
  Service Date: August 30, 2019 

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE 

FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES 

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: TN-190692 

PENALTY AMOUNT: $200 

Quality Behavioral Health 

900 7th Street 

Clarkston, WA 99403 

 

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that Quality 

Behavioral Health (Quality Behavioral Health or Company) violated Washington Administrative 

Code (WAC) 480-31-130, Operation of Motor Vehicles, which adopts Title 49 Code of Federal 

Regulations (CFR) Part 391 – Qualifications of Drivers.  

 

Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 81.04.405 allows penalties of $100 for each violation. In 

the case of an ongoing violation, every day’s continuance is considered a separate and distinct 

violation. 

On July 12, 2019, Commission Motor Carrier Investigator Wayne Gilbert completed a routine 

safety investigation of Quality Behavioral Health and documented the following violations: 

 Two violations of Title 49 CFR 391.45(a) – Using a driver not medically examined 

and certified. Quality Behavioral Health allowed its drivers Molly Mellstrom and Logan 

Zelmer to drive without having been medically examined and certified.  

The Commission considered the following factors in determining the appropriate penalties for 

these violations: 

1. How serious or harmful the violations are to the public. The violations noted are 

serious and potentially harmful to the public. Nonprofit transportation providers that use 

drivers not medically examined and certified put their customers and the traveling public 

at risk. These violations present serious safety concerns. 

2. Whether the violations were intentional. Considerations include:  

 Whether the Company ignored Commission staff’s (Staff) previous technical 

assistance; and  

 Whether there is clear evidence through documentation or other means that shows 

the Company knew of and failed to correct the violation.   

In September 2008, Staff completed a routine safety investigation of Asotin County 

Mental Health, d/b/a The Rodgers Counseling Center, which resulted in a proposed 

“Satisfactory” safety rating. 
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On June 16, 2011, the Company filed with the Commission an application to change its 

corporate name from Asotin County Mental Health, d/b/a The Rodgers Counseling 

Center, to Quality Behavioral Health. In the application, the Company acknowledged its 

responsibility to comply with transportation safety regulations.  

The Company knew or should have known about these requirements.  

3. Whether the Company self-reported the violations. Quality Behavioral Health did not 

self-report these violations. 

4. Whether the Company was cooperative and responsive. The Company was 

cooperative throughout the safety investigation, and expressed a desire to come into 

compliance. 

5. Whether the Company promptly corrected the violations and remedied the impacts. 

In response to the safety investigation, Quality Behavioral Health submitted a letter to 

Staff on July 16, 2019, which stated that the Company has corrected the violations, and 

has implemented new procedures to prevent future occurrences of the violations. 

6. The number of violations. Staff identified seven violation types with a total of 18 

individual occurrences.  

7. The number of customers affected. The Company employs 21 drivers, operates three 

motor vehicles with a seating capacity of seven or more passengers, and operates four 

vehicles that seat six or less passengers. Quality Behavioral Health traveled 15,253 miles 

in 2018. These violations presented a public safety risk. 

8. The likelihood of recurrence. Staff identified process breakdowns within Quality 

Behavioral Health. Staff provided specific remedies to help the Company assess how 

well its safety management controls support safe operations and how to begin improving 

its safety performance. The Company was cooperative, willingly accepted technical 

assistance, and took immediate action to correct the violations. 

9. The Company’s past performance regarding compliance, violations, and penalties.  
On July 29, 2013, Quality Behavioral Health was penalized $25 in Docket TN-130908 

for failing to file a timely annual report and pay regulatory fees. 

 

On May 21, 2015, the Company was penalized $200 in Docket TN-150988 for failing to 

file its annual report and pay regulatory fees by the deadline. 

 

On June 17, 2016, Quality Behavioral Health was penalized $1,000 in Docket TN-

160667 for failing to file its annual report and pay regulatory fees. 

 

The Company has no history of penalties for safety violations. 
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10. The Company’s existing compliance program. Robert Penkert, Operations Coordinator 

for Quality Behavioral Health, is responsible for the Company’s safety compliance 

program.  

11. The size of the Company. Quality Behavioral Health operates three motor vehicles with 

a seating capacity of seven or more passengers, operates four vehicles that seat six or less 

passengers, and employs 21 drivers. Quality Behavioral Health traveled 15,253 miles in 

2018. The Company reported $4,274,752 in gross revenue for 2018. 

The Commission’s Enforcement Policy provides that some Commission requirements are so 

fundamental to safe operations that the Commission will issue mandatory penalties for each 

occurrence of a first-time violation.1 The Commission generally will assess penalties per type of 

violation, rather than per occurrence, for first-time violations of those critical regulations that do 

not meet the requirements for mandatory penalties. The Commission will assess penalties for any 

equipment violation meeting the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration’s “out-of-service” 

criteria and also for repeat violations of critical regulations, including each occurrence of a repeat 

violation. 

The Commission has considered these factors and determined that it should penalize Quality 

Behavioral Health $200, calculated as follows: 

 Two violations of Title 49 CFR 391.45(a) – Using a driver not medically examined and 

certified. This is a violation of a fundamental safety requirement. The Commission 

assesses a penalty of $100 for each occurrence of this violation, for a total of $200. 

This information, if proven at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, is sufficient to support the 

penalty assessment. 

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe either or both of the violations did not 

occur, you may deny committing the violation(s) and contest the penalty through evidence 

presented at a hearing or in writing. Alternatively, if there is a reason for either or both of the 

violations that you believe should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation 

(reduction) of the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. The Commission 

will grant a request for hearing only if material issues of law or fact require consideration of 

evidence and resolution in a hearing. Any request to contest the violation(s) or for mitigation of 

the penalty must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request. Failure to 

provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. See RCW 81.04.405. 

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the 

Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation(s) or application 

for mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The 

administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of his or her decision. 

                                                 
1 Docket A-120061 – Enforcement Policy of the Washington Utilities & Transportation Commission – 

Section V. 
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You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following: 

 Pay the amount due. 

 Contest the occurrence of the violation(s). 

 Admit the violations but request mitigation of the penalty amount. 

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and submit it electronically through the 

Commission’s web portal within FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notice. If you are 

unable to use the web portal, you may submit it via email to records@utc.wa.gov. If you are 

unable to submit the form electronically, you may send a paper copy to the Washington Utilities 

and Transportation Commission, PO Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250. 

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may take additional enforcement action, 

including but not necessarily limited to suspending or revoking your certificate to provide 

regulated service, assessing additional penalties, or referring this matter to the Office of the 

Attorney General for collection.   

DATED at Lacey, Washington, and effective August 30, 2019. 

/s/ Rayne Pearson 

RAYNE PEARSON 

Director, Administrative Law Division
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WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

PENALTY ASSESSMENT TN-190692 

 

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission 

within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed. 

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false 

statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the 

matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under 

oath, the following statements. 

[   ]  1. Payment of penalty. I admit that the violations occurred and enclose $200 in payment 

of the penalty. 

[   ]  2. Contest the violation(s). I believe that the alleged violation(s) did not occur for the 

reasons I describe below (if you do not include reasons supporting your contest 

here, your request will be denied):  

 [   ]  a)    I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to 

an administrative law judge for a decision. 

     OR [   ]  b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide 

above. 

[   ]  3. Application for mitigation. I admit the violations, but I believe that the penalty should 

be reduced for the reasons set out below (if you do not include reasons supporting 

your application here, your request will be denied): 

[   ]  a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to 

an administrative law judge for a decision. 

     OR [   ]  b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide 

above. 

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing, 

including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct. 

Dated: __________________ [month/day/year], at ________________________ [city, state] 

 _____________________________________  ___________________________ 

Name of Respondent (company) – please print  Signature of Applicant 
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RCW 9A.72.020: 

 

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official 

proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath 

required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an 

element of this crime, and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a 

defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class 


