Service Date: April 6, 2020

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: TV-200275 PENALTY AMOUNT: \$100

A Perfect Mover LLC 4031 205th Pl SW Lynnwood, WA 98036

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that A Perfect Mover LLC (A Perfect Mover or Company) violated Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-15-555, Criminal Background Checks for Prospective Employees.

Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 81.04.405 allows penalties of \$100 for each violation. In the case of an ongoing violation, every day's continuance is considered a separate and distinct violation.

On March 24, 2020, Commission Motor Carrier Investigator Sandra Yeomans completed a routine safety investigation of A Perfect Mover and documented the following violation:

• One violation of WAC 480-15-555 – No carrier may hire a person who has been convicted of any crime involving theft, burglary, assault, sexual misconduct, identity theft, fraud, false statements, or the manufacture, sale, or distribution of a controlled substance within the past five years. A Perfect Mover's employee, Billy Pope, is ineligible to work in the household goods industry due to a disqualifying conviction.

The Commission considered the following factors in determining the appropriate penalties for this violation:

- 1. How serious or harmful the violations are to the public. The violation noted is serious and potentially harmful to the public. Household goods moving companies that hire employees with disqualifying criminal convictions put their customers and customer's belongings at risk. This violation presents serious safety concerns.
- 2. Whether the violations were intentional. Considerations include:
 - Whether the company ignored Commission staff's (Staff) previous technical assistance; and
 - Whether there is clear evidence through documentation or other means that shows the company knew of and failed to correct the violation.

On April 9 2019, the Company applied for household goods moving authority. In the application, Shane Freeman, owner of A Perfect Mover, acknowledged the Company's responsibility to understand and comply with applicable safety laws and regulations.

On April 17, 2019, Shane Freeman attended household goods training provided by Staff, and acknowledged receiving training pertaining to motor carrier safety regulations.

The Company knew, or should have known, about this requirement.

- 3. Whether the Company self-reported the violations. The Company did not self-report these violations.
- 4. Whether the Company was cooperative and responsive. A Perfect Mover was cooperative throughout the investigation, and expressed a desire to come into compliance.
- 5. Whether the Company promptly corrected the violations and remedied the impacts. A Perfect Mover has corrected this violation.
- 6. **The number of violations.** Staff identified eight violation types with a total of 19 individual occurrences.
- 7. **The number of customers affected.** A Perfect Mover traveled 13,356 miles in 2019. This safety violation presented a public safety risk.
- 8. **The likelihood of recurrence.** Staff provided technical assistance with specific remedies to help the Company assess how well its safety management controls support safe operations and how to begin improving its safety performance. The Company was cooperative with Staff, and expressed a desire to come into compliance. In light of these factors, Staff believes that the likelihood of recurrence is low.
- 9. The Company's past performance regarding compliance, violations, and penalties. A Perfect Mover has no history of violations or penalties.
- 10. **The Company's existing compliance program.** Shane Freeman is responsible for the Company's safety compliance program.
- 11. **The size of the Company.** The Company currently operates two commercial motor vehicles, and employs four drivers. The Company reported \$98,364 in gross revenue for 2019.

The Commission's Enforcement Policy provides that some Commission requirements are so fundamental to safe operations that the Commission will issue mandatory penalties for each occurrence of a first-time violation.¹ The Commission generally will assess penalties per type of

¹ Docket A-120061 – Enforcement Policy of the Washington Utilities & Transportation Commission – Section V.

violation, rather than per occurrence, for first-time violations of those critical regulations that do not meet the requirements for mandatory penalties. The Commission will assess penalties for any equipment violation meeting the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration's "out-of-service" criteria and also for repeat violations of critical regulations, including each occurrence of a repeat violation.

The Commission has considered these factors and determined that it should penalize A Perfect Mover \$100, calculated as follows:

• One violation of WAC 480-15-555 – No carrier may hire a person who has been convicted of any crime involving theft, burglary, assault, sexual misconduct, identity theft, fraud, false statements, or the manufacture, sale, or distribution of a controlled substance within the past five years. The Commission assesses a penalty of \$100 for this violation.

This information, if proven at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, is sufficient to support the penalty assessment.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violation did not occur, you may deny committing the violation and contest the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. Alternatively, if there is a reason for the violation that you believe should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for hearing only if material issues of law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. Any request to contest the violation or for mitigation of the penalty must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. See RCW 81.04.405.

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation or application for mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of his or her decision.

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:

- Pay the amount due.
- Contest the occurrence of the violation.
- Admit the violation but request mitigation of the penalty amount.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and submit it electronically through the Commission's web portal **within FIFTEEN** (15) **days** after you receive this notice. If you are unable to use the web portal, you may submit it via email to records@utc.wa.gov. If you are unable to submit the form electronically, you may send a paper copy to the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission, PO Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250.

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may take additional enforcement action, including but not necessarily limited to suspending or revoking your permit to provide regulated

service, assessing additional penalties, or referring this matter to the Office of the Attorney General for collection.

DATED at Lacey, Washington, and effective April 6, 2020.

/s/ Rayne Pearson RAYNE PEARSON Director, Administrative Law Division

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION PENALTY ASSESSMENT TV-200275

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed. I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under oath, the following statements.

m	atte	ers s	et forth b	•	e of those matters. I hereby make, under	•
[]	1.	Payment of penalty. I admit that the violation occurred and enclose \$100 in payment of the penalty.			
]] 2	2.	. Contest the violation. I believe that the alleged violation did not occur for the reason describe below (if you do not include reasons supporting your contest here, you request will be denied):			
			[] a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to an administrative law judge for a decision.			
	O	R	[] b)	I ask for a Commission decision ba above.	ased solely on the information I provide	
[] 3.			Application for mitigation. I admit the violation, but I believe that the penalty should be reduced for the reasons set out below (if you do not include reasons supporting your application here, your request will be denied):			
			[] a)	I ask for a hearing to present evider an administrative law judge for a de	nce on the information I provide above to lecision.	
	O	R	[] b)	I ask for a Commission decision ba above.	ased solely on the information I provide	
				nalty of perjury under the laws of th tion I have presented on any attachn	ne State of Washington that the foregoing, ments, is true and correct.	
D	ateo	d: _		[month/day/year], at	[city, state]	
_ N	ame	e of	Respond	ent (company) – please print	Signature of Applicant	

RCW 9A.72.020:

"Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime, and the actor's mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class