Service Date: March 30, 2020

#### WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

## NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: TV-200256 PENALTY AMOUNT: \$100

Affordable Movers LLC 317 84<sup>th</sup> Ave. SE Lake Stevens, WA 98258

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes Affordable Movers LLC (Affordable Movers or Company) violated Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-15-570, Driver Safety Requirements, which adopts Title 49 Code of Federal Regulations (49 CFR) Part 391 – Qualifications of Drivers.

Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 81.04.405 allows penalties of \$100 for each violation. In the case of an ongoing violation, every day's continuance is considered a separate and distinct violation.

On March 19, 2020, Commission Motor Carrier Investigator Francine Gagne completed a routine safety investigation of Affordable Movers and documented the following violations:

• Two violations of 49 CFR § 391.51(b)(9) – Failing to place a note related to the verification of the medical examiner's listing on the National Registry of Certified Examiners as required by 391.23(m) in driver qualification files. The Company failed to verify the medical examiner listed on the medical certificates of drivers Tuan Lam and Charles Siegmund with the national registry.

The Commission considered the following factors in determining the appropriate penalty for these violations:

- 1. How serious or harmful the violations are to the public. The violations noted are serious and potentially harmful to the public. Companies that fail to verify medical examiners with the national registry put the traveling public at risk. These violations present public safety concerns.
- 2. Whether the violations were intentional. Considerations include:
  - Whether the Company ignored Commission staff's (Staff) previous technical assistance; and
  - Whether there is clear evidence through documentation or other means that shows the Company knew of and failed to correct the violations.

On November 16, 2017, the Commission received Affordable Movers' application for household goods moving authority. In the application, Tuan Lam, owner of Affordable

Movers, acknowledged the Company's responsibility to understand and comply with applicable motor carrier safety regulations.

On February 15, 2018, Tuan Lam attended household goods training provided by Staff, and acknowledged receiving training pertaining to motor carrier safety regulations.

On August 13, 2019, Staff completed a routine safety investigation of the Company, wherein two violations of 49 CFR § 391.51(b)(9) were identified and technical assistance was provided.

The Company knew or should have known about these requirements.

- 3. Whether the Company self-reported the violations. Affordable Movers did not self-report these violations.
- 4. Whether the Company was cooperative and responsive. Affordable Movers was cooperative throughout the investigation and expressed a desire to come into compliance.
- 5. Whether the Company promptly corrected the violations and remedied the impacts. Affordable Movers has not provided Staff with evidence that it has corrected these violations.
- 6. **The number of violations.** Staff identified four violation types with a total of six individual occurrences.
- 7. **The number of customers affected.** The Company employs two drivers and operates two commercial motor vehicles. Affordable Movers traveled 40,000 intrastate miles in 2019. These safety violations presented a public safety risk.
- 8. **The likelihood of recurrence.** Staff provided technical assistance with specific remedies to help the Company assess how well its safety management controls support safe operations and how to begin improving its safety performance. The Company was cooperative with Staff, and expressed a desire to come into compliance. In light of these factors, Staff believes that the likelihood of recurrence is low.
- 9. The Company's past performance regarding compliance, violations, and penalties. On September 4, 2019, Affordable Movers was penalized \$200 in Docket TV-190697 for safety violations.
- 10. **The Company's existing compliance program.** Tuan Lam is responsible for the Company's safety compliance program.
- 11. **The size of the Company.** Affordable Movers currently operates two commercial motor vehicles and employs two drivers. The Company estimates \$256,052 in gross revenue for the calendar year ending December 31, 2019.

The Commission's Enforcement Policy provides that some Commission requirements are so fundamental to safe operations that the Commission will issue mandatory penalties for each

occurrence of a first-time violation.<sup>1</sup> The Commission generally will assess penalties per type of violation, rather than per occurrence, for first-time violations of those critical regulations that do not meet the requirements for mandatory penalties. The Commission will assess penalties for any equipment violation meeting the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration's "out-of-service" criteria and also for repeat violations of critical regulations, including each occurrence of a repeat violation.

The Commission has considered these factors and determined that it should penalize Affordable Movers \$100, calculated as follows:

• Two violations of 49 CFR § 391.51(b)(9) – Failing to place a note related to the verification of the medical examiner's listing on the National Registry of Certified Examiners required by 391.23(m) in driver qualification files. The Commission assesses a "per category" penalty of \$100 for these repeat violations.

This information, if proven at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, is sufficient to support the penalty assessment.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe either or both of the violations did not occur, you may deny committing the violation(s) and contest the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. Alternatively, if there is a reason for either or both of the violations that you believe should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for hearing only if material issues of law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. Any request to contest the violation(s) or for mitigation of the penalty must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. See RCW 81.04.405.

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation(s) or application for mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of their decision.

### You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:

- Pay the amount due.
- Contest the occurrence of the violation(s).
- Admit the violations but request mitigation of the penalty amount.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and submit it electronically through the Commission's web portal **within FIFTEEN** (15) **days** after you receive this notice. If you are unable to use the web portal, you may submit it via email to records@utc.wa.gov. If you are

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> Docket A-120061 – Enforcement Policy of the Washington Utilities & Transportation Commission – Section V.

unable to submit the form electronically, you may send a paper copy to the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission, PO Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250.

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may take additional enforcement action, including but not necessarily limited to suspending or revoking your certificate to provide regulated service, assessing additional penalties, or referring this matter to the Office of the Attorney General for collection.

DATED at Lacey, Washington, and effective March 30, 2020.

/s/ Rayne Pearson RAYNE PEARSON Director, Administrative Law Division

# WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION PENALTY ASSESSMENT TV-200256

**PLEASE NOTE:** You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed. I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under oath, the following statements.

Name of	f Respond	dent (company) – please print	Signature of Applicant
Dated: _		[month/day/year], at	[city, state]
I declare	_	enalty of perjury under the laws of the ginformation I have presented on an	e State of Washington that the foregoing, y attachments, is true and correct.
OR	[ ] b)	I ask for a Commission decision basabove.	sed solely on the information I provide
	[ ] a)	I ask for a hearing to present eviden an administrative law judge for a de	ace on the information I provide above to ecision.
[ ] 3.	<b>Application for mitigation.</b> I admit the violations, but I believe that the penalty should be reduced for the reasons set out below ( <b>if you do not include reasons supporting your application here, your request will be denied</b> ):		
OR	[ ] b)	I ask for a Commission decision basabove.	sed solely on the information I provide
	[ ] a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to an administrative law judge for a decision.		
[ ] 2.	Contest the violation(s). I believe that the alleged violation(s) did not occur for the reasons I describe below (if you do not include reasons supporting your contest here, your request will be denied):		
[ ] 1.	<b>Payment of penalty.</b> I admit that the violations occurred and enclose \$100 in payment of the penalty.		
		pelow and I have personal knowledge ag statements.	e of those matters. I hereby make, under

### RCW 9A.72.020:

"Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime, and the actor's mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class