Service Date: July 31, 2019

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: DG-190626 PENALTY AMOUNT: \$3,000 Investigation # 7980

> UBI: 603-448-141 Phone: (206) 743-8054

Square Peg Construction LLC 164 Northeast 145th St. Shoreline, WA 98155

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that you have violated Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 19.122.030(6)(c) by failing to provide the required additional notice to facility operators through a one-number locator service for excavation extending beyond 45 days of a previous utility locate request. RCW 19.122.055 states, in part, that any excavator who fails to notify a one-number locator service and causes damage to an underground hazardous liquid or gas facility is subject to a civil penalty of not more than \$10,000 for each violation.

Commission staff (Staff) conducted an investigation that included reviewing damage reports submitted by Puget Sound Energy (PSE) that identified a natural gas damage event involving Square Peg Construction LLC (Square Peg or Company). Accordingly, the Commission hereby notifies you that it is assessing a penalty against you for \$3,000 on the following grounds:

On May 16, 2019, the Commission assessed a \$3,000 penalty against Square Peg for two violations of RCW19.122. The violations were for damage incidents to underground natural gas facilities on December 11, 2017, and October 4, 2018, that occurred because the Company failed to submit a request to locate underground utilities before excavating.

On February 15, 2019, while excavating at 4229 Evanston Ave N, Seattle, Washington, Square Peg workers struck and damaged an underground PSE gas facility. The Damage Information Reporting Tool report submitted by PSE on March 26, 2019, indicated that Square Peg was excavating without a valid request to locate underground utilities. Staff's investigation determined that Square Peg submitted utility locate request #18449569 on October 12, 2018, which expired 45 days later on November 26, 2018, 50 days before the damage incident.

Staff recommends the Commission assess a \$3,000 penalty against Square Peg for one violation of RCW 19.122.030(6)(c) for failing to provide the required additional notice to a one-number

locator service for excavation extending beyond the 45 days for which the locate request was valid, as follows:

• \$3,000 penalty for the violation of RCW 19.122.030(6)(c) that occurred on February 15, 2019.

The Commission agrees with Staff's recommendation and assesses a penalty of \$3,000.

These facts, if not contested or if proved at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, are sufficient to support the penalty assessment.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violation did not occur, you may deny committing the violation and contest the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. Or, if there is a reason for the violation that you believe should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for hearing only if material issues of law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. Any request to contest the violation or for mitigation of the penalty must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. See RCW 81.04.405.

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation or application for mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of his or her decision.

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:

- Pay the \$3,000 penalty amount due; or
- Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violation; or
- Request mitigation to reduce the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission, P.O. Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250, within **FIFTEEN (15) days** after you receive this notice.

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the Attorney General for collection. The Commission may then sue you to collect the penalty.

DATED at Lacey, Washington, and effective July 31, 2019.

/s/ Rayne Pearson RAYNE PEARSON Director, Administrative Law Division

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

PENALTY ASSESSMENT DG-190626, Investigation # 7980

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under oath, the following statements:

[]1.	Payment of penalty. I admit that the penalty.	t the violation occurred and enclose \$3,000 in payment of
[] 2.		that the alleged violations did not occur for the reasons I clude reasons supporting your contest here, your
OR	administrative law judge	esent evidence on the information I provide above to an e for a decision. decision based solely on the information I provide above
<u> </u>		violation, but I believe that the penalty should be reduced you do not include reasons supporting your applicationed):
OR	administrative law judge	esent evidence on the information I provide above to an e for a decision. decision based solely on the information I provide above
	1 1 1	e laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing, any attachments, is true and correct.
Dated: _	[Month/Day/	7/Year], at [City, State]
Name o	f Respondent (Company) – please p	print Signature of Applicant

RCW 9A.72.020:

"Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime, and the actor's mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony."