Service Date: May 13, 2019

UBI: 600-184-764

Phone: (509) 226-0333

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: DG-190245 PENALTY AMOUNT: \$3,000 Investigation #7948

Eller Corporation 7902 North Starr Road Newman Lake, WA 99025

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that you have violated Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 19.122.030(2) by failing to request a dig ticket prior to performing an excavation. RCW 19.122.055 states, in part, that any excavator who fails to notify a one-number locator service and causes damage to a hazardous liquid or gas facility is subject to a civil penalty of not more than \$10,000 for each violation.

Commission staff (Staff) conducted an investigation that included reviewing damage reports submitted by Avista Corporation (Avista), which identified natural gas damage events involving Eller Corporation (Eller or Company). Accordingly, the Commission hereby notifies you that it is assessing a penalty against you for \$3,000 on the following grounds:

(First Violation)

On June 1, 2017, Eller struck and damaged a natural gas line operated by Avista while excavating at 17016 E Indiana Pkwy, Spokane Valley, Washington. The Company did not request a dig ticket from a one-number locator service to locate underground utilities before excavating. On July 11, 2018, Avista submitted a Damage Incident Reporting Tool (DIRT) report identifying the Company as the party responsible for damaging the natural gas service line on June 1. Staff was unable to find a valid dig ticket submitted by the Company for this location on this date.

The Commission mailed an Alleged Violation of Washington Dig Law letter to the Company on August 22, 2017, that included detailed information about the requirements of Washington State's underground utility damage prevention act and the possibility of penalties for each violation.

(Second Violation)

On October 30, 2018, Eller struck and damaged an Avista underground gas line while excavating at 8691 N Farmdale St., Spokane, Washington. Before beginning excavation, the Company failed to submit a request to locate underground utilities from a one-number locator service.

On November 9, 2018, Avista submitted a DIRT report identifying the Company as the party responsible for damaging the natural gas service line on October 30. Staff was unable to find a valid dig ticket for the Company at this location on this date.

Staff recommends the Commission assess a \$3,000 penalty against Eller Corporation for two violations of RCW 19.122.030(2) for failing to provide the required notice to a one-number locator service not less than two business days before excavating, as follows:

- \$1,000 penalty for the violation of RCW 19.122.030(2) that occurred on June 1, 2017; and
- \$2,000 penalty for the violation of RCW 19.122.030(2) that occurred on October 30, 2018.

Staff's research indicate that Eller Corporation has a positive history of submitting utility locate requests, and the violations appear to be the result of the Company's negligence rather than a lack of knowledge of the requirements of Washington state's dig law. Eller Corporation has submitted 66 utility locate requests since the Commission's August 2017 letter; 10 of those requests have been for the same jobsite where the June 1, 2017, damage incident occurred. After considering all of the circumstances, Staff recommends that the Commission offer to suspend \$1,500 of the \$3,000 penalty amount for a period of one year subject to the conditions that: (1) the Company's management and crew foremen involved in excavation attend Dig Safe training provided through the National Utility Contractors Association (NUCA) within 12 months of the date of this Notice; and (2) the Company incurs no further violations of RCW 19.122 within 12 months of the date of this Notice.

The Commission agrees with Staff's recommendation and assesses a penalty of \$3,000, with an offer to suspend \$1,500 of the penalty amount subject to the conditions listed above. The Commission will waive the \$1,500 suspended penalty amount if the Company complies with both conditions. If the Company fails to comply with either of these conditions, the \$1,500 suspended penalty amount will become immediately due and payable, in addition to any new penalties that the Commission may assess for additional violations.

These facts, if not contested or if proved at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, are sufficient to support the penalty assessment.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe either or both of the violations did not occur, you may deny committing the violations and contest the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. Or, if there is a reason for either or both of the violations that you believe should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for hearing only if material issues of law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. Any request to contest the violations or for mitigation of the penalty must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. See RCW 81.04.405.

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation(s) or application for mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of his or her decision.

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:

- Pay the \$3,000 penalty amount due; or
- Pay \$1,500 of the \$3,000 penalty amount and notify the Commission that you accept the offer to suspend, and ultimately waive, the remaining \$1,500 of the penalty amount subject to the following conditions:
 - Company employees, including management and crew foremen involved in excavations, attend Dig Safe training provided through NUCA within 12 months of the date of this Notice; and
 - Submit documentation of attendance to the Commission within five (5) days of attending the training; and
 - o **Commit no further violations** of RCW 19.122 within twelve (12) months of the date of this Notice; or
- Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of either or both of the violations; or
- Request mitigation to reduce the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission, P.O. Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250, **within FIFTEEN (15) days** after you receive this notice.

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the Attorney General for collection. The Commission may then sue you to collect the penalty.

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective May 13, 2019.

/s/ Rayne Pearson RAYNE PEARSON Director, Administrative Law Division

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

PENALTY ASSESSMENT DG-190245, Investigation # 7948

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under oath, the following statements:

]]	1.	Payment of penalty. I admit that the violations occurred and enclose \$3,000 in payment of the penalty.	
]	2.	\$3,000 penalty amount. I also accept the C waive, the remaining \$1,500 of the penalty Company employees, including mar excavations, attend Dig Safe training Notice; and Submit documentation of attendar attending the training; and	ons occurred and have enclosed \$1,500 of the ommission's offer to suspend, and ultimately amount subject to the following conditions: agement and crew foremen involved in g provided through NUCA within 12 months of this nee to the Commission within five (5) days of W 19.122 within twelve (12) months of the date of
]	3.	3. Contest the violation. I believe that the alleged violations did not occur for the reasons I describe below (if you do not include reasons supporting your contest here, your request will be denied):	
	(OR	administrative law judge for a de	dence on the information I provide above to an ecision. based solely on the information I provide above.
]	4.	•	
	()R	administrative law judge for a de	dence on the information I provide above to an ecision. based solely on the information I provide above.
			are under penalty of perjury under the laws of ing information I have presented on any attac	
D	ate	ed:	[Month/Day/Year], a	t [City, State]
_ N	an	ne c	of Respondent (company) – please print	Signature of Applicant

RCW 9A.72.020:

"Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime, and the actor's mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony."