WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: DG-181000 PENALTY AMOUNT: \$1,000 Investigation #7885

Craig Wilson Wilson Concrete Construction, Inc. 12557 SE Green Valley Rd. Auburn, WA 98092

UBI: 602-168-956 Phone: (253) 863-8888

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that you have violated Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 19.122.030(2) by failing to request a dig ticket prior to performing an excavation. RCW 19.122.055 states, in part, that any excavator who fails to notify a one-number locator service and causes damage to a hazardous liquid or gas facility is subject to a civil penalty of not more than \$10,000 for each violation.

Commission staff (Staff) conducted an investigation that included reviewing damage reports submitted by Puget Sound Energy (PSE), which identified a natural gas damage event involving Wilson Concrete Construction, Inc. (WCCI or Company). Accordingly, the Commission hereby notifies you that it is assessing a penalty against you for \$1,000 on the following grounds:

On April 6, 2016, WCCI allegedly struck and damaged a PSE natural gas line while installing stakes for concrete forms at 5522 S. 354th St., Auburn, Washington. WCCI did not request a dig ticket from a one-number locator service to locate underground utilities before excavating. Staff sent an Alleged Violation of Washington Dig Law letter to the Company on July 14, 2016, which included detailed information about the requirements of Washington state's underground utility damage prevention act, and the possibility of penalties for each violation.

On August 10, 2018, Wilson Concrete struck and damaged an underground PSE natural gas line while installing stakes for concrete work at 10205 35th Ave. SW, Seattle, Washington. On September 18, 2018, PSE submitted a Damage Incident Reporting Tool (DIRT) report identifying WCCI as the party responsible for damaging the gas line on August 10. Staff was unable to find a valid dig ticket for WCCI at this location on this date.

Staff recommends the Commission assess a \$1,000 penalty against WCCI for one violation of RCW 19.122.030(2) for failing to provide the required notice to a one-number locator service not less than two business days before excavating, as follows:

- No penalty for the violation of RCW 19.122.030(2), which occurred on April 6, 2016; and
- \$1,000 penalty for the violation of RCW 19.122.030(2), which occurred on August 10, 2018.

Staff's research indicates that WCCI has submitted 11 requests to locate underground utilities since April 2016, and that the violation appears to be the result of the Company's negligence rather than a lack of knowledge about the requirements of Washington's dig law. Staff spoke with a representative of WCCI as part of the investigation and found that, while aware of the dig law, WCCI believed that staking is an exempted activity specified in the dig law. WCCI's history of submitting locate requests and misinterpretation of the law indicate that the violations were not an intentional disregard for state law. The representative from WCCI acknowledged the misinterpretation and stated that in the future the Company would submit utility locate requests for jobs it previously believed did not require a dig ticket.

After considering all of the circumstances, Staff recommends that the Commission offer to suspend the \$1,000 penalty amount for a period of one year, subject to the condition that the Company incurs no further violations of RCW 19.122 within 12 months of the date of this Notice.

The Commission agrees with Staff's recommendation, assesses a penalty of \$1,000, and suspends the entire amount for one year subject to the condition described above. The Commission will ultimately waive the \$1,000 suspended penalty if the Company complies with the condition. If WCCI fails to comply with the condition, the suspended penalty amount will become immediately due and payable, in addition to any new penalties that the Commission may assess for additional violations.

These facts, if not contested or if proved at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, are sufficient to support the penalty assessment.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe either or both of the violations did not occur, you may deny committing the violations and contest the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. Or, if there is a reason for either or both of the violations that you believe should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for hearing only if material issues of law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. Any request to contest the violations or for mitigation of the penalty must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. *See* RCW 81.04.405.

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation or application for mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of his or her decision.

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:

- Pay the \$1,000 penalty amount due; or
- Notify the Commission that you accept the offer to suspend, and ultimately waive, the \$1,000 penalty subject to the condition that WCCI commit no further violations of RCW 19.122 within 12 months of the date of this Notice; or
- Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of either or both of the violations; or
- Request mitigation to reduce the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission, P.O. Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250, **within FIFTEEN (15) days** after you receive this notice.

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the Attorney General for collection. The Commission may then sue you to collect the penalty.

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective January 25, 2019.

/s/ *Rayne Pearson* RAYNE PEARSON Director, Administrative Law Division

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION PENALTY ASSESSMENT DG-181000, Investigation # 7885

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under oath, the following statements:

- [] 1. **Payment of penalty.** I admit that the violations occurred and enclose \$1,000 in payment of the penalty.
- [] 2. Accept conditions. I admit that the violations occurred and accept the Commission's offer to suspend, and ultimately waive, the \$1,000 penalty amount subject to the condition that WCCI commit no further violations of RCW 19.122 within 12 months of the date of this Notice.
- [] 3. **Contest the violation.** I believe that the alleged violation(s) did not occur for the reasons I describe below:
 - [] a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to an administrative law judge for a decision.
 - OR [] b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide above.
- [] 4. **Request mitigation.** I admit the violations, but I believe that the penalty should be reduced for the reasons set out below:
 - [] a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to an administrative law judge for a decision.
 - OR [] b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide above.

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing, including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.

Dated:	[Month/Day/Year], at	[City, State]
--------	----------------------	---------------

RCW 9A.72.020:

"Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime, and the actor's mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony."