
  Service Date: September 6, 2019 

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE 

FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES 

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: TV-190694 

PENALTY AMOUNT: $6,100 

Iron Man Movers and Storage, Inc. 

135 Kelly Road 

Bellingham, WA 98226 

 

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that Iron Man 

Movers and Storage, Inc., (Iron Man Movers or Company) violated Washington Administrative 

Code (WAC) 480-15-570, Driver Safety Requirements, which adopts Title 49 Code of Federal 

Regulations (49 CFR) Part 391 – Qualifications of Drivers.  

 

Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 81.04.405 allows penalties of $100 for each violation. In 

the case of an ongoing violation, every day’s continuance is considered a separate and distinct 

violation. 

On July 11, 2019, Commission Motor Carrier Investigator Sandra Yeomans completed a routine 

safety investigation of Iron Man Movers and documented the following violations: 

 Sixty-one violations of 49 CFR § 391.45(a) – Using a driver not medically examined 

and certified. Iron Man Movers allowed Eric Stewart to drive without having been 

medically examined and certified on 61 occasions between January 25, 2019, and June 

18, 2019.  

The Commission considered the following factors in determining the appropriate penalties for 

these violations: 

1. How serious or harmful the violations are to the public. The violations noted are 

serious and potentially harmful to the public. Household goods moving companies that 

use drivers not medically examined and certified put their customers, customers’ 

belongings, and the traveling public at risk. These violations present serious safety 

concerns. 

2. Whether the violations were intentional. Considerations include:  

 Whether the Company ignored Commission staff’s (Staff) previous technical 

assistance; and  

 Whether there is clear evidence through documentation or other means that shows 

the Company knew of and failed to correct the violation.   

On September 21, 2017, Staff completed a routine safety investigation of Iron Man 

Movers which resulted in a proposed “Conditional” safety rating. During the review, 
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Staff documented 305 violations of 49 CFR § 391.45(a), and provided the Company 

technical assistance. 

On February 15, 2018, Eric Stewart and Susan Stewart, owners of Iron Man Movers, 

attended household goods training provided by Staff, and acknowledged receiving 

training pertaining to motor carrier safety regulations. 

On April 10, 2018, Staff completed a focused safety review of Iron Man Movers. This 

was a non-rated safety investigation that resulted in the Company receiving technical 

assistance. 

The Company knew or should have known about these requirements.  

3. Whether the Company self-reported the violations. Iron Man Movers did not self-

report these violations. 

4. Whether the Company was cooperative and responsive. The Company was 

cooperative and made corrections throughout the safety investigation. 

5. Whether the Company promptly corrected the violations and remedied the impacts. 

The Company corrected the violations as they were identified by Staff. Specific to the 

violations of using a driver not medically examined and certified, Iron Man Movers has 

removed Eric Stewart from all driving duties, and this responsibility has been reallocated 

to a different employee. 

6. The number of violations. Staff identified seven violation types with a total of 73 

individual occurrences.  

7. The number of customers affected. The Company employs two drivers and operates 

three vehicles. Iron Man Movers traveled 26,720 miles in 2018. These violations present 

a serious safety risk to the public. 

8. The likelihood of recurrence. Staff identified process breakdowns within Iron Man 

Movers. Staff provided specific remedies to help the Company assess how well its safety 

management controls support safe operations and how to begin improving its safety 

performance. The Company was cooperative with Staff, and took immediate action to 

correct the violations; however, these are repeat violations from the September 21, 2017, 

safety investigation. 

9. The Company’s past performance regarding compliance, violations, and penalties.  
On May 29, 2015, the Company was penalized $100 in Docket TV-150908 for failing to 

file its annual report and pay regulatory fees by the deadline. 

 

On July 12, 2017, Iron Man Movers was penalized $21,100 in Docket TV-170205 for 

violations of Chapter 480-15 WAC and Tariff 15-C found during an investigation into the 

Company’s business practices. The Commission suspended a $10,600 portion of the 

penalty for a period of two years, subject to conditions. Iron Man Movers has paid the 
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non-suspended portion of the penalty in full. 

 

On November 8, 2017, Iron Man Movers was penalized $37,100 in Docket TV-171005 

for violations of WAC 480-15-555, WAC 480-15-560, and WAC 480-15-570 discovered 

during a routine safety investigation. The Commission suspended a $25,100 portion of 

the penalty for a period of two years, subject to the condition that the Company pays the 

$12,000 non-suspended portion of the penalty in accordance with the payment 

arrangements outlined in Order 02. Iron Man Movers is current with its payment 

arrangements, and is on schedule to have the non-suspended portion of the penalty paid 

in full on February 7, 2020. 

10. The Company’s existing compliance program. Eric Stewart is responsible for the 

Company’s safety compliance program. On July 22, 2019, Eric Stewart and Susan 

Stewart submitted to Staff a corrective action plan addressing the violations discovered 

during the routine safety investigation, and detailed policies and procedures the Company 

is implementing to correct the process breakdowns. 

11. The size of the Company. Iron Man Movers operates three vehicles and employs two 

drivers. The Company reported $160,362 in gross revenue for 2018. 

The Commission’s Enforcement Policy provides that some Commission requirements are so 

fundamental to safe operations that the Commission will issue mandatory penalties for each 

occurrence of a first-time violation.1 The Commission generally will assess penalties per type of 

violation, rather than per occurrence, for first-time violations of those critical regulations that do 

not meet the requirements for mandatory penalties. The Commission will assess penalties for any 

equipment violation meeting the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration’s “out-of-service” 

criteria and also for repeat violations of critical regulations, including each occurrence of a repeat 

violation. 

The Commission has considered these factors and determined that it should penalize Iron Man 

Movers $6,100, calculated as follows: 

 Sixty-one violations of 49 CFR § 391.45(a) – Using a driver not medically examined and 

certified. This is a repeat violation of a fundamental safety requirement. The Commission 

assesses a penalty of $100 for each occurrence of this violation, for a total of $6,100. 

This information, if proven at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, is sufficient to support the 

penalty assessment. 

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe any or all of the violations did not occur, 

you may deny committing the violation(s) and contest the penalty through evidence presented at 

a hearing or in writing. Alternatively, if there is a reason for any or all of the violations that you 

believe should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of the 

penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a 

                                                 
1 Docket A-120061 – Enforcement Policy of the Washington Utilities & Transportation Commission – 

Section V. 
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request for hearing only if material issues of law or fact require consideration of evidence and 

resolution in a hearing. Any request to contest the violation(s) or for mitigation of the penalty 

must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request. Failure to provide such a 

statement will result in denial of the request. See RCW 81.04.405. 

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the 

Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation(s) or application 

for mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The 

administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of his or her decision. 

 

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following: 

 Pay the amount due. 

 Contest the occurrence of the violation(s). 

 Admit the violations but request mitigation of the penalty amount. 

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and submit it electronically through the 

Commission’s web portal within FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notice. If you are 

unable to use the web portal, you may submit it via email to records@utc.wa.gov. If you are 

unable to submit the form electronically, you may send a paper copy to the Washington Utilities 

and Transportation Commission, PO Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250. 

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may take additional enforcement action, 

including but not necessarily limited to suspending or revoking your certificate to provide 

regulated service, assessing additional penalties, or referring this matter to the Office of the 

Attorney General for collection.   

DATED at Lacey, Washington, and effective September 6, 2019. 

/s/ Rayne Pearson 

RAYNE PEARSON 

Director, Administrative Law Division
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WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

PENALTY ASSESSMENT TV-190694 

 

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission 

within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed. 

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false 

statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the 

matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under 

oath, the following statements. 

[   ]  1. Payment of penalty. I admit that the violations occurred and enclose $6,100 in 

payment of the penalty. 

[   ]  2. Contest the violation(s). I believe that the alleged violation(s) did not occur for the 

reasons I describe below (if you do not include reasons supporting your contest 

here, your request will be denied):  

 [   ]  a)    I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to 

an administrative law judge for a decision. 

     OR [   ]  b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide 

above. 

[   ]  3. Application for mitigation. I admit the violations, but I believe that the penalty should 

be reduced for the reasons set out below (if you do not include reasons supporting 

your application here, your request will be denied): 

[   ]  a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to 

an administrative law judge for a decision. 

     OR [   ]  b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide 

above. 

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing, 

including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct. 

Dated: __________________ [month/day/year], at ________________________ [city, state] 

 _____________________________________  ___________________________ 

Name of Respondent (company) – please print  Signature of Applicant 
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RCW 9A.72.020: 

 

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official 

proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath 

required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an 

element of this crime, and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a 

defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class 


