Service Date: April 29, 2019

## WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

## NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: TV-190138 PENALTY AMOUNT: \$300

Homestead Move and Estate Services LLC 6101 N 35<sup>th</sup> Street Tacoma, WA 98407

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that Homestead Move and Estate Services LLC (Homestead or Company) violated Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-15-555, Criminal Background Checks for Prospective Employees; WAC 480-15-560, Equipment Safety Requirements, which adopts Title 49 CFR Part 396 – Inspection, Repair, and Maintenance; and WAC 480-15-570, Driver Safety Requirements, which adopts Title 49 CFR Part 391 – Qualifications of Drivers.

Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 81.04.405 allows penalties of \$100 for each violation. In the case of an ongoing violation, every day's continuance is considered a separate and distinct violation.

On February 26, 2019, Commission Motor Carrier Investigator Edward Steiner completed a routine safety investigation of Homestead and documented the following violations:

- One violation of WAC 480-15-555 Failing to acquire criminal background checks of prospective employees. The Company failed to acquire a criminal background check on employee Garret Clark.
- One violation of Title 49 CFR Part 391.51(a) Failing to maintain driver qualification file on each driver employed. The Company failed to maintain a driver qualification file for its employee Ryan Clausen.
- One violation of Title 49 CFR Part 396.17(a) Using a commercial motor vehicle not periodically inspected. The Company failed to have proof of an annual vehicle inspection.

The Commission considered the following factors in determining the appropriate penalties for these violations:

1. How serious or harmful the violations are to the public. The violations noted are very serious and potentially harmful to the public. Moving companies that: 1) fail to conduct criminal background checks on their employees, 2) fail to ensure that their drivers are licensed, medically examined and certified, and 3) fail to properly inspect their vehicles, put their customers as well as the traveling public at risk. These violations present serious safety concerns.

- 2. Whether the violations were intentional. Considerations include:
  - Whether the company ignored Commission staff's previous technical assistance;
     and
  - Whether there is clear evidence through documentation or other means that shows the company knew of and failed to correct the violation.

The Company applied for a household goods moving authority on May 19, 2016. In its application for authority, the Company Manager, Robin Clausen, acknowledged her responsibility to comply with applicable safety laws and regulations. On August 11, 2016, Company owner-managers, Robin Clausen, Randy Clausen, and Ryan Clausen attended household goods training provided by Commission staff (Staff). In its 2017 annual report, the Company listed Randy Clausen as the safety director. The Company knew or should have known about these requirements.

- 3. Whether the company self-reported the violations. The Company did not self-report these violations.
- 4. Whether the company was cooperative and responsive. Homestead was cooperative throughout the investigation and did express a desire to come into compliance.
- 5. Whether the company promptly corrected the violations and remedied the impacts. The Company promptly corrected each violation and provided documentation of such to Staff.
- 6. **The number of violations.** Staff identified seven violation types with a total of seven individual occurrences.
- 7. **The number of customers affected.** The Company employs one driver and operates one commercial motor vehicle. In 2018, the Company traveled 3,908 miles and conducted 24 household goods moves. A significant number of customers, as well as members of the traveling public, were potentially affected by these safety violations.
- 8. **The likelihood of recurrence.** The Commission does not know if Homestead is likely to repeat these safety violations. However, the Company was cooperative with Staff, willingly accepted technical assistance, and implemented procedures to reduce the likelihood of recurrence.
- 9. The company's past performance regarding compliance, violations, and penalties. This is the Company's first routine safety investigation.
- 10. **The company's existing compliance program.** Randy Clausen is responsible for the Company's safety compliance program.

11. **The size of the company.** Homestead is a small company with one driver and one vehicle. The Company reported \$115,905 in gross revenue for 2018.

