Service Date: February 14, 2020

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: TV-200079 PENALTY AMOUNT: \$800

Speedy Movers LLC 1924 Butler Loop Richland, WA 99354

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes Speedy Movers LLC (Speedy Movers or Company) violated Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-15-555, Criminal Background Checks for Prospective Employees, and WAC 480-15-570, Driver Safety Requirements, which adopts Title 49 Code of Federal Regulations (49 CFR) Part 391 – Qualification of Drivers, and 49 CFR Part 395 – Hours of Service of Drivers.

Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 81.04.405 allows penalties of \$100 for each violation. In the case of an ongoing violation, every day's continuance is considered a separate and distinct violation.

On January 30, 2020, Commission Motor Carrier Investigator Sandra Yeomans completed a routine safety investigation of Speedy Movers and documented the following violations:

- Six violations of WAC 480-15-555 Failure to complete a criminal background check for every person the carrier intends to hire. Speedy Movers failed to complete a background check for employees David Efran, Abel Ricardo, Jeremy Barwick, Noah Detloff, Derrick Frank, and Virginia Hartup.
- Two violations of 49 CFR § 391.51(b)(2) Failing to maintain inquiries into driver's driving record in driver's qualification file. The Company failed to investigate the driver's driving record for Alexander Howe and Jordan Wood.
- Ninety violations of 49 CFR § 395.8(a) Failing to require driver to make a record of duty status. The Company failed to require drivers Alex Howie, Allias Nelson and Matt Young to make a record of duty status on 90 occasions.

The Commission considered the following factors in determining the appropriate penalties for these violations:

1. How serious or harmful the violations are to the public. The violations noted are serious and potentially harmful to the public. Household goods moving companies that: (1) fail to complete background checks on employees, (2) fail to investigate driver's driving records, and (3) fail to require drivers to make a record of duty status put their customers, customers' belongings, and the traveling public at risk. These violations present public safety concerns.

- 2. Whether the violations were intentional. Considerations include:
 - Whether the Company ignored Commission staff's (Staff) previous technical assistance; and
 - Whether there is clear evidence through documentation or other means that shows the Company knew of and failed to correct the violation.

On June 8, 2004, the Commission received an application for household goods moving authority for Speedy Delivery LLC, the previous name of Speedy Movers. In the application, Matt Deter, owner of Speedy Movers, acknowledged the Company's responsibility to understand and comply with applicable motor carrier safety regulations.

On April 7, 2005, Staff completed a routine safety investigation of the Company, wherein violations were identified and technical assistance was provided.

On November 11, 2008, May 5, 2018, June 6, 2019, and October 10, 2019, Company representatives attended household goods training provided by Staff, and acknowledged receiving training pertaining to motor carrier safety regulations.

The Company knew or should have known about these requirements.

- 3. Whether the Company self-reported the violations. Speedy Movers did not self-report these violations.
- 4. Whether the Company was cooperative and responsive. The Company was uncooperative throughout the safety investigation, gave misleading and incorrect information throughout the investigation, failed to return phone calls and respond to email requests, and failed to correct violations as they were identified by Staff.
- 5. Whether the Company promptly corrected the violations and remedied the impacts. Speedy Movers has not provided Staff with evidence that it has corrected these violations.
- 6. **The number of violations.** Staff identified 17 violation types with a total of 117 individual occurrences
- 7. **The number of customers affected.** The Company employs three drivers and operates three commercial motor vehicles. Speedy Movers traveled 21,484 miles in 2018. These safety violations presented a public safety risk.
- 8. **The likelihood of recurrence.** Staff identified process breakdowns within Speedy Movers. Staff provided specific remedies to help the Company assess how well its safety management controls support safe operations and how to begin improving its safety performance. The Company was uncooperative and unresponsive with Staff. Absent a significant commitment to prioritize safe operations, the violations are likely to reoccur.

9. The Company's past performance regarding compliance, violations, and penalties. On July 5, 2006, the Company was penalized \$100 in Docket TV-060980 for failing to file a complete annual report and pay regulatory fees by the due date. On June 6, 2014, Speedy Movers was penalized \$300 in Docket TV-140990 for failing to file a timely annual report and pay regulatory fees.

On November 9, 2015, the Company's permit was cancelled due to insufficient proof of insurance. On December 3, 2015, the Company's permit was reinstated.

On June 29, 2017, the Company was penalized \$1,000 in Docket TV-170545 for failing to file a complete annual report and pay regulatory fees by the deadline. Speedy Movers failed to pay the penalty and the Commission forwarded the outstanding debt to a collection agency.

The Company has no history of penalties for safety violations.

- 10. **The Company's existing compliance program.** Darryl Lewis, Vice President of Operations, is responsible for the Company's safety compliance program.
- 11. **The size of the Company.** Speedy Movers currently operates three commercial motor vehicles and employs three drivers. The Company reported \$188,311 in gross revenue for 2018.

The Commission's Enforcement Policy provides that some Commission requirements are so fundamental to safe operations that the Commission will issue mandatory penalties for each occurrence of a first-time violation. The Commission generally will assess penalties per type of violation, rather than per occurrence, for first-time violations of those critical regulations that do not meet the requirements for mandatory penalties. The Commission will assess penalties for any equipment violation meeting the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration's "out-of-service" criteria and also for repeat violations of critical regulations, including each occurrence of a repeat violation.

The Commission has considered these factors and determined that it should penalize Speedy Movers \$800, calculated as follows:

- Six violations of WAC 480-15-555 Failure to complete a criminal background check for every person the carrier intends to hire. The Commission assesses a penalty of \$100 for each occurrence of this violation, for a total of \$600.
- Two violations of 49 CFR § 391.51(b)(2) Failing to maintain inquiries into driver's driving record in driver's qualification file. The Commission assesses a "per category" penalty of \$100 for these first-time violations.

¹ Docket A-120061 – Enforcement Policy of the Washington Utilities & Transportation Commission – Section V.

• Ninety violations of 49 CFR § 395.8(a) – Failing to require driver to make a record of duty status. The Commission assesses a "per category" penalty of \$100 for these first-time violations.

This information, if proven at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, is sufficient to support the penalty assessment.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe any or all of the violations did not occur, you may deny committing the violation(s) and contest the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. Alternatively, if there is a reason for any or all of the violations that you believe should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for hearing only if material issues of law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. Any request to contest the violation(s) or for mitigation of the penalty must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. See RCW 81.04.405.

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation(s) or application for mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of their decision.

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:

- Pay the amount due.
- Contest the occurrence of the violation(s).
- Admit the violations but request mitigation of the penalty amounts.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and submit it electronically through the Commission's web portal **within FIFTEEN** (15) **days** after you receive this notice. If you are unable to use the web portal, you may submit it via email to records@utc.wa.gov. If you are unable to submit the form electronically, you may send a paper copy to the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission, PO Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250.

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may take additional enforcement action, including but not necessarily limited to suspending or revoking your certificate to provide regulated service, assessing additional penalties, or referring this matter to the Office of the Attorney General for collection.

DATED at Lacey, Washington, and effective February 14, 2020.

/s/ Rayne Pearson RAYNE PEARSON Director, Administrative Law Division

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION PENALTY ASSESSMENT TV-200079

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed. I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under oath, the following statements.

matters	set forth b	pelow and I have personal knowledge statements.	ge of those matters. I hereby make, under
[] 1.	Payment of penalty. I admit that the violations occurred and enclose \$800 in payment of the penalty.		
[] 2.	Contest the violation(s). I believe that the alleged violation(s) did not occur for reasons I describe below (if you do not include reasons supporting your content, your request will be denied):		
		I ask for a hearing to present evidenistrative law judge for a decision.	ence on the information I provide above to
OR	[] b)	I ask for a Commission decision b above.	ased solely on the information I provide
[] 3.	Application for mitigation. I admit the violations, but I believe that the penalty should be reduced for the reasons set out below (if you do not include reasons supporting your application here, your request will be denied):		
	[] a)	I ask for a hearing to present evide an administrative law judge for a c	ence on the information I provide above to decision.
OR	[] b)	I ask for a Commission decision b above.	ased solely on the information I provide
	-	enalty of perjury under the laws of the tion I have presented on any attach	he State of Washington that the foregoing, ments, is true and correct.
Dated: _		[month/day/year], at _	[city, state]
Name o	f Respond	lent (company) – please print	Signature of Applicant

RCW 9A.72.020:

"Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime, and the actor's mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class