WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: DG-200123 PENALTY AMOUNT: \$3,000 Investigation # 8135

UBI: 602-388-347 Phone: (360) 435-7171

Grandview Homes, LLC 129 N. Olympic Ave. Arlington, WA 98223

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that Grandview Homes, LLC, (Grandview Homes or Company) has violated Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 19.122.055 by failing to provide the required notice to facility operators through a one-number locator service before excavating and causing damage to an underground natural gas facility. RCW 19.122.055 states, in part, that any excavator who fails to notify a one-number locator service and causes damage to an underground hazardous liquid or gas facility is subject to a civil penalty of not more than \$10,000 for each violation.

Commission staff (Staff) conducted an investigation that included reviewing damage reports submitted by Cascade Natural Gas Corporation (CNGC) that identified natural gas damage events involving Grandview Homes. Accordingly, the Commission hereby notifies you that it is assessing a \$3,000 penalty against the Company on the following grounds:

First Violation

On November 8, 2018, Grandview Homes struck and damaged CNGC's natural gas line while excavating at 2 Fuchsia Dr., Bellingham, Washington. Grandview Homes did not request a dig ticket from a one-number locator service to locate underground utilities before excavating. On November 19, 2018, CNGC submitted a Damage Incident Reporting Tool (DIRT) report identifying the Company as the party responsible for damaging the natural gas service line. Staff was unable to find a valid dig ticket for Grandview Homes at this location on this date.

The Commission mailed an Alleged Violation of Washington Dig Law letter to the Company on March 21, 2019 that included detailed information about the requirements of Washington state's underground utility damage prevention act and the possibility of penalties for each violation.

Second Violation

On July 29, 2019, Grandview Homes struck and damaged CNGC's underground gas line while excavating during site development at 27707 64th Dr. NW, Stanwood, Washington. Before beginning excavation, Grandview Homes failed to request a dig ticket from a one-number locator service to locate underground utilities.

On August 5, 2019, CNGC submitted a DIRT report identifying the Company as the party responsible for damaging the natural gas service line. Staff was unable to find a valid dig ticket for the Company at this location on this date.

Staff recommends the Commission assess a \$3,000 penalty against Grandview Homes for two violations of RCW 19.122 for failing to provide the required notice to a one-number locator service before excavating, as follows:

- \$1,000 penalty for the violation of RCW 19.122.055 that occurred on November 8, 2018; and
- \$2,000 penalty for the violation of RCW 19.122.055 that occurred on July 29, 2019.

Staff's research indicates that Grandview Homes has submitted 19 requests to locate underground utilities since January 1, 2018. After considering all of the circumstances, Staff recommends that the Commission offer to suspend, and ultimately waive, \$2,000 of the \$3,000 penalty amount for a period of one year, subject to the conditions that: (1) the Company incurs no further violations of RCW 19.122 within 12 months of the date of this Notice; and (2) Company management and field crew responsible for excavation complete Dig Safe Training provided through the National Utility Contractors Association (NUCA) within 12 months of the date of this Notice.

The Commission agrees with Staff's recommendation and assesses a penalty of \$3,000, with an offer to suspend, and ultimately waive, \$2,000 of the \$3,000 penalty amount subject to the conditions listed above. If the Company fails to comply with the conditions, the \$2,000 suspended penalty will become immediately due and payable, in addition to any new penalties that the Commission may assess for additional violations.

These facts, if not contested or if proved at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, are sufficient to support the penalty assessment.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe either or both of the violations did not occur, you may deny committing the violation(s) and contest the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. Or, if there is a reason for either or both of the violations that you believe should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for hearing only if material issues of law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. Any request to contest the violations or for mitigation of the penalty must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. *See* RCW 81.04.405.

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violations or application for mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of their decision.

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:

- Pay the \$3,000 penalty amount due; or
- Pay \$1,000 of the penalty amount and notify the Commission that you accept the offer to suspend, and ultimately waive, the remaining \$2,000 of the penalty amount subject to the following conditions:
 - Company field crew responsible for excavation, including management, attend Dig Safe training provided through NUCA within twelve (12) months of the date of this Notice; and
 - <u>Submit documentation of attendance to the Commission within five (5) days of</u> <u>attending the training</u>; and
 - Commit no further violations of RCW 19.122 within 12 months of the date of this Notice; or
- Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violations; or
- Request mitigation to reduce the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission, P.O. Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250, **within FIFTEEN (15) days** after you receive this notice.

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the Attorney General for collection. The Commission may then sue you to collect the penalty.

DATED at Lacey, Washington, and effective March 10, 2020.

/s/ *Rayne Pearson* RAYNE PEARSON Director, Administrative Law Division

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION PENALTY ASSESSMENT DG-200123, Investigation # 8135

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under oath, the following statements:

- [] 1. **Payment of penalty.** I admit that the violations occurred and enclose \$3,000 in payment of the penalty.
- [] 2. Accept conditions. I admit that the violations occurred and have enclosed \$1,000 of the penalty amount. I also accept the Commission's offer to suspend, and ultimately waive, the remaining \$2,000 of the penalty amount subject to the following conditions:
 - Company employees, including ownership and field crew involved in excavations, attend Dig Safe training provided through NUCA within twelve (12) months of this Notice; and
 - Submit documentation of that attendance to the Commission within five (5) days of attending the training; and
 - Commit no further violations of RCW 19.122 within twelve (12) months of the date of this Notice.
- [] 3. Contest the violation(s). I believe that the alleged violation(s) did not occur for the reasons I describe below (if you do not include reasons supporting your contest here, your request will be denied):
 - [] a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to an administrative law judge for a decision.
 - OR [] b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide above.
- [] 4. **Request mitigation.** I admit the violations, but I believe that the penalty should be reduced for the reasons set out below (**if you do not include reasons supporting your application here, your request will be denied**):
 - [] a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to an administrative law judge for a decision.
 - OR [] b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide above.

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing, including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.

Dated:	[Month/Day/Year], at	[City, State]
--------	----------------------	---------------

RCW 9A.72.020:

"Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime, and the actor's mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony."