
  Service Date: April 11, 2019 

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE 

FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES 

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: TG-190089 

PENALTY AMOUNT: $1,000 

Fiorito Enterprises, Inc., & Rabanco Companies 

d/b/a Republic Services of Kent  

18500 N. Allied Way 

Phoenix, AZ 85054 

 

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that Fiorito 

Enterprises, Inc., & Rabanco Companies d/b/a Kent-Meridian Disposal, Allied Waste Services of 

Kent, and Republic Services of Kent (Republic Services or Company) violated Washington 

Administrative Code (WAC) 480-70-201, Vehicle and Driver Safety Requirements, which 

adopts Title 49 Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) Part 383 – Commercial Driver’s License 

Standards; Part 393 – Parts and Accessories Necessary for Safe Operation; and Part 396 – 

Inspection, Repair, and Maintenance.  

Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 81.04.405 allows penalties of $100 for each violation. In 

the case of an ongoing violation, every day’s continuance is considered a separate and distinct 

violation. 

On January 23, 2019, Commission Motor Carrier Investigator Wayne Gilbert completed a 

routine safety investigation of Republic Services and documented the following violations: 

 Eight violations of Title 49 CFR Part 383.37(a) – Knowingly allowing, requiring, 

permitting, or authorizing an employee to operate a commercial motor vehicle 

during any period in which the driver does not have a current commercial driver 

license or does not have a commercial driver license with the proper class or 

endorsements. The carrier allowed driver Ramon C. Perez to drive with a downgraded 

commercial driver license on eight occasions in December 2018.  

 One violation of Title 49 CFR Part 393.47(a) – Inadequate brakes for safe stopping. 

The right side, axle one brake was heavily contaminated with grease.1 This commercial 

motor vehicle was placed out of service as a result of this violation. 

 One violation of Title 49 CFR Part 396.3(a)(1) – Tires (general): Parts and 

accessories shall be in safe and proper operating condition at all times. The left side 

tire on axle one was making contact with the drag link when turning right.2 This 

commercial motor vehicle was placed out of service as a result of this violation. 

                                                 
1 Company vehicle number 2487. 

2 Company vehicle number 2456. 
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The Commission considered the following factors in determining the appropriate penalties for 

these violations: 

1. How serious or harmful the violations are to the public. The violations noted are very 

serious and potentially harmful to the public. Solid waste companies that fail to ensure 

their drivers are medically examined and certified put their customers as well as the 

traveling public at risk. A driver who potentially has an unknown medical condition 

presents serious safety concerns. Additionally, solid waste companies that have vehicles 

with inadequate brakes or tires mounted in a way that allows for contact with any part of 

the vehicle put the traveling public at risk. 

2. Whether the violations were intentional. Considerations include:  

 Whether the company ignored Commission staff’s previous technical assistance; 

and  

 Whether there is clear evidence through documentation or other means that shows 

the company knew of and failed to correct the violation.   

Republic Services began operations and received its current solid waste permit from the 

Commission in 1988. In its application for authority, Republic Services acknowledged its 

responsibility to comply with applicable safety laws and regulations. In April 2009, staff 

completed a routine safety investigation and the Company received a “Satisfactory” 

safety rating. Republic Services knew or should have known about these requirements.  

3. Whether the Company self-reported the violations. Republic Services did not self-

report these violations. 

4. Whether the Company was cooperative and responsive. Republic Services was 

cooperative throughout the investigation, and expressed a desire to come into compliance 

with applicable safety regulations.  

5. Whether the Company promptly corrected the violations and remedied the impacts. 
A check with the Commercial Driver’s License Information System shows that Mr. 

Perez’s commercial driver license has been upgraded following the submittal of his 

current medical certificate. It is unknown if the Company has corrected the vehicle out-

of-service violations. 

6. The number of violations. Commission staff identified 38 violation types with a total of 

45 individual occurrences.  

7. The number of customers affected. Republic Services employs 64 drivers and operates 

53 straight trucks classified as commercial vehicles. In 2018, Republic Services traveled 

1,359,628 miles. A significant number of customers, as well as the traveling public, were 

potentially affected by these safety violations. 

8. The likelihood of recurrence. The Commission does not know if Republic Services is 

likely to repeat these safety violations. However, Republic Services was very cooperative 
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with Staff, willingly accepted technical assistance, and took steps to correct the 

violations.  

9. The Company’s past performance regarding compliance, violations, and penalties. 

Republic Services has no history of previous violations or penalties.  

10. The Company’s existing compliance program. Mr. Greg Hale, General Manager, is 

responsible for Republic Services’ safety compliance program.  

11. The size of the Company. Republic Services currently operates 53 straight trucks with 

64 drivers. The Company reported $9,775,384.00 in gross revenue for 2017. 

The Commission’s Enforcement Policy provides that some Commission requirements are so 

fundamental to safe operations that the Commission will issue mandatory penalties for each 

occurrence of a first-time violation.3 The Commission generally will assess penalties per type of 

violation, rather than per occurrence, for first-time violations of those critical regulations that do 

not meet the requirements for mandatory penalties. The Commission will assess penalties for any 

equipment violation meeting the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration’s “out-of-service” 

criteria and also for repeat violations of critical regulations, including each occurrence of a repeat 

violation. 

The Commission has considered these factors and determined that it should penalize Republic 

Services $1,000 for violations of WAC 480-70-201, Operation of Motor Vehicles, which adopts 

Title 49 CFR Part 383, Part 393, and Part 396, calculated as follows: 

 Eight violations of Title 49 CFR Part 383.37(a) –Knowingly allowing, requiring, 

permitting, or authorizing an employee to operate a commercial motor vehicle during any 

period in which the driver does not have a current commercial driver license or does not 

have a commercial driver license with the proper class or endorsements. The Commission 

assesses a penalty of $100 for each occurrence of this critical violation, for a total of 

$800. 

 One violation of Title 49 CFR Part 393.47(a) – Inadequate brakes for safe stopping. This 

is a first-time violation of a fundamental safety requirement. The Commission assesses a 

penalty of $100 per occurrence, for a total of $100. 

 One violation of Title 49 CFR Part 396.3(a)(1) – Tires (general): Parts and accessories 

shall be in safe and proper operating condition at all times. This is a first-time violation of 

a fundamental safety requirement. The Commission assesses a penalty of $100 per 

occurrence, for a total of $100. 

This information, if proven at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, is sufficient to support the 

penalty assessment. 

                                                 
3 Docket A-120061 – Enforcement Policy of the Washington Utilities & Transportation Commission – 

Section V. 
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Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe any or all of the violations did not occur, 

you may deny committing the violation(s) and contest the penalty through evidence presented at 

a hearing or in writing. Alternatively, if there is a reason for any or all of the violations that you 

believe should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of the 

penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a 

request for hearing only if material issues of law or fact require consideration of evidence and 

resolution in a hearing. Any request to contest the violation or for mitigation of the penalty must 

include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request. Failure to provide such a 

statement will result in denial of the request. See RCW 81.04.405. 

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the 

Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation(s) or application 

for mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The 

administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of his or her decision. 

 

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following: 

 Pay the amount due. 

 Contest the occurrence of the violations. 

 Request mitigation to contest the amount of the penalty. 

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and submit it electronically through the 

Commission’s web portal within FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notice. If you are 

unable to use the web portal, you may submit it via email to records@utc.wa.gov. If you are 

unable to submit the form electronically, you may send a paper copy to the Washington Utilities 

and Transportation Commission, PO Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250. 

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may take additional enforcement action, 

including but not necessarily limited to suspending or revoking your certificate to provide 

regulated service, assessing additional penalties, or referring this matter to the Office of the 

Attorney General for collection.   

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective April 11, 2019. 

/s/ Rayne Pearson 

RAYNE PEARSON 

Director, Administrative Law Division

mailto:records@utc.wa.gov
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WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

PENALTY ASSESSMENT TG-190089 

 

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission 

within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed. 

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false 

statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the 

matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under 

oath, the following statements. 

 

[   ]  1. Payment of penalty. I admit that the violations occurred and enclose $800 in payment 

of the penalty. 

 

[   ]  2. Contest the violations. I believe that some or all of the alleged violations did not occur 

for the reasons I describe below (if you do not include reasons supporting your contest here, 

your request will be denied):  

 

 

 

      [   ]  a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to an 

administrative law judge for a decision 

 

OR [   ]  b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide above. 

 

 

[   ]  3. Application for mitigation. I admit the violations, but I believe that the penalty should 

be reduced for the reasons set out below (if you do not include reasons supporting your 

application here, your request will be denied):      

 

 

 

 

 [   ]  a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to an 

administrative law judge for a decision 

 

OR [   ]  b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide above. 

 

 

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing, 

including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct. 

 

Dated: __________________ [month/day/year], at ________________________ [city, state] 

 

_____________________________________  ___________________________ 

Name of Respondent (Company) – please print  Signature of Applicant 
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RCW 9A.72.020: 

 

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official 

proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath 

required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an 

element of this crime, and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a 

defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class 


