
Service Date: November 12, 2019 

 

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

 

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE 

FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES 

 

 

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: DG-190886 

PENALTY AMOUNT: $5,000 

 Investigation # 8098 

 

 UBI:  602-284-620

Four Seasons Landscaping, Inc. Phone: (509) 489-5707

6506 West Alderbrook Lane  

Spokane, WA 99224 

  

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that Four 

Seasons Landscaping, Inc., (Four Seasons Landscaping or Company) has violated Revised Code of 

Washington (RCW) 19.122.30(2) by failing to provide the required notice to facility operators 

through a one-number locator service not less than two business days before excavating. RCW 

19.122.055 states, in part, that any excavator who fails to notify a one-number locator service and 

causes damage to an underground hazardous liquid or gas facility is subject to a civil penalty of 

not more than $10,000 for each violation. 

 

Commission staff (Staff) conducted an investigation that included reviewing damage reports 

submitted by Avista Corporation (Avista) that identified two natural gas damage events involving 

Four Seasons Landscaping. Accordingly, the Commission hereby notifies you that it is assessing a 

$5,000 penalty against the Company on the following grounds: 

 

First Violation 

On May 10, 2018, Four Seasons Landscaping struck and damaged a natural gas line 

operated by Avista while excavating on Elena Lane in Chattaroy, Washington. Four 

Seasons Landscaping did not request a dig ticket from a one-number locator service to 

locate underground utilities before excavating. On June 29, 2018, Avista submitted a 

Damage Incident Reporting Tool (DIRT) report identifying the Company as the party 

responsible for damaging the natural gas service line. Staff was unable to find a valid dig 

ticket for Four Seasons Landscaping at this location on this date. 

 

The Commission mailed an Alleged Violation of Washington Dig Law letter to the 

Company on August 10, 2018, that included detailed information about the requirements of 

Washington state’s underground utility damage prevention act and the possibility of 

penalties for each violation. 

 

Second Violation 

On June 19, 2019, Four Seasons Landscaping struck and damaged Avista’s underground 

gas line while excavating at 3809 S. Geiger Blvd., Spokane, Washington. Before beginning 

excavation, Four Seasons Landscaping failed to wait the required two full business days 
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after submitting utility locate request #19260595 from the one-number locator service on 

June 18, 2019. 

 

On July 2, 2019, Avista submitted a DIRT report identifying the Company as the party 

responsible for damaging the natural gas service line. Staff was unable to find a valid dig 

ticket for the Company at this location on this date. 

  

 

Staff recommends the Commission assess a $5,000 penalty against Four Seasons Landscaping for 

two violations of RCW 19.122 for failing to provide the required notice to a one-number locator 

service before excavating, as follows: 

 

 $2,500 penalty for the violation of RCW 19.122.030(2) that occurred on May 10, 

2018; and 

 $2,500 penalty for the violation of RCW 19.122.030(2) that occurred on June 19, 

2019. 

 

The Commission agrees with Staff’s recommendation and assesses a penalty of $5,000. 

 

These facts, if not contested or if proved at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, are sufficient 

to support the penalty assessment. 

 

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violations did not occur, you may deny 

committing the violations and contest the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in 

writing. Or, if there is a reason for the violations that you believe should excuse you from the 

penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of the penalty through evidence presented at a 

hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for hearing only if material issues of 

law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. Any request to contest 

the violations or for mitigation of the penalty must include a written statement of the reasons 

supporting that request. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. See 

RCW 81.04.405. 

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the 

Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violations or application for 

mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The 

administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of his or her decision. 

 

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following: 

 

 Pay the $5,000 penalty amount due; or 

 Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violations; or 

 Request mitigation to reduce the amount of the penalty. 

 

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities and 

Transportation Commission, P.O. Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250, within 

FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notice. 
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If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the 

Attorney General for collection. The Commission may then sue you to collect the penalty.  

 

DATED at Lacey, Washington, and effective November 12, 2019. 

 

 

/s/ Rayne Pearson 

       RAYNE PEARSON 

Director, Administrative Law Division



 

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

PENALTY ASSESSMENT DG-190886, Investigation # 8098 

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission within 

15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed. 

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false 

statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the 

matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under oath, the 

following statements: 

[   ]  1. Payment of penalty. I admit that the violations occurred and enclose $5,000 in payment of 

the penalty. 

 
  

[   ]  2. Contest the violation. I believe that the alleged violations did not occur for the reasons I 

describe below (if you do not include reasons supporting your contest here, your 

request will be denied): 

[   ]  a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to an 

administrative law judge for a decision. 

     OR [   ]  b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide above. 

 

 

[   ]  3. Request mitigation. I admit the violations, but I believe that the penalty should be reduced 

for the reasons set out below (if you do not include reasons supporting your application 

here, your request will be denied): 

[   ]  a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to an 

administrative law judge for a decision. 

     OR [   ]  b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide above. 

 

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing, 

including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct. 

 

 

Dated: __________________ [Month/Day/Year], at ______________________ [City, State] 

 

 

 _____________________________________  ___________________________ 

Name of Respondent (Company) – please print  Signature of Applicant 

 

RCW 9A.72.020: 

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official 

proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath required or 

authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime, 

and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a defense to a prosecution 

under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.”   