The Commission's Enforcement Policy provides that some Commission requirements are so fundamental to safe operations that the Commission will issue mandatory penalties for each occurrence of a first-time violation. The Commission generally will assess penalties per type of violation, rather than per occurrence, for first-time violations of those critical regulations that do not meet the requirements for mandatory penalties. The Commission will assess penalties for any equipment violation meeting the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration's "out-of-service" criteria and also for repeat violations of critical regulations, including each occurrence of a repeat violation.

The Commission has considered these factors and determined that it should penalize Homestead \$300 for violations of WAC 480-15-555, Criminal Background Checks for Prospective Employees; WAC 480-15-560, Equipment Safety Requirements, which adopts Title 49 CFR Part 396 – Inspection, Repair, and Maintenance; and WAC-480-15-570, Driver Safety Requirements, which adopts Title 49 CFR Part 391 – Qualifications of Drivers, calculated as follows:

- One violation of WAC 480-15-555 failing to acquire criminal background checks on prospective employees. The Commission assesses a penalty of \$100 for one occurrence of this violation.
- One violation of Title 49 CFR Part 391.51(a) failing to maintain a driver qualification file on each driver employed. The Commission assesses a penalty of \$100 for this critical-type violation.
- One violation of Title 49 CFR Part 396.17(a) using a commercial motor vehicle not periodically inspected. The Commission assesses a penalty of \$100 for this critical-type violation.

This information, if proven at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, is sufficient to support the penalty assessment.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe any or all of the violations did not occur, you may deny committing the violation(s) and contest the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. Alternatively, if there is a reason for any or all of the violations that you believe should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for hearing only if material issues of law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. Any request to contest the violation(s) or for mitigation of the penalty must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. See RCW 81.04.405.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> Docket A-120061 – Enforcement Policy of the Washington Utilities & Transportation Commission – Section V.

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation(s) or application for mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of his or her decision. **You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice** to do one of the following:

- Pay the amount due.
- Contest the occurrence of the violations.
- Request mitigation to contest the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and submit it electronically through the Commission's web portal **within FIFTEEN** (**15**) **days** after you receive this notice. If you are unable to use the web portal, you may submit it via email to <a href="mailto:records@utc.wa.gov">records@utc.wa.gov</a>. If you are unable to submit the form electronically, you may send a paper copy to the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission, PO Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250.

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may take additional enforcement action, including but not necessarily limited to suspending or revoking your certificate to provide regulated service, assessing additional penalties, or referring this matter to the Office of the Attorney General for collection.

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective April 29, 2019.

/s/ Rayne Pearson
RAYNE PEARSON
Director, Administrative Law Division

## WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION PENALTY ASSESSMENT TV-190138

**PLEASE NOTE:** You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed. I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under oath, the following statements.

		pelow and I have personal knowledg og statements.	e of those matters. I hereby make, under
[ ] 1.	<b>Payment of penalty.</b> I admit that the violations occurred and enclose \$300 in payment of the penalty.		
[ ] 2.	Contest the violation(s). I believe that the alleged violation(s) did not occur for the reasons I describe below (if you do not include reasons supporting your contest here, your request will be denied):		
	[ ] a)	I ask for a hearing to present evide an administrative law judge for a d	nce on the information I provide above to ecision.
OR	[ ] b)	I ask for a Commission decision ba above.	sed solely on the information I provide
[ ] 3.	<b>Application for mitigation.</b> I admit the violations, but I believe that the penalty should be reduced for the reasons set out below ( <b>if you do not include reasons supporting your application here, your request will be denied</b> ):		
	[ ] a)	I ask for a hearing to present evide an administrative law judge for a d	nce on the information I provide above to ecision.
OR	[ ] b)	I ask for a Commission decision ba above.	sed solely on the information I provide
		enalty of perjury under the laws of thation I have presented on any attachr	e State of Washington that the foregoing, nents, is true and correct.
Dated: _		[month/day/year], at	[city, state]
Name o	f Respond	dent (company) – please print	Signature of Applicant

## RCW 9A.72.020:

"Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime, and the actor's mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony."