Service Date: June 18, 2019

UBI: 312-005-538

Phone: (425) 778-2557

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: DG-190370 PENALTY AMOUNT: \$2,000 Investigation #7966

Bodine Construction Services, Inc. 6009 212th St. SW Lynnwood, WA 98026

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that you have violated Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 19.122.030(2) by failing to request a dig ticket prior to performing an excavation. RCW 19.122.055 states, in part, that any excavator who fails to notify a one-number locator service and causes damage to a hazardous liquid or gas facility is subject to a civil penalty of not more than \$10,000 for each violation.

Commission staff (Staff) conducted an investigation that included reviewing damage reports submitted by Puget Sound Energy (PSE) that identified a natural gas damage event involving Bodine Construction Services, Inc. (Bodine or Company). Accordingly, the Commission hereby notifies you that it is assessing a penalty against you for \$2,000 on the following grounds:

(First Violation)

On September 20, 2018, Bodine struck and damaged a natural gas line operated by PSE while excavating at 7250 Old Redmond Rd., Redmond, Washington. Bodine did not request a dig ticket from a one-number locator service to locate underground utilities before excavating. On October 26, 2018, PSE submitted a Damage Incident Reporting Tool (DIRT) report identifying the Company as the party responsible for damaging the natural gas service line on September 20. Staff was unable to find a valid dig ticket for Bodine at this location on this date.

The Commission mailed an Alleged Violation of Washington Dig Law letter to the Company on January 16, 2019, that included detailed information about the requirements of Washington state's underground utility damage prevention act and the possibility of penalties for each violation.

(Second Violation)

On December 22, 2018, Bodine struck and damaged an underground PSE gas line while excavating during drainage construction at 12 W Intercity Ave., Everett, Washington. Before beginning excavation, the Company failed to request a dig ticket from a one-number locator service to locate underground utilities.

On January 28, 2019, PSE submitted a DIRT report identifying the Company as the party responsible for damaging the natural gas service line. Staff was unable to find a valid dig ticket for the Company at this location on this date.

Staff recommends the Commission assess a \$2,000 penalty against Bodine for two violations of RCW 19.122.030(2) for failing to provide the required notice to a one-number locator service not less than two business days before excavating, as follows:

- \$1,000 penalty for the violation of RCW 19.122.030(2) that occurred on September 20, 2018; and
- \$1,000 penalty for the violation of RCW 19.122.030(2) that occurred on December 22, 2018.

Staff's research and communication with Company management indicate that Bodine has a positive history of submitting utility locate requests, and that the violations appear to be the result of the Company's negligence rather than a lack of knowledge of the requirements of Washington state's dig law. Staff's investigation found that the Company holds weekly safety meetings with its staff and is constantly seeking to improve its practices and attention to safety in an effort to mitigate risk to its employees and the public. Since the Commission mailed the alleged violation letter to the Company, it has submitted 31 requests to locate underground utilities. After considering all of the circumstances, Staff recommends that the Commission offer to suspend \$1,500 of the penalty amount for a period of one year subject to the conditions that: (1) the Company's management and crew foremen involved in excavation attend Dig Safe training provided through the National Utility Contractors Association (NUCA) within 12 months of the date of this Notice; and (2) the Company commits no further violations of RCW 19.122 within 12 months of the date of this Notice.

The Commission agrees with Staff's recommendation and assesses a penalty of \$2,000, with an offer to suspend \$1,500 of the penalty subject to the conditions listed above. The Commission will waive the \$1,500 suspended penalty if the Company complies with both conditions. If the Company fails to comply with either of these conditions, the \$1,500 suspended penalty will become immediately due and payable, in addition to any new penalties that the Commission may assess for additional violations.

These facts, if not contested or if proved at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, are sufficient to support the penalty assessment.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe either or both of the violations did not occur, you may deny committing the violation(s) and contest the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. Or, if there is a reason for either or both of the violations that you believe should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for hearing only if material issues of law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. Any request to contest the violation(s) or for mitigation of the penalty must include a written

statement of the reasons supporting that request. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. *See* RCW 81.04.405.

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation(s) or application for mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of his or her decision.

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:

- Pay the \$2,000 penalty amount due; or
- Pay \$500 of the penalty amount and notify the Commission that you accept the offer to suspend, and ultimately waive, the remaining \$1,500 of the \$2,000 penalty subject to the following conditions:
 - Company employees, including management and crew foremen involved in excavations, attend Dig Safe training provided through NUCA within 12 months of the date of this Notice; and
 - Submit documentation of attendance to the Commission within five (5) days of attending the training; and
 - o Commit no further violations of RCW 19.122 within twelve (12) months of the date of this Notice; or
- Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of either or both of the violations; or
- Request mitigation to reduce the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission, P.O. Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250, **within FIFTEEN (15) days** after you receive this notice.

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the Attorney General for collection. The Commission may then sue you to collect the penalty.

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective June 18, 2019.

/s/ Rayne Pearson
RAYNE PEARSON
Director, Administrative Law Division

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

PENALTY ASSESSMENT DG-190370, Investigation # 7966

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under oath, the following statements:

]]	1.	Payment of penalty. I admit that the violations occurred and enclose \$2,000 in payment of the penalty.	
]	2.	 amount. I also accept the Commission's of \$1,500 of the penalty amount subject to the Company employees, including man excavations, attend Dig Safe training Notice; and Submit documentation of attendar attending the training; and 	ons occurred and have enclosed \$500 of the penalty fer to suspend, and ultimately waive, the remaining following conditions: agement and crew foremen involved in a provided through NUCA within 12 months of this face to the Commission within five (5) days of W 19.122 within twelve (12) months of the date of
]]	3.	Contest the violation. I believe that the alleged violations did not occur for the reasons I describe below (if you do not include reasons supporting your contest here, your request will be denied):	
			[] a) I ask for a hearing to present evidual administrative law judge for a de	dence on the information I provide above to an cision.
	(OR	[] b) I ask for a Commission decision	based solely on the information I provide above.
]]	4.	Request mitigation. I admit the violations, but I believe that the penalty should be reduced for the reasons set out below (if you do not include reasons supporting your application here, your request will be denied):	
	()R	administrative law judge for a de	lence on the information I provide above to an cision. based solely on the information I provide above.
	de	clar	are under penalty of perjury under the laws of ing information I have presented on any attac	the State of Washington that the foregoing,
D	ate	ed:	[Month/Day/Year], a	t [City, State]
_ N	an	ne c	of Respondent (company) – please print	Signature of Applicant

RCW 9A.72.020:

"Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime, and the actor's mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony."