
 Service Date: January 14, 2019 

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

 

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE 

FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES 

 

 

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: DG-180991 

PENALTY AMOUNT: $1,000 

 Investigation #7876 

 

Barry Becker 

Ace Construction & Landscaping, Inc.  UBI: 601-011-608

4446 S. 131st Pl. Phone: 206-246-4883

Tukwila, WA 98168 

 

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that you have 

violated Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 19.122.030(2) by failing to request a dig ticket prior 

to performing an excavation. RCW 19.122.055 states, in part, that any excavator who fails to 

notify a one-number locator service and causes damage to a hazardous liquid or gas facility is 

subject to a civil penalty of not more than $10,000 for each violation. 

 

Commission staff (Staff) conducted an investigation that included reviewing damage reports 

submitted by Puget Sound Energy (PSE), which identified a natural gas damage event caused by 

Ace Construction & Landscaping, Inc. (Ace Construction or Company). Accordingly, the 

Commission hereby notifies you that it is assessing a penalty against you for $1,000 on the 

following grounds: 

 

On December 2, 2015, the Commission mailed an Alleged Violation of Washington 

Dig Law letter to Ace Construction, informing the Company of its obligation to 

have underground utilities located before excavating, as outlined in RCW 

19.122.030. The Commission sent the letter following a damage incident in 

September 2015 that occurred because Ace Construction failed to obtain a valid dig 

ticket before excavating. The letter emphasized the importance of becoming 

familiar with the law and the possibility of penalties for each violation. 

 

On August 29, 2018, Ace Construction performed an excavation while doing site 

improvement at 15931 72nd Ave W, Edmonds, Washington. Before beginning 

excavation, Ace Construction failed to submit a request with a one-number locator 

service to locate underground facilities. Ace Construction employees struck and 

damaged an underground PSE gas line. 

 

On October 10, 2018, PSE submitted a Damage Incident Reporting Tool report 

identifying Ace Construction as the party responsible for damaging the natural gas 

service line on August 29. Staff was unable to find a valid dig ticket for Ace 

Construction at this location on this date. 
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Staff recommends the Commission assess a $1,000 penalty against Ace Construction for 

one violation of RCW 19.122.030(2) for failing to provide the required notice to a one-

number locator service not less than two business days before excavating, as follows: 

 

 No penalty for the violation of RCW 19.122.030(2), which occurred in September 

2015; and 

 $1,000 penalty for the violation of RCW 19.122.030(2), which occurred on August 

29, 2018. 

 

Staff’s research indicates that Ace Construction has a relatively significant history 

of submitting locate requests, and the violation appears to be the result of the 

Company’s negligence rather than a lack of knowledge of the requirements of 

Washington’s dig law. After considering all of the circumstances, Staff 

recommends that the Commission offer to suspend the $1,000 penalty for a period 

of one year subject to the condition that the Company commits no further violations 

of RCW 19.122 within 12 months from the date of this notice. 

 

The Commission agrees with Staff’s recommendation and assesses a penalty of $1,000, 

with an offer to suspend the $1,000 penalty amount subject to the condition that Ace 

Construction commits no further violations of RCW 19.122 within one year of the date of 

this Notice. 

 

These facts, if not contested or if proved at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, are 

sufficient to support the penalty assessment. 

 

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violation did not occur, you may deny 

committing the violation and contest the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in 

writing. Alternatively, if there is a reason for the violation that you believe should excuse you from 

the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of the penalty through evidence presented at a 

hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for hearing only if material issues of 

law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. Any request to contest 

the violation or for mitigation of the penalty must include a written statement of the reasons 

supporting that request. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. See 

RCW 81.04.405. 

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the 

Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation or application for 

mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The 

administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of his or her decision. 

 

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following: 

 

 Pay the $1,000 penalty amount due; or 

 Notify the Commission that you accept the offer to suspend, and ultimately waive, the 

$1,000 penalty subject to the condition that Ace Construction commits no further violations 

of RCW 19.122 within twelve (12) months of the date of this Notice; or 

 Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violation; or 
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 Request mitigation to reduce the amount of the penalty. 

 

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities and 

Transportation Commission, P.O. Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250, within 

FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notice. 

 

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the 

Attorney General for collection. The Commission may then sue you to collect the penalty.  

 

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective January 14, 2019. 

 

 

 

/s/ Rayne Pearson 

       RAYNE PEARSON 

Director, Administrative Law Division



 

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

PENALTY ASSESSMENT DG-180991, Investigation # 7876 
 

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission within 15 

days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed. 

 

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false statements 

under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the matters set forth 

below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under oath, the following 

statements: 

 

[   ]  1. Payment of penalty. I admit that the violation occurred and enclose $1,000 in payment of the 

penalty. 

 

[   ]  2. Accept conditions. I admit that the violation occurred.  

I also accept the Commission’s offer to suspend, and ultimately waive, the $1,000 penalty 

amount subject to the condition that Ace Construction commits no additional dig law 

violations within 12 months of the date of this Notice. 

 

[   ]  3. Contest the violation. I believe that the alleged violation did not occur for the reasons I 

describe below: 

 

 

 

 

 

[   ]  a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to an 

administrative law judge for a decision. 

     OR [   ]  b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide above. 

 

[   ]  4. Request mitigation. I admit the violation, but I believe that the penalty should be reduced for 

the reasons set out below:  

 

 

 

 

 

 

[   ]  a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to an 

administrative law judge for a decision. 

     OR [   ]  b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide above. 

 

 

 

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing, 

including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct. 

 

 

Dated: __________________ [Month/Day/Year], at ______________________ [City, State] 

 

 

 _____________________________________  ___________________________ 

Name of Respondent (company) – please print  Signature of Applicant 



 

 

 

 

RCW 9A.72.020: 

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official 

proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath required or 

authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime, 

and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a defense to a prosecution 

under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.”   


