healthy” restrictions. 
 
Discussion 
 
On February 29, 2020, Governor Inslee issued Proclamation 20-05, which declared a state of 
emergency in all counties in the State of Washington due to the worldwide outbreak of COVID-
19. On March 23, 2020, the Governor issued Proclamation 20-25, “Stay Home – Stay Healthy,” 
which prohibits all people in the State of Washington from leaving their home or place of 
residence except to conduct or participate in (1) essential activities, and/or (2) employment in 
providing essential business services. 

 
Following the COVID-19 outbreak and Governor’s Proclamations, commission regulated 
transportation companies experienced a significant decrease in business or were prohibited to 
operate. The conditions of the pandemic and Governor’s Proclamations caused significant 
economic turmoil and hardship for these businesses. In the subsequent weeks, many companies 
struggled to afford the commercial automobile liability insurance required by their applicable 
industry Washington Administrative Code (WAC) rules. Many companies voluntarily cancelled 
their operating authority, allowing them to reduce insurance rates and avoid involuntary 
cancellation. Other companies stopped paying when they were no longer able to afford insurance 
and subsequently had their operating authority cancelled involuntarily.  
 
On May 4, 2020, Governor Inslee issued Proclamation 20-25.3 which amended the previous 
“Stay Home – Stay Healthy” orders and allowed for a phased return to normal travel in 
Washington. Following this, commission regulated transportation companies with cancelled 
operating authority began the reinstatement application process.   
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Staff recommends the commission, on its own initiative, waive the reinstatement application fees 
for commission regulated transportation companies that voluntarily cancelled their operating 
authority or can demonstrate that they were unable to afford insurance leading to involuntary 
cancellation of their operating authority due to the COVID-19 pandemic and Governor’s 
Proclamation. Staff further recommends charter and excursion carriers, household goods carriers, 
non-profit buses, and common carriers that have no outstanding penalties owed to the 
commission or have any open consumer complaints. Additionally, staff recommends that all 
industry companies, including common carriers must apply within 90 days of the entire state 
reaching phase four of “Stay Home – Stay Healthy” restrictions. 
 
Staff finds that the exemption is consistent with the purposes underlying regulation and 
applicable statues. Granting an industry-wide exemption for commission regulated transportation 
companies that voluntarily cancelled their operating authority or can demonstrate that they were 
unable to afford insurance leading to involuntary cancellation of their operating authority due to 
the COVID-19 pandemic and Governor’s Proclamation, rather than requiring each individual 
industry carrier to submit individual requests for exemptions is a more efficient use of 
commission resources. This will proactively address the economic impacts of the current health 
crisis on the regulated transportation industry, as well as provide relief to regulated transportation 
companies.   
 
In summary, many charter and excursion service companies, household goods companies, 
common carriers and non-profit buses who have had canceled operating authority due to the 
COVID-19 pandemic and Governor’s Proclamation(s) are applying for reinstatement of 
operating authority. These companies have endured significant economic turmoil and financial 
hardship. Granting industrywide exemptions from reinstatement fees is an efficient use of 
commission resources. It also addresses the economic impact of the current health crisis on the 
regulated transportation industry, as well as provides relief for regulated transportation 
companies. 
 
Conclusion 
 
Staff recommends the commission waive reinstatement application fees from charter and 
excursion, household goods, non-profit buses, and common carriers that voluntarily cancelled 
their operating authority or can demonstrate that they were unable to afford insurance leading to 
involuntary cancellation of their operating authority due to the COVID-19 pandemic and 
Governor’s Proclamation, provided these companies meet applicable industry stipulations and 
apply within 90 days of the entire state reaching phase 4 of “Stay Home – Stay Healthy” 
restrictions. 
 


