Service Date: March 8, 2019

#### WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

# NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: TN-190048 PENALTY AMOUNT: \$400

Coastal Community Action Program d/b/a CCAP, Coastal CAP 101 E Market Street Aberdeen, WA 98520

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that Coastal Community Action Program d/b/a CCAP, Coastal CAP (Coastal Community Action Program or Company) violated Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-31-130 Operation of Motor Vehicles, which adopts Title 49 Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) Part 391 – Qualification of Drivers.

Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 81.04.405 allows penalties of \$100 for each violation. In the case of an ongoing violation, every day's continuance is considered a separate and distinct violation.

On January 9, 2019, Commission Motor Carrier Investigator Sandi Yeomans completed a routine safety investigation of Coastal Community Action Program and documented the following violation:

• Four violations of Title 49 CFR Part 391.45(a) – Using a driver not medically examined and certified. The carrier allowed its drivers, George McCarthy, Cheryl Hovde, Anthony Russell, and Jody Spurrell to drive without having been medically examined and certified.

The Commission considered the following factors in determining the appropriate penalties for these violations:

- 1. How serious or harmful the violations are to the public. The violations noted are very serious and potentially harmful to the public. Non-profit passenger carriers that fail to ensure their drivers are medically examined and certified put their customers as well as the traveling public at risk. A driver with an unknown medical condition presents serious safety concerns.
- 2. Whether the violations were intentional. Considerations include:
  - Whether the Company ignored Commission staff's previous technical assistance; and
  - Whether there is clear evidence through documentation or other means that shows the Company knew of and failed to correct the violation.

The carrier began operations in January 1965 and obtained operating authority from the Commission on April 11, 2001. In its application for authority, the Company

- acknowledged its responsibility to comply with applicable safety laws and regulations. The Company knew or should have known about these requirements.
- 3. Whether the Company self-reported the violations. The Company did not self-report these violations.
- 4. Whether the Company was cooperative and responsive. Coastal Community Action Program was cooperative throughout the investigation.
- 5. Whether the Company promptly corrected the violations and remedied the impacts. The carrier identified that it corrected the violation in a 15-day letter, stating that all drivers have received medical certification from a physician on the national registry of medical examiners.
- 6. **The number of violations.** Commission staff identified two violation types with a total of five individual occurrences. The four violations noted above are considered critical, and are therefore subject to penalties.
- 7. **The number of customers affected.** The Company employs four drivers and operates four motor vehicles. In 2017, the Company traveled 99,906 miles. A significant number of customers, as well as members of the traveling public, were potentially affected by these safety violations.
- 8. **The likelihood of recurrence.** The Commission does not know if Coastal Community Action Program is likely to repeat these safety violations; however, the Company was very cooperative with Staff and willingly accepted technical assistance.
- 9. The Company's past performance regarding compliance, violations, and penalties. In January 2019 the Commission penalized Coastal Community Action Program for failing to file timely its annual report or pay its regulatory fees.
- 10. **The Company's existing compliance program.** Mr. John O'Lague, Department Director, is responsible for the Company's safety compliance program.
- 11. **The size of the Company.** Coastal Community Action Program is a non-profit carrier operating in Aberdeen, Washington. The Company currently has four motor vehicles and employs four drivers, and reported \$13,500,000 in gross revenue for 2017.

The Commission's Enforcement Policy provides that some Commission requirements are so fundamental to safe operations that the Commission will issue mandatory penalties for each occurrence of a first-time violation. The Commission generally will assess penalties per type of violation, rather than per occurrence, for first-time violations of those critical regulations that do not meet the requirements for mandatory penalties. The Commission will assess penalties for any equipment violation meeting the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration's "out-of-service" criteria and also for repeat violations of critical regulations, including each occurrence of a repeat violation.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> Docket A-120061 – Enforcement Policy of the Washington Utilities & Transportation Commission – Section V.

The Commission has considered these factors and determined that it should penalize Coastal Community Action Program \$400 for four violations of WAC 480-31-130, Operation of Motor Vehicles, which adopts 49 CFR Part 391, calculated as follows:

• Four violations of 49 CFR Part 391.45(a) – Using a driver not medically examined and certified. The Commission assesses a penalty of \$100 for each occurrence of this critical violation, for a total of \$400.

This information, if proven at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, is sufficient to support the penalty assessment.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe any or all of the violations did not occur, you may deny committing the violation(s) and contest the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. Alternatively, if there is a reason for any or all of the violation(s) that you believe should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for hearing only if material issues of law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. Any request to contest the violation or for mitigation of the penalty must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. See RCW 81.04.405.

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation(s) or application for mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of his or her decision.

### You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:

- Pay the amount due.
- Contest the occurrence of the violations.
- Request mitigation to contest the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and submit it electronically through the Commission's web portal **within FIFTEEN** (15) **days** after you receive this notice. If you are unable to use the web portal, you may submit it via email to <a href="mailto:records@utc.wa.gov">records@utc.wa.gov</a>. If you are unable to submit the form electronically, you may send a paper copy to the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission, PO Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250.

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may take additional enforcement action, including but not necessarily limited to suspending or revoking your certificate to provide regulated service, assessing additional penalties, or referring this matter to the Office of the Attorney General for collection.

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective March 8, 2019.

/s/ Rayne Pearson RAYNE PEARSON Director, Administrative Law Division

# WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION PENALTY ASSESSMENT TN-190048

**PLEASE NOTE:** You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed. I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under oath, the following statements.

oath, the	following statements.	
	<b>Payment of penalty.</b> I admit that the violations of the penalty.	occurred and enclose \$400 in payment
for the re	ontest the violations. I believe that some or all casons I describe below (if you do not include reuest will be denied):	•
	] a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on that ative law judge for a decision	he information I provide above to an
OR [	] b) I ask for a Commission decision based sole	ely on the information I provide above
be reduce	pplication for mitigation. I admit the violations ed for the reasons set out below (if you do not in on here, your request will be denied):	•
_	] a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on that ative law judge for a decision	he information I provide above to an
OR [	] b) I ask for a Commission decision based sole	ely on the information I provide above
	under penalty of perjury under the laws of the St information I have presented on any attachment	
Dated:	[month/day/year], at	[city, state]
Name of	Respondent (Company) – please print	Signature of Applicant

### RCW 9A.72.020:

"Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime, and the actor's mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class