Service Date: November 22, 2019

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: DG-190884 PENALTY AMOUNT: \$5,000 Investigation # 8100

> UBI: 603-277-087 Phone: (509) 881-5572

ASP Earthworks LLC 1505 Erin Pl. Wenatchee, WA 98801

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that ASP Earthworks LLC (ASP Earthworks or Company) has violated Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 19.122.030(2) by failing to provide the required notice to facility operators through a one-number locator service not less than two full business days before excavating. RCW 19.122.055 states, in part, that any excavator who fails to notify a one-number locator service and causes damage to an underground hazardous liquid or gas facility is subject to a civil penalty of not more than \$10,000 for each violation.

Commission staff (Staff) conducted an investigation that included reviewing damage reports submitted by Cascade Natural Gas Corporation (CNGC) and Avista Corporation (Avista) that identified natural gas damage events involving ASP Earthworks. Accordingly, the Commission hereby notifies you that it is assessing a \$5,000 penalty against the Company on the following grounds:

First Violation

On August 30, 2018, ASP Earthworks struck and damaged a natural gas line operated by Avista while excavating at 1410 Jefferson St., Davenport, Washington. ASP Earthworks did not request a dig ticket from a one-number locator service to locate underground utilities at least two full business days before excavating. On September 10, 2018, Avista submitted a Damage Incident Reporting Tool (DIRT) report identifying the Company as the party responsible for damaging the natural gas service line. Staff was unable to find a valid dig ticket for ASP Earthworks at this location for the date the damage occured.

The Commission mailed an Alleged Violation of Washington Dig Law letter to the Company on November 21, 2018, that included detailed information about the requirements of Washington state's underground utility damage prevention act and the possibility of penalties for each violation.

Second Violation

On May 1, 2019, ASP Earthworks struck and damaged an underground gas line operated by CNGC while excavating during building construction at 20 N. Franklin Ave., Wenatchee, Washington. Before beginning excavation, ASP Earthworks failed to request a dig ticket from a one-number locator service to locate underground utilities.

On May 1, 2019, CNGC submitted a DIRT report identifying the Company as the party responsible for damaging the natural gas service line. Staff was unable to find a valid dig ticket for the Company at this location for the date the damage occurred.

Staff recommends the Commission assess a \$5,000 penalty against ASP Earthworks for two violations of RCW 19.122 for failing to provide the required notice to a one-number locator service before excavating, as follows:

- \$2,500 penalty for the violation of RCW 19.122.030(2) that occurred on August 30, 2018; and
- \$2,500 penalty for the violation of RCW 19.122.030(2) that occurred on May 1, 2019.

The Commission agrees with Staff's recommendation and assesses a penalty of \$5,000.

These facts, if not contested or if proved at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, are sufficient to support the penalty assessment.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violations did not occur, you may deny committing the violations and contest the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. Or, if there is a reason for the violations that you believe should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for hearing only if material issues of law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. Any request to contest the violations or for mitigation of the penalty must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. See RCW 81.04.405.

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violations or application for mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of his or her decision.

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:

- Pay the \$5,000 penalty amount due; or
- Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violations; or
- Request mitigation to reduce the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission, P.O. Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250, **within FIFTEEN (15) days** after you receive this notice.

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the Attorney General for collection. The Commission may then sue you to collect the penalty.

DATED at Lacey, Washington, and effective November 22, 2019.

/s/ Rayne Pearson
RAYNE PEARSON
Director, Administrative Law Division

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

PENALTY ASSESSMENT DG-190884, Investigation # 8100

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under oath, the following statements:

	C		
[] 1.	Payment of penalty. I admit that the violations occurred and enclose \$5,000 in payment of the penalty.		
[] 2.	Contest the violation. I believe that the alleged violations did not occur for the reasons I describe below (if you do not include reasons supporting your contest here, your request will be denied):		
OR	[] a) [] b)	administrative law judge for a decision.	<u>-</u>
[] 3.	Request mitigation. I admit the violations, but I believe that the penalty should be red for the reasons set out below (if you do not include reasons supporting your applica here, your request will be denied):		
OR	[] a) [] b)	I ask for a hearing to present evidence of administrative law judge for a decision. I ask for a Commission decision based s	<u>-</u>
	-	enalty of perjury under the laws of the Station I have presented on any attachments	
Dated: _		[Month/Day/Year], at	[City, State]
Name of	f Respond	lent (Company) – please print	Signature of Applicant

RCW 9A.72.020:

"Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime, and the actor's mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony."